We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flint Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Flint Hill B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Front Royal, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife & I visit monthly and have never been disappointed in the quality & quantity of food and the service. My guests from out-of-state and foreign countries are always impressed. It's silly to write & talk too much just to make the 200 minimum characters!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Front_Royal_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlintHillVa, Managing Patrtner at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Dave_Front_Roy...,

Thanks for the review, We are so glad that you and your wife visit us each month, and that your guests enjoy us as well. We look forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful day.


John Gruber
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    18
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I had finished a long day at the Shenandoah National Park and were ready for a good meal. We were driving and spotted the Flint Hill restaurant so we stopped and ate there. The staff were wonderful, the food was terrific, and the ambiance was cheerful. We plan on making this restaurant one of our definite stops when we are in that area!!!! We will have to plan an overnight or weekend stay since we enjoyed the restaurant so much I'm sure we will love staying there as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy-Donnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlintHillVa, Managing Partner at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Tammy-Donnie H:

Thanks for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed dining with us after your long day. The staff works hard to ensure that your experience is a great one. We look forward to you dining with us again or even staying at the inn next time you are in the area.

John Gruber
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were in the area and the inn we normally stay at was fully booked (as we found most places were due to a civil war reenactment weekend). We were lucky to find the Flint Hill had a room available Friday night.
The inn sits on a beautiful piece of property and exudes historic charm yet is wonderfully modern inside with lots of interesting art on display. It would be a great venue for a small retreat or function.
Our room was at the top of the stairs and was spacious and comfortable with great ambient lighting (except the bathroom was a bit of a design letdown in comparison). My husband had pre-ordered champagne and it was chilling in our room upon our arrival. The bed was comfortable (the pillows weren't so great) and the swivel tv is a great design for the space.
It was extremely quiet througout the night despite there being several other guests. We dined at the Inn and found the service to be attentive, the selection of VA was very affordable at $25/bottle - although I wish I had known they had a full bar at the rear...we didn't see this until we departed the next morning. I would have liked to enjoy an after dinner drink there. Our dinner was good not great, but since we both opted for menu items that we don't ordinarily order, I can't determine whether it was because we just didn't care that much for our selections (Prime Rib and lamb). No bread was served but having ordered appetizers and meal - that was more than we could eat. The chef visited each table which is always a big plus in any establishment.
We visit this area to tour wineries and hike the Appalachian Trail once or twice each year and will definitely consider returning for a future stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlintHillVa, Managing Patner at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Lsnyder:

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback on some aspects of your visit and will address them as a team to see how we can improve them for future visits. We look forward to having you dine or stay with us again next time that you are in the area.

John Gruber
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amissville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have lost count of all the great days and evening at PH,, but wanted to mention that I visited last weekend with a good friend for a girls afternoon of drinks and food. As always drinks were yummy and service outstanding on the deck! Crab dip to start was amazing and sandwiches were tasty.
If you haven't been to visit its a must do!! Great time of year to visit Fall leaves are starting their display of color!!! Book a room and explore the area you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Charming rooms and awesome decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlintHillVa, Managing Partner at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Vicki S.:

Thanks for the great review, and we appreciate you and the girls hanging out on the deck and enjoying Chef Marvins food. We look forward to you next visit.

John Gruber
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a fabulous stay and plan to return! I have special dietary requirements (gluten free) and they were handled superbly. The chef was extremely attentive and my meals were not only prepared according to my needs but were absolutely delicious. Chef Swaner made it a point to speak to me at my table as soon as we were seated for our meals.

All the staff were outstanding. Mr. Gruber made sure we were completely comfortable from the moment we walked through the door. The recent renovation (2011/2012) means the décor is fresh and modern. I also felt the Washington Suite was very allergy friendly; hardwood floors and bed frame plus my request for non-feather pillows was accommodated.

This is a perfect place to base your stay if you are interested in shopping and seeing the local wineries. When we stayed (Aug 2103) the restaurant also had great deals on bottles of local wine in the restaurant.

Room Tip: I also felt the Washington Suite was very allergy friendly; hardwood floors and bed frame plus my re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marycwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlintHillVa, Managing Partner at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Marycwr:

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure having you and your husband stay with us over the weekend. I have passed your comments onto chef Swaner and the rest of the staff. We try very hard to unsure our guests have a wonderful experience here at the Public House. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

John Gruber
Managing Partner
Flint Hill Public House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had heard about Flint Hill Public House last year and have been meaning to make the trip out to the Shenandoah Mountains for a weekend visit. After our stay, I wish we wouldn't have waited so long! The place was wonderful, staff was very attentive and kind, and the food was magnificent!

John, the managing partner, was a tremendous help in making sure our stay was flawless. The place is a true gem- one worth experiencing for yourself! We are looking forward to our next stay, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: The four suits are all great. We stayed in the smallest of the four (because we were going to be sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlintHillVa, Managing Partner at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Chad: Thanks for the review, we love to hear when our guests have a great time, and when the staff all do an outstanding job. We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon.

John Gruber
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The inn is perfect in every way. The staff is gracious and attentive. The owners are available, pleasant, and service oriented. They could not do enough to make our stay special and spectacular. The restaurant serves wonderful food and will prepare any dishes that are on request. They pick vegetables and herbs from their garden which only enhances their menu. Absolutely a place to visit. Looking forward to our return. It's fun to be treated in such a special manner.

Room Tip: Four rooms. Ours was spacious. I was told all but one, of the four rooms, are equivalent in size.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly, non toxic pest control, biodegradable soaps and shampoos
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlintHillVa, Managing Partner at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Joan R:

Thank you for your review, We are so please that you and your husband had a wonderful time at the inn, and enjoyed all of your meals. We will let Chef Swaner and the staff know about your wonderful stay. We look forward to your next scheduled visit with us, and looking forward to meeting the family in November.

John Gruber
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint Hill
20.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
961 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
814 reviews
11.2 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Caledonia Farm - 1812  B&B
Caledonia Farm - 1812 B&B
#2 of 3 in Flint Hill
27 reviews
19.3 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,213 reviews
4.9 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn

Property: Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn
Address: 675 Zachary Taylor Highway, Flint Hill, VA 22627
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Flint Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Flint Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 100 years of history..Perched on a hill above the namesake village it overlooks, Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn is a large white house that is hard to miss. The building is a former schoolhouse that has been a fixture in the area for more than 100 years. In the early 1900s, a one-room schoolhouse was moved from the premises to make room for a new school called the Flint Hill School. Built in 1906, the new school was instrumental in educating Rappahannock County children until 1960, when the property was sold and became a private residence. In 1986, the schoolhouse/residence was sold and renovated and opened as The School House Restaurant. In 1992, the restaurant operation was leased as The Flint Hill Public House until it closed in 2008. In June 2011, new owners purchased the property and undertook an extensive renovation and redesign, hiring noted Washington, DC, architect Ernesto Santalla. The complete renovation took the building down to the bare walls and included moving an interior stairwell to the outside to accommodate four luxury suites on the expansive second floor. The new Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn opened in early 2012 – ready for another 100 years as a local landmark and gathering place. CLOSED MONDAY-WEDNESDAY. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flint Hill Public House Hotel Flint Hill
Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn Rappahannock County, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing