We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cave house”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Cave House , 'Cueva Blanca'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cave House , 'Cueva Blanca'.
Fully equipped kitchen. Fully equipped kitchen/Front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Front of Cave House , 'Cueva Blanca'.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Fully equipped kitchen/Front door.
Light and airy dining room.
Passage way with door to sun terrace.
Bathroom
Romantic main Bedroom
Comfy bedroom 2
TV Lounge
Comfy sofa's
Snug - relax with a good book & warm fire !
Relax on your sun terrace-with your own Tapa !
Relax on your sun terrace-with your own Tapa !
Beautiful views from your sun terrace.
Beautiful view from front of cave.
Sunset from your sun terrace.
A short walk to the town square in Freila.
Lake Negratin. with beach and hot spa's - 7km drive.
Lake Negratin. relax in the beautiful scenery.
Cafe/Bar above hot spa's.
Relax in the Hot Spa-Lovely!
Lakeside beach with bar & pedalos for hire-3km drive away.
Childrens play area at Freila beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cave house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Freila, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul B
1 review
“Fantastic cave house”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stopped here in December, cold nights outside but nice and cosy inside. The cave house is simply wonderful, plenty of room, bags of character and clean & tidy. Lovely roof terrace to watch the sun melt away the night's frost (December remember). The owners are fantastic, made sure we were comfortable and very friendly. wonderful people. Overall couldn't have stopped anywhere better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2017
Thank you for the review hope yo see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pammy987
Almeria, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the area! House in need of some attention.”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

After having read positive reviews, we chose to spend a week in this cave house. On entering the house, first impression was a musty, damp smell. Entrance is directly into the kitchen. Walked through and found what we were looking for - a lovely cool bedroom at the back of the cave... wonderful when the outside temperature was so high! Nice cool lounge with clean new leather sofas. The upstairs terrace had great views across the hills but was sparsely furnished - of the two old sun loungers, one was broken and neither had any covers. Downstairs there was no light in the dining room and what with the low powered ceiling light and no bathroom cabinet lights working at all made husband's shaving difficult! Kitchen had a grubby hob and dirty saucepan plus an earwig in the cutlery drawer. Very disappointed after reading the earlier reviews. Seems the place has been neglected. Loved the location, super little village with pleasant cafes and bars, friendly locals and a great pizzeria! Very convenient to the magnificent lake with clear water and spectacular views only a ten minute drive away. Loved the area! House could do with some work.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Very sorry for your disappointment
This is no excuse but you were a last of the minute booking and unfortunately I was away therefore asked a friend to clean and air the cave out, they obviously did not do any of it to my standards as you can see from previous reviews
I think the electric was explained we were waiting for a Spanish electrician as for the patio furniture that has been addressed
Again my standard of cleaning is high I will not ask my friend again I would much rather decline the booking in future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The cave house near the lake.”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cave house is perfect for a short stay, we stayed 3 nights, to visit the lake and surrounding area.
It was clean and comfortable in a lovely little village that needs exploring.
There is a small supermarket and a bar which serves meals, although its not very welcoming to holiday makers, we felt like aliens.
On the upside there is a restaurant near the lake which is excellent, very welcoming and good reasonably priced food. The 'Menu del dia' is great value.
We drove over the dam at the lake and followed the A315 to Quesada, what a fantastic drive the views were incredible. At the end, coming down the mountain, you turn a corner and right in front of you is the village of Quesada, it looks like a wedding cake, incredible !!!
All in all a Good trip !!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The village,and lake
Liked least: The village bar
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Only thing I can think of is the flies, but they were only outside and nothing to do with the owners or the property!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
lets hope you do return you were perfect guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KENANDI
WALES
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts, wonderful location”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Lovely, clean and well equipped cave house, has everything you could possibly need and I'm sure if there was something missing, the owners Madi and Graham would be happy to accommodate if they could.

Being February it was quite cold but once the log burner was lit the cave was nice and toasty (doesn't take much to warm a cave). We were quite lucky on several days with the weather and managed to take advantage of the lovely roof terrace, there's a well stocked bookcase up there with reading material to suit most tastes which was great as my partner had forgotten his book.

I could go on forever about this cave but will cut it short by simply saying if you want a break from the hustle and bustle, go to Freila, it has 4 bars all within walking distance of the cave, all serving complimentary tapas, the spectacular Lake Negratin is only 5 minutes drive away, and the people both local and expats are friendly and very welcoming.

I'd recommend staying at Cueva Blanca to anyone, it surpasses expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Owners
Liked least: Have to light the log burner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you for lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

first class accomadation well equiped and spotlessly clean
helpfull owner and knowledgeable about what was available localy very friendly(even laughed at my jokes like they meant it)
my wife and i are both 70+and have done a lot of travelling this place and holiday is well up in our top ten
living in a cave is a must that everyone should try at least once and be prepared to be enchanted
the village was so friendly(the real spain)and the food excellent(try a bocadio)free tapas with every drink and really helpfull locals who seemed pleased that we had visited there village
john and hilary bright

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole holiday was perfect there was no best
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you John hope you will visit again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S
Torrox, Spain
1 review
“unique house in traditional Spanish village”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

enjoyed our stay in a this genuine cave house, which can be really appreciated for its coolness in a very hot time of year.Helpful friendly owners and a real taste of Spanish village life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: coolness inside
Liked least: heat outside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing