We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Horse
Ranked #1 of 2 Chilgrove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, New Hampshire
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My partner and I had the most amazing stay at The White horse. The food was fantastic and served in such a beautiful location. Staff were so friendly and may the stay really enjoyable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be definitely returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAB1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    129
    51
    26
    25
See reviews for
63
351
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Location: Surrounded by beautiful countryside, very pretty views from the Inn but not too remote. Easy drive to local town of Chichester, half hour drive to Arundel castle which is stunning and the bonus of being near the coast!
Room: The 'stag' room which included a hot tub was gorgeous, modern and private. The bed was very comfortable and the on suite had a huge walk in shower! I would def recommend paying extra for hot tub. The only thing I would say is that the room was really warm at night even without heating on. Everywhere was pristine and very clean.
Food: Overall the food was great. Very tastey, the portions are a decent size. I had duck one night and lamb another, both were very tender. I would recommend the crispy pigs cheeks for starter! Service was spot on and they couldn't do enough for us.
Overall: I loved how friendly all the staff were and also the locals in the bar who we chatted to. It made us feel so welcome. Also, we recieved complimentary bubbly to celebrate our engagement which was a lovely thought. We will definately be visiting again soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms and the overall location are very well laid out. A lot of money has been spent on this place and the room designs are modern and cosy.
I would recommend the owners include a sheet of general info in each room. Eg: breakfast times, and local area recommendations. No one told us about breakfast so a bit of guess work. A token biscuit on the tea tray in the room wouldn't go amiss either - as rates aren't cheap!
The staff generally were very helpful. But I think bar and restaurant staff could be a bit more alert.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Formica79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here in April 2014, for the purpose of looking around the Chichester and Goodwood area and having a meal in Chichester in the evening. The welcome was warm and we were shown to a sort of cabin out at the back of the original Inn, which had been very recently built or renovated and was very acceptable. It was comfortable, but had (as had the other rooms we peeked in) a sort of modern oak four-poster bed. This seemed a bit pointless and took up a certain amount of room, making watching TV difficult from certain angles. When we were shown to our room nobody told us when Breakfast was - but we assumed if we turned up about 8.30 it wouldn't be finished and so it transpired.
The room was comfortable, the en-suite was fine and modern, the bed was comfortable and when we went for our breakfast the next morning, the waitress was very pleasant and chatty and the food was individually cooked by a proper chef; it was hot, fresh and really good - no keeping-things-warm-at-the-buffet for this establishment, we were pleased to see. If we were travelling again to that area, we would certainly be happy to stay at The White Horse and may even eat there next time, judging by our breakfast. Finally, we chose there in the first place because we got a half-price deal. At the price we paid ( £ 80 I think) it was perfectly good value, but I wouldn't have wanted to pay the apparent full price of £ 160.
Overall, a very acceptable place to stay in a convenient and pleasant location.

Room Tip: All the room seems to be similar and are all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericjhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for l night for my birthday on the 30th March. It was a very busy Mothers Day in the restaurant but we were shown to our room fairly quick. The TV did not work and we were moved to another room and for the inconvenience we were given a complimentary drink which was a nice touch.
The shower was amazing with great pressure and the tea and coffee were good as well.
However we got very little sleep due to the noise of 4 industrial fridges with the generator kicking in every 5 minutes throughout the night. We found out what it was at breakfast the next morning. In hindsight I would have done without the TV and had a good nights sleep.
The breakfast was average and the price you pay for the room I really don't think you should have to do your own toast. I expect this at a Travel Lodge.
It is a lovely location and if we came back I would make sure we weren't backing onto the kitchen area.

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the fridges unless you sleep really well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trulyscrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I (both early 30's) wanted a break away from our hectic work lives and we were so thrilled with the White Horse. The room (partridge) was lovely and comfy with great furnishings and the bathroom had a great copper bath tub. The bar and restaurant were also beautifully decorated, we spent some time snuggled by the fire with the papers and enjoyed fantastic service from the lovely owner and all the staff - they couldn't do enough to help us out!
The food was delicious and there was enough to keep us eating there for both of our 2 night stay. Huge wine list and the prices weren't ridiculous!
I would love to go back and enjoy one of the Stag rooms with the hot tub and I think it would be a perfect place to go for a big celebration and enjoy a large dinner around the huge dining table.
It is in the middle of nowhere but that is totally the point - we drove to the coast and to a nearby spa but always enjoyed coming back and spending time relaxing at the White Horse.
I am recommending The White Horse to all I know!! Top marks!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The White Horse is in the middle of nowhere, but it is very handy for Goodwood. Our little room (Roe) had a large comfy bed and we squeezed a Z-bed in too for me and my 2 small sons. Giant TV, excellent coffee & tea stuff (the fresh coffee and plongeur were fab), and two bottles of water too. Excellent hair-dryer - not that Mrs W was with us. Small shower room but with a tremendous shower with excellent pressure. Good quality smellies,towels & robes. Loved the little bottle of fresh milk left on the doorstep in the morning. Price included a top rate breakfast. Quite expensive for the size of room, but we really enjoyed The White Horse a lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilgrove
5.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
867 reviews
12.4 mi away
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
#1 of 3 in Amberley
859 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Fox Goes Free
The Fox Goes Free
#1 of 4 in Charlton
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 1 High Street, Chilgrove PO18 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chilgrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chilgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Horse 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the South Downs National Park, in acres of rolling Sussex countryside, The White Horse is an award-winning country inn offering seasonal British cuisine, stylish bedrooms and a warm and friendly service. Combining rustic elegance and contemporary design, The White Horse has won 'Best Pub' of the year at GQ Food & Drink Award 2015, 'Best Drinks Offer in a Pub' by Harpers Awards 2015 and has been awarded 1 Rosette and 5 Star Accommodation by the AA. The White Horse is also part of 'Pub Group of The Year 2016' by The Good Pub Guide and is 'South East Winner' in Guns on Pegs Good Shoot Hotel Awards 2015. The spacious rooms include king-sized beds draped in the finest Egyptian cotton and luxurious English wool throws. The en-suite bathrooms are a mix of roll top copper baths and calming rain showers, complete with handmade bath oils and soaps from Branche d'Olive. Some bedrooms also feature private patios fitted with large hot tubs. Rooms also include 50" flat screen televisions, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk delivered at the door every morning. Dogs are very welcome and dog beds and bowls are available. Guests can enjoy seasonal British food including home-made bar snacks, fresh game, fish and seafood and pub classics. The Chef sources his produce from the surrounding estates and farms and from the South Coast. To accompany the food, an extensive wine list and some regional ales are available. Goodwood Estate, featuring a golf course designed in 1914, motor racing, horse racing and flying club is just 10 minutes' drive from The White Horse, as well as the Chichester Festival Theatre and Weald & Downland Open Air Museum. There is free parking and an helicopter landing pad at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fish House Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing