We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, beautiful cottage, welcoming...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Barmston, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa J
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, beautiful cottage, welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The cottage is set in a quiet location with lovely views, the beach is only a short walk away and is visible from the bedroom windows. The inside of the cottage was decorated to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. Our hosts were very welcoming and did all they could and more to make our stay enjoyable. The hot tub/sauna and pool table are great extra facilities that our children and ourselves both made use of. We would definitely return and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior/cleanliness and location.
Liked least: Leaving.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MattJO68
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just so relaxing …….”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I booked the Sea View cottage through Sykes Cottages and was very specific in what I wanted to rent for a week’s break and I was not disappointed. Sammie and Lee (the owners) have created a gem of a place and together with the main cottage and out buildings, have constructed a very relaxing place to holiday. No expense has been spared in the quality of fixtures and fittings. For example, the kitchen has a high-end 6 burner range cooker and all the appliances you could wish for. The lounge has a wood burner, quality leather sofas to complement the 46” 3D TV and blu ray player. Upstairs has a feature bathroom and bedrooms of equally high standard. All this and it’s dog friendly too which meant my 7 month Cockapoo puppy was also made very welcome. There are plenty of walks from the cottage and the beach which is only a short walk is dog friendly.

Although Barmston is a very small village, it’s only a few miles outside of Bridlington and therefore convenient to shops, restaurants (you must go to Supattra Thai restaurant, it’s the No 1 restaurant in Bridlington and for good reason) and pubs. Unfortunately, the one and only pub in Barmston, “The Black Bull” is a disgrace and the brewery should knock it down and build an establishment that is in keeping with the area. Fortunately however, there are sufficient places to eat and drink a short distance from the village so The Black Bull can be avoided.

In conclusion, I would highly recommend Sea View Cottage and I will definitely be returning at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The Black Bull pub
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue C
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Was met at the cottage by Sam the owner who was very friendly and welcoming. The cottage was immaculate ,very spacious and had everything in it you could possibly want. The cottage was only a ten minute walk to the beach which was ideal as we had our Daughters boxer dog with us,there is nothing not to like about this cottage it is within a short drive to Bridlington,Filey,Scarborough and the surrounding area. Would recommend this property and will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tyne & Wear
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing