We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely valentine's break”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #1 of 2 Chilgrove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely valentine's break”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Great room and great service and value for the money. Shall stay again. Food was great although did take a while to arrive but it was busy as it was valentine's. Lovely location will come back in the summer.
Only quibble was that we could have done with slightly larger potions at dinner but the food quality was great.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SadRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    123
    48
    26
    24
See reviews for
56
337
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My partner & I drove from Worthing to have a quiet drink beside the fire at The White Horse last evening. The staff were friendly and the menu looked divine, though we've yet to eat here. The Valentine's menu sounds fantastic ...

There are reading glasses on the bar to assist with the menu if you need them - now that really is "attention to detail". I've just read about the Stag room with jacuzzi / hot tub & can't wait to book this for a special occasion! :) x ...

We've visited last summer when out & about on the motorbikes - we will be returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed here last weekend for an early Valentine's treat & had a lovely experience. We paid extra & had the luxury Stag room which includes your own personal hot tub. What could be more relaxing than sitting under the stars breathing in the country air whilst sipping champers!! After an eventful drive through flooded country roads we found The White Horse & were made welcome by the friendly staff. The hotel is very comfortable with lots of extra little touches such as putting a bottle of milk outside your door in the morning. Our room was exceptionally clean, very comfortable & very modern. We actually had the best night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel!! The only downside was that the heating seemed to be turned off at night so the room got quite cold. We ate in the restaurant which was excellent, reasonably priced & had graet service with the interior being very modern & quirky. Absolutely loved this hotel & felt like we had been away for more than 1 night. Def a place to visit for a romantic getaway & to completely chill out. Will be returning in the summer!!

Room Tip: Opt for the luxury Stag rooms that come complete with your own personal hot tub in your private cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner and I stayed at the White Horse in January 2014 and found it a great escape from the City - especially as it can take only an hour and a half to get there but feel so perfectly far away. The staff (the managers and Lottie behind the bar) were so accommodating to our every need, no matter how strange they seemed. My only comment would be the food could have been simpler - we were after good pub food to accompany the excellent local beer and Bloody Mary cocktails but other than the grazing boards which were excellent, it seemed to struggle slightly. Overall the room was clean, quirky and comfy, we had an amazing stay, it was great value and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to let you see around the other rooms if they are free - it can be difficult to chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 380HMNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here last Friday. The room was very nice with a very large comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with a shower big enough for 2!

The only negative comment would be the paper thin walls and waste water pipe from upstairs, meaning the noise of water being flushed was quite loud. Not what you'd expect from what was classed as a luxurious room.

Better build quality and sound proofing and it would be difficult not to give 5 out of 5.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dterry182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

As locals this was our first visit to the White Horse and I'd heard good things. Went for Sunday lunch with a London friend, my 2 kids and her 2 kids. We weren't staying in the hotel.

Interiors are lovely although I can see that they might be not to everyone's taste. Service couldn't be faulted and our waitress was lovely. We were met with a smile, seated quickly and service overall was prompt although it was very quiet for a Sunday lunch. Could have been the bad weather that day.

As there is no kids menu we ordered half portions for the 4 children with an extra side order of peas.

I had the partridge which was overcooked and disappointing, whilst my friend had the Funtingdon pork which she said was delicious.

What let the whole experience down was the pricing. I don't think the quality of the food matches prices stated.

Our total bill was over £90 for what was effectively four main courses, a side of peas, 4 soft drinks for the kids (2 milks, 1 OJ and 1 coke) and 2 glasses of their cheaper wine (albeit one glass was a large). I can only imagine what it would cost if we'd had desserts as we'd planned to. It just didn't feel like value for money.

Also I don't like the tip being included like that. It makes it very difficult to get out of paying it if you don't feel it was deserved. It should be discretionary. Fortunately our waitress was excellent and I was happy to pay.

Will probably return to give them a second chance as it's local to us but not with the kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrawberryHillMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just had a couple of nights here, and the experience could not have been better. A gorgeous room, with a hot tub - lovely to use after a long day walking the South Downs . Delicious breakfasts, and suppers with lovely recommended wine. Lovely touches like reading glasses by the bar, rugs by the fire, underfloor heating in our room, and very courteous and friendly staff. Try the custom made Bloody Mary, the Lemon Sole, and especially the Chocolate Fondant for pudding.
We will be returning.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more, and have a hot tub - it's worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilgrove
3.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
6.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
12.4 mi away
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
#1 of 3 in Amberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 1 High Street, Chilgrove PO18 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chilgrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chilgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Horse 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the South Downs National Park, in acres of rolling Sussex countryside, The White Horse is an award-winning country inn offering seasonal British cuisine, stylish bedrooms and a warm and friendly service. Combining rustic elegance and contemporary design, The White Horse has won 'Best Pub' of the year at GQ Food & Drink Award 2015, 'Best Drinks Offer in a Pub' by Harpers Awards 2015 and has been awarded 1 Rosette and 5 Star Accommodation by the AA. The White Horse is also part of 'Pub Group of The Year 2016' by The Good Pub Guide and is 'South East Winner' in Guns on Pegs Good Shoot Hotel Awards 2015. The spacious rooms include king-sized beds draped in the finest Egyptian cotton and luxurious English wool throws. The en-suite bathrooms are a mix of roll top copper baths and calming rain showers, complete with handmade bath oils and soaps from Branche d'Olive. Some bedrooms also feature private patios fitted with large hot tubs. Rooms also include 50" flat screen televisions, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk delivered at the door every morning. Dogs are very welcome and dog beds and bowls are available. Guests can enjoy seasonal British food including home-made bar snacks, fresh game, fish and seafood and pub classics. The Chef sources his produce from the surrounding estates and farms and from the South Coast. To accompany the food, an extensive wine list and some regional ales are available. Goodwood Estate, featuring a golf course designed in 1914, motor racing, horse racing and flying club is just 10 minutes' drive from The White Horse, as well as the Chichester Festival Theatre and Weald & Downland Open Air Museum. There is free parking and an helicopter landing pad at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fish House Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing