We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Auxi-le-Chateau, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea L
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed at the La Maison Longue with my husband and 14 year old step daughter and it was perfect for us. My step daughter loved the pool and the barn with the dart board and various activities which kept her entertained with her Dad whilst I chilled in the peace and quiet. Lovely surroundings and very quiet. Great base to explore the area or to just sit in the lovely garden and read. The gite is a good size and had everything we needed. Great welcome back with amazing cheese. Keith and Keran can provide details of places to visit and the very near little towns have a good selection of supermarkets.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Keith & Keran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S1monroge...
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful stay in one of the best gites we have stayed in !”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Having visited France and the Payes de Calis and Picardy areas - on several occasions over the years we can honestly say that this has been one of the cleanest, most comfortable and most well equipt gite we have stayed in.
On arrival we were welcomed with a delightful supply of fresh bread, cheese/s, butter, wines,fresh eggs and beautiful fresh flowers. Our beds were made up with lovely crisp linen and an abundance of towels were available to use in the bath room
Right away we felt looked after and new we would relax and enjoy our stay
We know the area quite well, but there is a host of information in the gite and Keith and Keran always had time to chat and tell us of local places of interest and places to eat.
Our son 14 and our daughter 8 took advantage of the swimming pool when the weather allowed and it was much appreciated by our daughter to be allowed to collect the chickens eggs and distribute them to our neighbours in the adjacent gites
Overall an excellent holiday of busy days out and about and being able to relax in comfort when at La Maison Lounge

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for the wonderfully kind review. You were an absolute pleasure to have come and stay, and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.
Keith & Keran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cricket_u...
Ilkley
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect, just perfect”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

From the welcome pack waiting for you when you walk through the door, to the ambience, or the location, we found our second stay here just as good as the first one. We were in France to visit the Somme battlefield sites, and they lay 45 minutes away, so the location just outside of the busy war hubs was excellent. You are also handily placed for Calais, Dunkirk, and other historical places. Getting back in the evening, it was a pleasure to sit outside and have a chilled beer, or sit on the voluminous settee and read.

I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone for a great break away.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review. It makes us very happy to know you enjoyed your second stay as much as the first. We hope to see you again soon - chilled beers are waiting!
Keith and Keran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesallen6...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Summer break 2016”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very welcoming hosts who looked after us well. The accommodation was clean and tidy with all the equipment you would need. Household linen good with a well equipped bathroom. Very comfortable settees and cosy log fire when it was cool and rainy. Very useful to have a washing machine and places to dry clothes.

The setting is rural with a farm like courtyard with shared garden and lots of seating outside. Inquisitive chickens joined us for coffee, It was easy to travel to nearby towns for provisions although we were welcomed by a well stocked basket of farm eggs and butter with wine bread and cheese. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Confortable accommodation and helpful hosts.
Liked least: Intermittent wifi but discovered that I could log on outside and then take the tablet indoors.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

comfortable stay in La Maison longue for 2 weeks. Owners very friendly and approachable and nothing too much trouble. Ideally situated for visits to the battlefields (approx 1 hour drive), nature reserves and tourist attractions. Local amenities / supermarkets nearby. Lovely quiet location in village, excellent welcome pack. Games, books and DVD's provided in gite (in English language) and plenty of information provided in respect of attractions, days out, local, restaurants etc. This is our second stay in this location and we would highly recommend it. Thank you to the owners Keith and Karan for making us so welcome during our stay

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and welcome atmosphere
Liked least: wifi - signal very poor/dropped out often - best place to sit for steady signal is at the dining room table!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thank you both so much for staying with us, look forward to seeing you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chilling out in Boffles”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spent a quiet week in La Maison Longue, which is part of the le petit hameau group of gites in Boffles, France. Located within 2 hours drive of the ports of Calais and Dunquerque. We were made very welcome by the owners Keith and Keran and were supplied with a handy pack of goodies on arrival. Located near Auxi le Chateau it is easy to get to the Somme battlefields or to the sea at Le Crotoy (good steam train ride to St Valery from here). Battlefield of Agincourt (Azincourt) is also very close. Weather was a bit cold but the gite is well equipped with heating to keep the toes warm. Would recommend to anyone who would like a quiet time to chill out.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Many thanks for the positive comments regarding your recent stay at Le Petit Hameau. We are pleased you managed to spend time visiting some of the plentiful sites in the area; the steam train to/from Le Crotoy/St Valery is good fun and the many battlefields and memorials most definitely worthy of a visit.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Regards, Keith and Keran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAM201520...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, well-equipped gite in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed our stay very much. The beds were comfortable, the wood-burner was lovely and we were grateful for the generous welcome pack. We loved the birdsong and the plaintive noises of the chickens.

There are lots of pretty villages and small towns nearby. The Thursday market in Hesdin is a delight. We went to Arras, which is well worth a visit, and felt very lucky to discover Montreuil-sur-Mer, which is a beautiful walled town with cobbled streets and lots of character.

In the past we have tended to motor through the northern parts of France to reach the south, but we won't make that mistake again. Although it is only a short distance from the Channel ports and Tunnel, once you leave the autoroute, you get a taste of the real France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet, chickens and woodburner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing