We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic B&B, warm proprietors and comfortable accomodations.”
Review of Ambrosia Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Floyd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambrosia Farm
Ranked #3 of 7 Floyd B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“Historic B&B, warm proprietors and comfortable accomodations.”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

After touring and camping the Blue Ridge parkway, Ambrosia Farm was a welcome visit. This B&B is a beautiful historic farm house settled on a quiet property. The proprietor Carolyn, is very friendly and offered many suggestions on places to visit and restaurants in the area. Floyd, VA proved a great way station on our 5 day trip on the Blue Ridge.
The 1st floor bedroom with fireplace was cozy and the bed comfortable. The fireplace was a great benefit to the overall feeling of the room. The breakfast in the morning was delicious: served were eggs with fresh herbs and french toast made from the bread of a local baker. I highly recommend staying in this well run and well taken care of B&B.

Room Tip: First floor King bed has fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Caroline and Craig made us fel at home for the 2 nights we spent with them. Their home and adjacent cabin are situated in a beautiful and rural setting, but just close enough to Floyd to enjoy the bluegrass jam sessions, and the wineries to sample the local wines. We especially enjoyed their fabulous breakfasts. They gave us suggestions to highlights to enjoy while in their area which were awesome, such as the lovely hike up to nearby Buffalo Mountain. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I tagged along with friends to attend Floyd Fest and was very pleasantly surprised by this delightful oasis of a B&B. The historic house is very charming and the setting is just glorious, with a beautiful porch surrounded with flowers, hummingbirds and butterflies. The proprietors are very gracious, fun, interesting, artsy, and environmentally concerned. The breakfasts were absolutely scrumptious, healthy, and somewhat unusual. Sleeping was a little problematic in my particular second-floor room, as it was extremely hot that weekend and I had a choice between a very noisy air conditioner or roasting, but we will definitely return in the cooler weather.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Ambrosia Farm is a quaint bed and breakfast in Floyd, VA. It's a few miles from the parkway and from the wineries, so be prepared to have a designated driver if you are planning to taste the local wines. The owners, Caroline and Craig, are really amazing people. They are a pleasure to talk to, and make sure you have everything you need during your stay. Recently, they have built a "green" cabin from recycled materials. This is a very rustic place to spend the night, so be prepared for no A/C. The bathroom was small, but everything you needed was there. The beautiful views around this B&B are well worth the stay. There are rolling hills, as well as mountain views. Caroline and Craig are big gardeners, so all the flowers and shrubs were lovely. Breakfast was huge and Caroline served a veggie frittata with home grown vegetables and banana muffins. Overall, fun place in Floyd to spend the night.

Room Tip: The cabin is very rustic, so if you need more modern accommodations, stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Ambrosia Farm B&B is a sice of heaven. My weekend stay here was everything I had hoped for - kind, and sophisticated innkeepers, inviting rooms, amazing landscape and quiet places around the rustic, charming old farmhouse to enjoy it - and an outstanding breakfast. What a morning meal Caroline and Craig serve here! The coffee is excellent. (They get their own blend from a cool little roastery in town, which we visited).They have this bountiful organic garden (that you see right when you pull up to the place). They include garden goodies, including strawberries, in their breakfasts. We were so impressed! (I am talking strawberry pie and carrot muffins, mushroom and onion fritatta! Yum!) Also, we both slept extremely well here (Caroline said they fixed that noisy upstairs room recently) and Caroline said that many guests have said the same - that they have never had a better night's sleep. We hiked, we read, we enjoyed the wildlife and wildflowers and gardens. There is just so much about this place that is entirely relaxing and pleasanl. We have already booked our next getaway at this great place!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amaritie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Caroline and Craig are wonderful hosts. The conversation was just right. They really made us feel at home. They also made a great breakfast together.
We loved staying in the Master Suite. We were able to get a taste of what the old log cabin, which the present home is built around, was like. It was all together a wonderful visit and peek into early Virginia and the Blue Ridge country.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runaways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My husband and I spent one night here and loved it. Caroline is so welcoming and easy-going and the house has a rustic decor that is warm and inviting. We were offered a glass of wine when we arrived. Coffee was served at 8 AM and we talked to Caroline and her husband as they made breakfast for us which was delicious and more than I could finish. I hope to get back to Floyd before too long and will definitely stay at Ambrosia Farm.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnolan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floyd
4.4 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
49 reviews
14.7 mi away
Primland
Primland
#1 of 3 in Meadows of Dan
683 reviews
24.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
485 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
184 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mountain Song Inn
Mountain Song Inn
#1 of 2 in Willis
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Farm

Property: Ambrosia Farm
Address: 271 Cox Store Rd SW, Floyd, VA 24091-5016
Region: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Floyd
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing