We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hotel Floyd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Floyd
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Floyd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After a long day of travel, we discovered The Hotel Floyd. This was a pleasant surprise. We stayed in a beautiful suite that was very clean and comfortable. The living room and bedroom was very spacious. This is a green hotel which makes it a plus. The bed was very comfortable. There is construction on an additional building which will be a plus. At this time there is limited parking, but we had no problems finding a space. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpmElloree_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Floyd
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel Floyd is an ideal place to stay if you are visiting the picturesque and quirky little town of Floyd. We only met one member of staff at check in but she was very nice. Our room was spacious and well appointed and had everything we needed, including wi-fi which I found to be very efficient. My only small gripe re the room was the bed. I don't know if it is an old bed or a new bed designed to feel old - but I didn't particularly like hearing the springs creak every time I turned over!

Much has been said about the building work, and rightly so, and it is a fact that much of the hotel is still a building site. As we were here on a Sunday there was no work being done, so it didn't bother us, but I can imagine it being a nuisance otherwise. It is clearly a major project and all I can say is that it will be impressive when it is finished. Perhaps it would be useful for the hotel management to say here when that is likely to be as they clearly missed the Spring 2014 target by some margin.

I would expect that when the building work is completed the hotel will be able to provide dining and breakfast facilities. As it is, that is a small drawback - but only a small one as it is only a short stroll to the cafes in town. Even in its current state the Hotel Floyd is a fine place to stay and we look forward to coming again when it us "finished".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It's a quick walk from some of the best spots in town, it feels totally safe for walking around late at night, it's very comfortable and attractive in the rooms. The only problem is that it's so nice that you might feel like never leaving the room! Very courteous staff, nice newsletter about local events (they really seem to care about their community), eco-friendly, good internet connectivity. Wish I could have stayed longer and actually spent time enjoying the hotel suite! I hear they have weekly live music concerts in the courtyard during warmer months.

Room Tip: Rooms have themes related to local attractions and businesses.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikehikesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The best hotel in Floyd and quite fun, in it's own way. Wifi is weak and goes out often. There was no cell phone connectivity. The bamboo floors are beautiful, but if you have a first floor room you will have to listen to every move the people upstairs make. Book floor two if you have a choice. Parking is bad but there is much construction going on which may alleviate that problem in the future. The staff is friendly and easy to deal with. The rooms are small but very clean and decorated with local, funky flair -- framed concert posters and lampshades made from old album covers caught my eye. Even the view of the cemetery from the room is kind of charming. There is no room service but there are local restaurants in walking distance. The one thing that really did bother me was the sign to use the designated brown washcloth to remove makeup. It made me very aware of my recently dyed hair, and I tried very hard to use the brown washcloth to protect the white towels from any hair dye residue. It wasn't successful and the guilt bothered me considerably. I think that the Hotel Floyd should probably change to brown towels and cloths completely to alleviate these issues with their guests in the future. There is currently no pool nor fitness center but these may be in the plans for the future.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for better sleep
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darkchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After trying two B&Bs in Floyd, we thought Hotel Floyd would be a good choice, and were not disappointed. Very handy to everything downtown, we enjoyed our two nights there. A lot of construction is in progress, and we look forward to having breakfast offered, and the new additions and landscaping. The cleanest hotel we have every stayed in. A great effort is made to be green, with recyle bins in the room, bamboo floors (a bit noisy from the upstairs, no rugs) handcrafted furniture. each room nicely appointed and themed, some by Floyd business sponsors.
Only criticism: WIFI was sketchy.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the parking lot, there is a lot of walking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosetteG200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for an overnight during a pleasure trip to Floyd. It was very convenient to everything in downtown Floyd. The furnishings are craftsman quality and differ from room to room. Local artisans are featured. The hotel is finishing up a major expansion. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about local attractions. Rate was very reasonable.

Room Tip: You can view photos of your particular room and pick a decor that suits you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very clean, nicely appointed room with attention to detail. Quiet. Walking distance to the Floyd Country Store, and other attractions in the town. Huge expansion of the facility is in the works with new rooms, a lobby and breakfast options. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ColdWarRelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floyd
0.8 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
51 reviews
16.0 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
255 reviews
15.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
242 reviews
15.8 mi away
Days Inn Christiansburg
Days Inn Christiansburg
#10 of 14 in Christiansburg
344 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Floyd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floyd

Address: 300 Rick Lewis Way, Floyd, VA 24091-1500
Region: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Floyd
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Floyd 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A "Green" hotel located in downtown Floyd, VA, featuring local art and themed rooms. Hotel Floyd offers boutique design with all the amenities of an urban hotel. Hotel Floyd also has an outdoor pavilion that hosts a summer concert series every Thursday night May to October. Hotel Floyd also has 2 detached units that are pet friendly. Free full breakfast served every morning with locally homemade pastries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Floyd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing