We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Auxi-le-Chateau, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kentcoope...
Biddenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Ideal for a short stay to visit the Somme Battlefields. Cottage clean and comfortable. Useful information on where to visit from Keith. Chickens/ducks and menagerie very entertaining.
Would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our gite and for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you both again, sooner rather than later.

Best regards
Keith & Keran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amtowe201...
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Spot in the French Countryside”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful fortnight in this well-equipped gite. It is ideally located for the coast, countryside, Arras, Amiens, Lille and WWI sites. We explored, picnicked, went to the seaside, visited a chateau, the beautiful Jardins des Valloires, the regional Louvre in Lens, and honoured family who died in WWI. The gite is in a peaceful and beautiful rural location but has good access to amenities nearby. We couldn't have had more welcoming and helpful hosts.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were both lovely people and it was a pleasure to meet you both
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnpA640...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a brilliant place to stay. Really good for getting away from it all. A pleasant gite in a quiet rural village, we loved it. Kieth and Keran made our stay really enjoyable. The welcome pack is so good we didn't need to go out for a meal on the first evening as originally planned. The chickens are entertaining, and the locals very friendly, welcoming and helpful, putting up with my attempts at French. Roads virtually to ourselves when compared to the UK. Google translate is a useful help. Our first holiday in France, and our first visit for over 20 years. Plans to return are already ongoing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet rural location and the delicious bread in the welcome pack
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Le Petit Hameau, it is really appreciated and helpful for future guests. More importantly, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will indeed pay us another visit in the near future. You were both lovely guests and a pleasure to talk with.
All the very best, Keith and Keran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finolab67
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet, peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely little gite equipped with everything you need for an enjoyable stay set in a very peaceful location with many interesting places to visit within a short drive away. (car essential)
Wifi access a bonus.

Owners live on the site and are friendly but not intrusive.

Excellent welcome pack.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location.
Liked least: The bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to review Le Tournesol. We hope you will be back to stay in the not too distant future.
Regards
Keith & Keran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perspine
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed a relaxing getaway!”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in August 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the Le Tournesol for a week in August of 2014. Although the owners were away at that period we were welcomed by friends of theirs who made us feel welcome. As I recall we were welcomed with a basket of breads, wine and other tasty treats on our dining table. The little cottage is perfect size for a couple and has everything you need for your stay. They also have a few animals around the complex, including a very friendly black cat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a great size! Everyone we met at the complex was very friendly.
Liked least: It was a distance from some places, but this is fine if you have a car.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thank you so much for your review and kind words, which are very much appreciated. How time flies - 2014! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed and remembered your stay.

We hope very much you will come back to visit us again soon. Le Tournesol remains a favourite with our returning guests and you may be pleased to hear we are currently renovating La Petite Paquerette, including adding a wood burner for cosy evenings during the cooler months.

Keith & Keran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
London
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Another Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is my second visit to the Gites. I have now stayed in Le Tournasol and La Maison Longue and both were awesome.

Keith and Keran are quick to reply to enquiries and perfect hosts. They are on hand to and answer any questions. There is a guide on arrival with suggestions of what to do in the area but Keith and Keran are also happy to help.

The welcome pack you receive on arrival is one I remembered from my first stay (five years ago) and still as amazing. It is definitely the best welcome pack I have come across in any place I have stayed and it is very much appreciated.

The location of the Gite is perfect. It is in the middle of the French countryside and the surroundings are beautiful. It is also close enough to a variety of activities, bird sanctuary, The Somme and war memorials etc, beachside towns and so on. It really is excellent to chill out and do as much or as little as you please.

The Gite is extremely comfortable and well equipped and has everything you need if you wish to prepare meals.

I highly recommend this place and we will be back for a third visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Dear Sabina & Ian
Thank you for the very positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. We wish you both the very best and look forward to seeing you again at Le Petit Hameau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location ,great welcome!”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A small cosy gite located in a very quiet French village. Handy for local attractions - Le Touquet, Amiens, Hesdin, the Somme area and the coast. although we were there in February the gite was very snug - and the welcome pack brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing