We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent views in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 December 2013

i went here in late october to drive the skyline Drive. I stayed 2 days and my stay was excellent. The room was clean and large. The beds were very comfortable. They even had a restaurant in the hotel. "Houlihans". It was very convenient. The people at the desk were very nice and very helpful. I would stay here again if i'm in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

francis123456,

We are always very happy to heard from satisfied customers like yourself. Thank you for leaving your comments here and thank you for your business.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

The room was very nice and the people were a great help. Wish we would have stayed another night. But we only had two days to go. We would use them again. Also a restaurant in Luray name Sonny's was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Sherri S,

I am not sure about Sonny's in Luray, but our restaurant, Houlihans, is amazing! We hope you will try Houlihans next time you stay with us. Thank you for your business.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows was quiet, clean & comfortable. Good restaurants were nearby...they also give a discount coupon for the restaurant on site. it was worhth driving a few miles from I 81. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

CDinPA,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We could not be happier that you selected us from the local hotel options. We hope you will choose us again for all of your future stays. Have a happy 2014!

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The drive from upstate New York took me six and a half hours to get to the Holiday Inn. What a pleasant surprise I got when I arrived. The lobby was warm and friendly and the front desk was very caring. My room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was king size with a choice soft and firm pillows and the mattress was just right. They have a nice restaurant called Houlihan's. I went into the bar for a drink and I found out that it was Happy Hour but, not for draft Stella. I ordered a strip steak that was done to perfection. Although it was a little small in size, it still tasted good. I guess they ran out of baked potatoes so my choice was French fries or mashed potatoes. I got the French fries and they did give you a large order. The next morning I got my wakeup call right on time so I could drive another seven hours to my next destination.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alawishes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Alawishes8,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. This is certainly appreciated. I am very proud of our entire staff for a true team effort to provide you with the experience you expected and deserved. I will also share your comments with the Houlihans staff and management and I would invite you to share your comments on their TripAdvisor page, if you have not already done so.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you choose to do so again soon.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Rooms were very clean and the beds extremely comfortable! The front desk was extremely helpful and very professional. They were able to recommend wineries, hiking trails, and superb restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area. The coffee in the room was awful......but that's the only thing that was unsatisfactory :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbrown58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Sbrown58,

Sorry to hear about the coffee. We understand that finding delicious coffee in a hotel room is a challenge, so please do not forget that we also offer complimentary gourmet coffee in the lobby 24-hours a day and it is always fresh.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We drove from Mooresville, NC to Front Royal with a stop at Monticello and Carter's Orchard in Virginia on the way. So it was a long day of travel and we were looking forward to dinner and a good night's sleep.
Attached to the hotel is a restaurant named Houlihan's which was very good and I will review that separately but I would recommend eating here.
Our room Nbr 527 was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. That is all I need from a room. It was a very pleasant stay. The next morning when I woke up I could look out the window and see the golfers starting their day on the course.
It would be an easy decision to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TakeAPicture-PaintIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

TakeAPicture-PaintIt,

Thank you for this very thorough review of your recent visit. We love to know that we are providing a great location for weary travelers who are exploring the Shenandoah Valley. We look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After driving the 105 mile length of the Skyline Drive, we were ready for a good meal and comfy bed. We found both at the Holiday Inn and Suites in Front Royal. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant, Houlihan's, ( which we've visited in other areas) was excellent for both dinner and breakfast- the portions were huge and while not inexpensive, were delicious. The Steak and Wedge Salad was the perfect end to the day. The Meatloaf was total comfort food for the hubby. The only blight on the whole experience is the fact that the hotel's complimentary toiletries are Coconut/Verbena scented. I am allergic to coconut and was told by the front desk there were no alternatives to the coconut, so our hair was a little grimy the next morning. Note to self- don't forget the spare in my suitcase. There is a golf course behind the hotel for those that play and there is a Target nearby if you forget something. We will stay here again when we come back to see the leaves!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

islandturtle,

Thank you in advance for your future business in the fall. We are excited to know that we were able to provide you with a hotel that is worth returning to.
Regarding the toiletries, while we are required by Holiday Inn to provide the coconut lime verbena scented products from the Signature Collection of Bath & Body Works, it is probably worth consideration for us to keep an unscented product line available for purchase in our lobby store for travelers with sensitive skin. I will look into this.
I plan to share your comments with the Houlihans staff and management and I am certain they will be proud to have served you.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
874 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
329 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
5.3 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#5 of 10 in Front Royal
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Dr, Front Royal, VA 22630-6928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range: £84 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2014 IHG Quality Excellence Award and the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing