We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional Staff-Very Clean-Great Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Several of us stayed here for two nights while coordinating a Saturday tournament in Front Royal. The staff was prepared for us, very friendly and made us feel like we were "home." Our rooms were very clean, the bathrooms were roomy and laid out nicely. The lobby is stylish and comfortable. We had Friday night dinner and Sunday breakfast in the hotel restaurant, Houlihan's. Their food was tasty and the service was also A+. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: All the views are breathtaking!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Beth H,
Thank you for the very kind words regarding the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We were proud you chose us to host your event and we hope to see you back again soon.
Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

This relatively new facility is conveniently located close to I-66 and within easy drive of a number of dining choices. Reception staff are friendly and accommodating and both check-in and check-out procedures were uncomplicated. Internet and in-room entertainment were adequate and functional. Furnishings and room were clean and comfortable. Lack of in-house dining is the only reason preventing this facility from being rated excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FedVetAPHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

FedVetAPHIS,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. It means a lot that you took the time to share your comments. I noticed you mentioned a lack of in-house dining, please make sure that you check out Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar on your next visit. It is a full service chain restaurant that happens to be located on our lobby level. The best part is that they prepare made-from-scratch cuisine so the quality is truly a step above the average chain restaurant. I think you will enjoy it.
Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my third time staying at the Front Royal Holiday Inn. The first time was last year, and it was picked solely based on price and the decent reviews I read. The first trip was a one night stay for a job interview, and my second stay would end up being for the same reason. I live in Washington State, but am trying to get a job in Virginia to be closer to be two young children who live in Alexandria. I loved the hotel and town so much during my first two stays that when I flew out last month to see the kids I booked three nights at the Holiday Inn. Well the weather did not cooperate at all, it was 12 degrees when I landed in DC and there was a bad snow storm forecasted for the third day of my stay. I explained to the front desk why I was there, and the temperature was going to hinder any outdoor activities. They offered to open up a non-booked conference room and set up a play area for me and the kids. They also told me about their indoor pool and hot tub which the kids loved. AND the attached restaurant is not your typical hotel restaurant, it is very good in its own right. Houghlihans I think it's called, and the kids eat free with a paid adult meal! Even though both my son and daughter claimed to be too full to eat anymore, somehow they found room for the ice cream which was also included.

With the snow storm coming in I decided that I better leave a day early to get to our next stop in New Jersey before the roads got too bad. When I was checking out a day early I thought it'd be nice if I could get a refund, but on such short notice I didn't think that would be an option so I didn't bother mentioning it. I was surprised to find on my invoice that I was refunded for the third day without even asking for it, I was beyond impressed.

To many people passing through this may be just another hotel, but for me and my kids it was an incredibly special experience. I only get to see my kids twice a year and words cannot express my gratitude towards the staff for making this a memorable vacation.

Thank you

Matt Vollans

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Matthew V,

Thank you for being so kind as to review your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We truly appreciate your repeat business over the past year and we are proud to be your hotel of choice in the area. I am going to share your review with our entire staff and let them know how proud I am of all of them for providing such a memorable experience to you and your family. Sounds like they truly went above and beyond for you and I could not be happier. See you soon?

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I just can't say enough nice things about this property. The grounds are wonderful, the rooms are spacious, and the service is top notch. This from a Holiday Inn? I had not stayed at one in a long time, but this experience certainly left a very favorable opinion.

I do wish there were a complimentary breakfast like some other chains, however the attached restaurant is adequate a good meal at a good price.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stirfry300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

stirfry300,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. I appreciate that you chose to stay with us and this means a lot. We would love to see you stay with us again. Thank you.
Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I love the Front Royal area and have been there about 5 weekends in the past year. Every time but once we have stayed at the Holiday Inn and from now on it will be every time. The hotel is always in beautiful condition, even after the recent water incident, and the staff is always very courteous and welcoming.
My wife and I have talked about moving to the area when I retire, but we think we may miss the hotels bed and pillows too much(so comfortable). We love to travel and stay in hotels but always feel the most satisfied at the Front Royal Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

BCraigh,
I truly appreciate your review of our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows over and over again, this is a sure sign that we are doing what we need to in order to WOW our guests. It is wonderful that you took the time to share your experiences here on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Front Royal the night of Feb. 1, 2014. We needed a place to stay in Front Royal, traveling there from New Jersey due to a death in the family. We followed Trip Advisor's review advice and went to The Holiday Inn. We're sooo glad we did. We were greeted by an incredibly friendly and kind assistant manager, Andrew. He gave us a great rate and a great room. The room was spotless, spacious and very quiet. We had a great night's sleep after a very long day. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast next door, too. Holiday Inn in Front Royal excellently provided services for real-life needs -- lodging, rest, and food. I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteMountainsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

WhiteMountainsfan,

Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. I am very glad that I was able to assist you and to provide you with an "Excellent Experience". Please know that you can always expect the same on future visits. I hope to see you again soon.

With regards,
Andrew Sheetz
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my family come here often, to see friends in Luray and to hike The Drive. We have eaten in the restaurant a joined to the hotel and I have to say, the service in the dining room was awful. We sat down and didnt even see a waitress/waiter for 15 or so mins.. we then moved to bar area where Amy and Micky took very great care of us.It was the best service we have had in a long time there. Sure enough when we plan spring trip, we will be sure to seek them out. Thank you for improving our stay. We will always sit in bar area from now on.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PaytonIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

PaytonIs,

Sorry to hear that Houlihan's took some time in order to get you the service you deserved. I am very glad to hear that the ladies in the bar area were able to wow you with their customer service. I will make sure the management team at Houlihans thanks them for doing such a great job for you. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
857 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
317 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
5.9 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Dr, Front Royal, VA 22630-6928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range: £94 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2014 IHG Quality Excellence Award and the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing