We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location Poor Wines”

Barren Ridge Vineyards
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
National Harbor, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location Poor Wines”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were exited to visit Barren Ridge because we had visited so many wineries in the area that we enjoyed. The drive up to the vineyard and the winery were gorgeous. Unfortunately, all went South when we started tasting. First, my wife and I have never had smaller pours at a winery and we've been to more than most. I'm not exaggerating by saying the pour would not have filled a thimble. My wife and I just looked at each other and thought it has to get better from here. It didn't. We were not impressed with any of their wines and we have a full appreciation for all varietals. Though to be fair, the pours were so small we couldn't truly evaluate their wines. Maybe there is a reasoning for that? On our last pour, a different woman took over and we thought for sure we could get a favorable pour. That didn't happen. It's just the culture of that winery. The tastings are $8 each. What a rip. We will gladly pay that for a favorable experience but this winery didn't offer it. It's unfortunate because the grounds her are beautiful. Don't bother going here. It is a waste of time. All other wineries do a nicer job.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank forthekauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, Great Fun!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Barren Ridge Vineyards is a great place to spend a Friday evening. Watching the sun set over the Blue Ridge Mountains is glorious, especially while enjoying a glass of their very fine wine. Most Friday evenings they have live music to enjoy while sitting on the patio. You can bring in any picnic or other food that you like. Their Petite Verdot was delicious, while my wife enjoyed the white, slightly sweet Harmony. Be sure to check it out - you won't be sorry!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank D-Leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylett, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Up & Coming Vineyard!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The staff were very welcoming and eager to share their knowledge. We thoroughly enjoyed tasting several of their wines. The location is perfect for an afternoon gathering with friends. Be sure to take a picnic basket with goodies to enjoy with your wine. The views are goreous. We enjoyed the wines so much we left with a case of both reds and whites. This vineyard is a hidden gem with alot of potential.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 279stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good wine with great views!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stopped by here on our way to D.C. A little off the main drag but worth the trip. The tasting room host was very knowledgeable and entertaining as we sampled the wine. Liked several so left with half a case. The building itself is very nice and would make a great place to have a party of some type. The views are beautiful!! There is a fee to taste the wines.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wetravelKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Add this to your BUCKET LIST”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I am not a wine snob but I never thought much about Virginia Wines till about 3 Years ago. I visited Barren Ridge and was greeted with a very warm welcome and had a opportunity to try all of their wines. Wow this vineyard has done something right. The owner John Higgs was there and actually took the time to show us around the property. This place has such a great family history its hard to believe it used to be a apple orchard back when he was a kid. I enjoyed a glass of Meritage and took in the incredible sunset on the patio.Since that day I have been to numerous events at the vineyard and absolutely love their Third Fridays with live entertainment. The owners are normally there talking with their guests and never seem to be bothered by all the attention. This is a great place for weddings or to just sit back and relax and enjoy the wonderful scenery. Thank you

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank The-Green-Leaf-Grill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barren Ridge Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Barren Ridge Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing