We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Horse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Goodwood Hotel(Chichester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Inn(Midhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nags Head(Chichester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
311
140
63
28
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
140
63
28
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubcopper baththe pubprivate courtyardfresh milkreading glassesstag roomvenisonsouth downsromantic getawayroll top bathlovely toiletriessecret escapeslittle touchesrain showermain buildingunderfloor heating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
545 - 550 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

There were three of us arriving around 6.45 and eating in the bar. Our food arrived luke warm and in small portions, but on the positive side, the food was generally tasty. The first bill had a price for one of the items that was more than was on the menu and none of our drinks were listed. It took 4 more attempts before we had a bill that correctly listed what we had consumed and the bar staff did not seem to care less about the mistakes. The waitress was apologetic but overall it was not a pleasant experience and not to be recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I came here for a quick lunch a week ago, upon arrival we were very impressed with the newly renovated interior, it seemed much more fitting for a country pub compared to the previous "under the sea" themed monstrosity. We were greeted at the bar by an overbearing, older gentleman who informed us he was the landlord, who offered us bar menus. Whilst harping on at us about how the new business was meant to make people feel welcomed and relaxed, we felt quite the opposite in his presence, so we moved away. The burgers were OK, slightly underdone, there's rare and there's raw but they were good value for money. The young barman improved the experience no end with a splendid bloody marry and a cheery disposition. Overall an OK experience, OK value for money, not quite yet hitting the mark as it should be, perhaps some busy trade will tone down the over zealous management!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_Hern535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

First impressions count and when you walk through the door you can't help but smile. Nicely decorated and spacious with a good selection of drinks and tempting food on offer.

We popped in without prior booking and the gent working behind the bar checked with the kitchen to see if they could take an extra walk in booking. They could and we ordered the roast beef and roast lamb, I'll cut a long and tasty experience short and just say that we didn't leave a morsel on the plates when they were collected, our bellies were full and we booked to visit again next week with some family members.

Yes it's not cheap food but you do get your moneys worth - trust me.

Thank you, keep the good work up

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank taeP842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

At the time of writing (5th May 2013), the White Horse – which is a hotel (13 bedrooms), country pub and restaurant – has just been open for four weeks, under new ownership and after extensive renovations.

Our meal was simply delicious, although the service was extremely slow; a point they acknowledged. If they can sort this out, and I really hope it is no more than just a teething problem, they will have a major hit on their hands.

The White Horse is in Chilgrove, about 20 minutes outside of Chichester (the address is confusing - it's not the High Street in Chichester, but the High Street Chilgrove, which is classed by the address system this site uses as part of Chichester). It is surrounded by lovely countryside and the building itself is in "modern rustic" decor – exposed brick; oak beams; stuffed pheasant; antler horns – that sort of thing. We loved it as this is exactly to our taste.

When we were there, which was a bank holiday Saturday, the restaurant was really busy and you could hear jovial noises from happy customers filtering through from the bar area.

The service was really slow (from sitting down to first course was about 45 minutes; the gap between courses was 20 minutes or so) but the food was absolutely outstanding. There are only two or three more restaurants within 20 minutes of Chichester that can produce food this good (and as far as I know, no restaurants within Chichester come anywhere close).

The menu is heavy on locally-sourced meat – lamb, venison, steak, that sort of thing – with a small number of nice looking fish dishes as well. I think I recall seeing one vegetarian option on the menu, although you would be advised to call them and check.

The wine list struck me as reasonably comprehensive, with wines from under £20 upwards.

We had a terrific time, despite the slow service, and will undoubtedly be going back. Fingers crossed they sort out their problems.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We have just returned from a nights stay at the newly changed White Horse, (formerly the Fish House which we have had the pleasure of staing at on many occasions!)
It was a surprise for me and a treat from my husband, we arrived to a nice welcome and a very nice bottle of white wine. Our dinner reservation was for 7.30, so in the meantime we were shown to our room, one which we had not stayed in before, delightful.
We had the pleasure of using the hot tub and as it was such a beautiful day it was most enjoyable. As was the glass of champagne under the stars after the most delicious fish and chips I have tasted. Thanks everyone at the White Horse, wish you the utmost success and be back soon!

Room Tip: Stag with the hot tub!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivestarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews