We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, needs work” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #1 of 1 Chilgrove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK, needs work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I came here for a quick lunch a week ago, upon arrival we were very impressed with the newly renovated interior, it seemed much more fitting for a country pub compared to the previous "under the sea" themed monstrosity. We were greeted at the bar by an overbearing, older gentleman who informed us he was the landlord, who offered us bar menus. Whilst harping on at us about how the new business was meant to make people feel welcomed and relaxed, we felt quite the opposite in his presence, so we moved away. The burgers were OK, slightly underdone, there's rare and there's raw but they were good value for money. The young barman improved the experience no end with a splendid bloody marry and a cheery disposition. Overall an OK experience, OK value for money, not quite yet hitting the mark as it should be, perhaps some busy trade will tone down the over zealous management!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Hern535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    119
    47
    26
    24
See reviews for
56
325
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

First impressions count and when you walk through the door you can't help but smile. Nicely decorated and spacious with a good selection of drinks and tempting food on offer.

We popped in without prior booking and the gent working behind the bar checked with the kitchen to see if they could take an extra walk in booking. They could and we ordered the roast beef and roast lamb, I'll cut a long and tasty experience short and just say that we didn't leave a morsel on the plates when they were collected, our bellies were full and we booked to visit again next week with some family members.

Yes it's not cheap food but you do get your moneys worth - trust me.

Thank you, keep the good work up

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taeP842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

At the time of writing (5th May 2013), the White Horse – which is a hotel (13 bedrooms), country pub and restaurant – has just been open for four weeks, under new ownership and after extensive renovations.

Our meal was simply delicious, although the service was extremely slow; a point they acknowledged. If they can sort this out, and I really hope it is no more than just a teething problem, they will have a major hit on their hands.

The White Horse is in Chilgrove, about 20 minutes outside of Chichester (the address is confusing - it's not the High Street in Chichester, but the High Street Chilgrove, which is classed by the address system this site uses as part of Chichester). It is surrounded by lovely countryside and the building itself is in "modern rustic" decor – exposed brick; oak beams; stuffed pheasant; antler horns – that sort of thing. We loved it as this is exactly to our taste.

When we were there, which was a bank holiday Saturday, the restaurant was really busy and you could hear jovial noises from happy customers filtering through from the bar area.

The service was really slow (from sitting down to first course was about 45 minutes; the gap between courses was 20 minutes or so) but the food was absolutely outstanding. There are only two or three more restaurants within 20 minutes of Chichester that can produce food this good (and as far as I know, no restaurants within Chichester come anywhere close).

The menu is heavy on locally-sourced meat – lamb, venison, steak, that sort of thing – with a small number of nice looking fish dishes as well. I think I recall seeing one vegetarian option on the menu, although you would be advised to call them and check.

The wine list struck me as reasonably comprehensive, with wines from under £20 upwards.

We had a terrific time, despite the slow service, and will undoubtedly be going back. Fingers crossed they sort out their problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
208 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We have just returned from a nights stay at the newly changed White Horse, (formerly the Fish House which we have had the pleasure of staing at on many occasions!)
It was a surprise for me and a treat from my husband, we arrived to a nice welcome and a very nice bottle of white wine. Our dinner reservation was for 7.30, so in the meantime we were shown to our room, one which we had not stayed in before, delightful.
We had the pleasure of using the hot tub and as it was such a beautiful day it was most enjoyable. As was the glass of champagne under the stars after the most delicious fish and chips I have tasted. Thanks everyone at the White Horse, wish you the utmost success and be back soon!

Room Tip: Stag with the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

My wife and I visited this evening to have a drink and then have a meal.
I must say that things did not start well. I ordered a glass of Prosecco for my wife and a pint of Heineken lager. Unfortuneately, the Heineken needed changing so to speed up matters I changed choice to Amstel. This was slow because of frothing. I took my wife's drink to her and sat down and waited for my promised lager. The Prosecco served was totally flat so I thought I would wait until my lager arrived and get it changed then. 15 minutes later my lager arrived with apologies for the delay. The Prosecco was taken away and replaced with an obviously fresh product which bubbled.

When the White Horse charges £10.00 for these two drinks, but cannot get to serve them properly something is wrong. My wife and I were in the meantime, looking at the food menu
which seemed very Venison leaning and I must say that it seemed very expensive and not very varied.

We decided not to eat there, but will give it another try.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt P, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Good morning and thank you for your review. We apologise that we were unable to serve you a Heineken as requested yesterday evening. Earlier that morning we had work completed on our beer lines to correct a fault that was present upon opening and unfortunately, that correction has presented a new problem with the pour of the Heineken, something that we are working hard to get fixed. As for the less than effervescent Prosecco, I will be instructing all staff to be more vigilant when pouring all of our sparking wines and champagnes. Once again, thank you for your feedback, it's invaluable to ensure we iron out any first month teething problems and to provide the service that everyone rightly expects from us.

Kind Regards, The White Horse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The white horse chilgrove ,nestled beautifuly in the South Downs national park , a short canter from Goodwood and a mere trot from Chichester, you will find a suburbly finished pub , with a selection of fine wines , real ales and interesting beers with an English essetric dining experience that matches if not eclipses anything you would find in our glorious capital ,exquisite cuisine of the highest standard served at a great level of consistency ,a varied choice of game and wholesome pies to the freshest fish dishes , vegetarian options a creative menu from a truly talented chef , our welcome was warm ,landlord Paul has his finger on the pulse , staff very friendly and efficient it would seem no detail has been overlooked , our room was first class , decor to die for ,lovely bath & shower , luxuriosly comfortable bed ,again no detail overlooked , set in beautiful grounds , we will be retuning very soon with friends and family . Highly recommended Thankyou .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at the new White Horse last weekend, it was superb, the food was epic, we had two
nights so two dinners, both were cooked to perfection, their young chef has got a great
future in front of him! All guests seemed to be having the same sort of experience.
We are going back again very shortly.
The Room was very comfortable and next time I am going to try and get one with the hot tub!

Room Tip: Get one with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilgrove
3.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
6.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.9 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 1 High Street, Chilgrove PO18 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chilgrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chilgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Horse 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the South Downs National Park, in acres of rolling Sussex countryside, The White Horse is an award-winning country inn offering seasonal British cuisine, stylish bedrooms and a warm and friendly service. Combining rustic elegance and contemporary design, The White Horse has won 'Best Pub' of the year at GQ Food & Drink Award 2015, 'Best Drinks Offer in a Pub' by Harpers Awards 2015 and has been awarded 1 Rosette and 5 Star Accommodation by the AA. The White Horse is also part of 'Pub Group of The Year 2016' by The Good Pub Guide and is 'South East Winner' in Guns on Pegs Good Shoot Hotel Awards 2015. The spacious rooms include king-sized beds draped in the finest Egyptian cotton and luxurious English wool throws. The en-suite bathrooms are a mix of roll top copper baths and calming rain showers, complete with handmade bath oils and soaps from Branche d'Olive. Some bedrooms also feature private patios fitted with large hot tubs. Rooms also include 50" flat screen televisions, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk delivered at the door every morning. Dogs are very welcome and dog beds and bowls are available. Guests can enjoy seasonal British food including home-made bar snacks, fresh game, fish and seafood and pub classics. The Chef sources his produce from the surrounding estates and farms and from the South Coast. To accompany the food, an extensive wine list and some regional ales are available. Goodwood Estate, featuring a golf course designed in 1914, motor racing, horse racing and flying club is just 10 minutes' drive from The White Horse, as well as the Chichester Festival Theatre and Weald & Downland Open Air Museum. There is free parking and an helicopter landing pad at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fish House Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing