We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fries New River RV Park
Nearby Hotels
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Red Roof
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
32
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbike trailbabbling brookpea gravellabor day weekendwifihomebakedvirginiahostsdelita
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We agree with the other reviews. The campground is restful & clean. It's very small, but well cared for. We were so impressed by the owner's helpfulness & friendliness. The bike trail is beautiful. We didn't get to hear the music, maybe next time on another trip down south. This place is definitely on the "A" list.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioTraveler567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here in August for 3 nights. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. They helped us back into our site. This is a fantastic spot for bicyclists. You are just a hop away from the New River Trail. A couple of miles down the trail, there is a convenience store accessible. There is not a whole lot to do in Fries, but it is very restful and scenic. The river front was beautiful and we walked across the river (carefully) to sit on some rocks and watch the gentle current go by. We did go to the nearby Mexican restaurant.

I would recommend you bring plenty of food and drinks before coming here. Also a bike or comfortable walking shoes for the New River Trail. The Campground itself was great with super clean/new restrooms, spacious site, and owners that seemed to always be there when you need them! They even had a few spare bikes to borrow which was a a nice touch. The other people at the campground were really down to earth and nice! This is the first time I have been camping that I felt like I knew my neighbors, which was cool!

The only things I would ask for is a map of the lots available to be put on the website. Some are bigger than others, and some have more privacy than others. Ask about the lots when you reserve if you have a preference.

Thanks again for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCarolinaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We always stay here on our way back home from trips up north. Even if it's a bit out of the way for us. A three or four day stay here allows us to recoup from a long trip before returning home in North Carolina. It is one of the most restful RV Parks we know of and we always meet the nicest folks here...including the owners, Tom and Delieta.
We camp in a motorhome and the Park can accommodate big rigs whether towing or not. Many of the sites are along the road for easy-in, easy-out parking with a creek and nicely landscaped area between your RV and the woods.
The town of Fries (freeze) has a bluegrass jam session every Thursday evening in the town recreation center. An Appalachian music lover’s delight! It’s within walking distance and highly recommended.
Our last stay here was in October of this year, 2011. We plan on many more visits through the years. By the way, Tom gave his leaf blower a real workout when we were last there! He makes me tired just watching him rake the gravel, helping campers and tidying-up the campsites!

Room Tip: There is a double campsite if traveling with another RV. Also, a site with a private deck along side the creek.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seasideNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We recently spent some time traveling and enjoying the fall colors in the Blue Ridge and Fries RV Resort was our first stop. As soon as we pulled in, we were greeted by the quaintness, uniqueness and cleanliness of the park. We spent 4 days on site #2 - it was so picturesque and peaceful with its water wheel, babbling brook and elevated deck. Tom, the owner goes out of his way to make sure your visit to the area is just perfect - his wife even bakes muffins for your arrival! We enjoyed riding our bikes on the New River Trail, going to the Thursday night bluegrass jam session in Fries and learning to dance the 2 step and flat foot! The people in the surrounding area are kind, friendly, sincere and we enjoyed every minute of our time here. We are new to retirement and RVing and can not say enough kind words about the people we met and the tips we received -- the park's atmosphere is definitely one just like family . We are planning on returning in the spring and we will definitely be coming back to Fries RV Resort. Truly an enjoyable experience! Thanks Tom, Delita, Ed and Deanna for the wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Site #2 is large and picturesque with waterwheel, brook and elevated deck. Other sites in back of park have adult swings or decks over brook.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sailingchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The owner is very informative and friendly. The park and restrooms are very clean. Super location for riding on the New River Trail.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews