We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting but way over priced!”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #1 of 2 Chilgrove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but way over priced!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had an overnight stay in one of the stag rooms which have to add was lovely but a few issues could have made the stay so much better. The initial wait on arrival to be checked in wasn't really what you would expect from a 5* establishment the lady asked for our name then disappeared what seemed like a good 10 minutes taking a phone call and leaving us standing at the bar with our luggage not a good start! When we finally got shown to our room however we were very happy with it the hot tub being the highlight and we were in it most of the day. When getting ready however it was a struggle drying my hair due to the lead not reaching the mirror very well! I got over it but it was frustrating. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant food was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was also good however on checking out we were given the bill and adding 10 % service charge to food and drink is absurd. I am happy to pay the charge for the meal and drinks I received in the restaurant that is standard practise but when I am ordering drinks at the bar and taking them myself to my table/room what service am I getting for that? I have never come across this before and have stayed in 5* hotels all over the uk and it has left a sour note on what could have been so wonderful. So all said it is in a fantastic location , it has a wow factor on the interior design of the bar/restaurant. The hot tub room is nice especially for a special occasion but be prepared and take your flexible friend!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and have one of the stag rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twigs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    123
    49
    26
    24
See reviews for
56
337
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very disappointed with our stay at the White Horse. Steep prices for poor customer service. Room was average, comfy bed, nice bath but no proper shower fixings and shower head was broken, clothes space was rudimentary, walls and carpet had grubby marks and little luxuries such as espresso maker were missing. It was also sold as being located in a central courtyard looking out over the countryside, but this room was above the bar. For the room price we definitely expected more and have stayed in much better accommodation for less. Food in the restaurant was fine (except for cheeseboard) but not memorable and again too pricey for what it was. It was severely let down by slow and chaotic service (we waited 45 minutes just to be seated). Staff were unsure and it felt like the pub was just trying to make it through to the end of the evening.

Visited May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAC642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in one of the hot tub rooms with our own private hot tub in a secluded locked patio area. The room was a good size with a mixture of countryside and modern decor e.g. sheepskin rug and decorative storage boxes. The bathroom had a rainfall shower with nice amenities. The bed was comfy and the tv was huge. Our hot tub was one highlight with a drinks tray so you could enjoy a g&t! The real highlight was the service that we received in the restaurant and bar, the whole team were enthusiastic about the produce and it lived up to the hype. Not only is the pub/rooms fantastic the area has great walks as well as easy access to town centre and lovely beaches! Will definitely return later this year, can't wait!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torilou1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great stay, lovely room separate from main building with huge copper bath. Very dog friendly and evening meal was excellent and service very good. Great place for walks along South Downs and close to Chichester for shopping. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Outside rooms perfect if you are bringing a dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snorks8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting close to a noisy B road. No kids menus for dinner but nice food all the same - kids had adult meals. Very expensive all round so be prepared to weigh in with the credit card.
My son had his own room with a huge copper bath - we had the stag room which was fine but little room for my daughter's z-bed.
Beds comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities fine, wardrobes are large trunks!
To summarise, all lovely but not child friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here on my birthday and absolutly loved the place. Very welcomming and friendly. Stayed in Teal room in main building -copper bath was amazing. Excellent food and Wine . The deal we came on included a free bottle of wine (house- very good). On the first evening we could not decide between red or white, the landlady very flexibly said we could convert to glasses and have red and white as we pleased. On the second evening we made our own choice of wine (comprehesive by the glass selection) and upon leaving the next morning she gave us a bottle of house wine to take home with us. Some minor hic-ups with the service during dinner but it didn't matter as the food and vibe of the place was fantasic. Would stay again...and again. Great walks neaby- Bluebell wood and Kingly Vale walk amougst the Yew trees.

Room Tip: When booking check whether room is in main building or in courtyard and state if you have preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmealinhowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

An easy to find and well located pub/restaurant with rooms close to the Yew forest at Kingley Vale which is well worth a walking ramble. We opted for one of the two Stag rooms, there is a connection/theme with hunting and fishing in the White Horse, which comes complete with its own private courtyard and a hot tub. The hot tub was perfect after an afternoons walking and set us up for a very tasty evening meal. Extensive and interesting menu served by cheerful and engaging staff we had a great meal and the house Italian Red was pretty good too. Next morning the breakfast was even better and I would very happily stay here again. Good accommodation, great menu, friendly staff and a cuppa on arrival.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swansswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilgrove
3.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
6.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
12.4 mi away
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
#1 of 3 in Amberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 1 High Street, Chilgrove PO18 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chilgrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chilgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Horse 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the South Downs National Park, in acres of rolling Sussex countryside, The White Horse is an award-winning country inn offering seasonal British cuisine, stylish bedrooms and a warm and friendly service. Combining rustic elegance and contemporary design, The White Horse has won 'Best Pub' of the year at GQ Food & Drink Award 2015, 'Best Drinks Offer in a Pub' by Harpers Awards 2015 and has been awarded 1 Rosette and 5 Star Accommodation by the AA. The White Horse is also part of 'Pub Group of The Year 2016' by The Good Pub Guide and is 'South East Winner' in Guns on Pegs Good Shoot Hotel Awards 2015. The spacious rooms include king-sized beds draped in the finest Egyptian cotton and luxurious English wool throws. The en-suite bathrooms are a mix of roll top copper baths and calming rain showers, complete with handmade bath oils and soaps from Branche d'Olive. Some bedrooms also feature private patios fitted with large hot tubs. Rooms also include 50" flat screen televisions, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk delivered at the door every morning. Dogs are very welcome and dog beds and bowls are available. Guests can enjoy seasonal British food including home-made bar snacks, fresh game, fish and seafood and pub classics. The Chef sources his produce from the surrounding estates and farms and from the South Coast. To accompany the food, an extensive wine list and some regional ales are available. Goodwood Estate, featuring a golf course designed in 1914, motor racing, horse racing and flying club is just 10 minutes' drive from The White Horse, as well as the Chichester Festival Theatre and Weald & Downland Open Air Museum. There is free parking and an helicopter landing pad at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fish House Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing