We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food in a nice hotel in the beautiful Shenandoah Mountains”
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #8 of 89 Restaurants in Front Royal
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I never thought I’d choose a hotel based on its restaurant! But we have and we keep coming back. Houlihan’s is a “made from scratch’ restaurant and bar located in a Holiday Inn. It has a family-friendly, cozy sports type bar ambience with comfort food. Prices are very cheap for really great food. Wouldn’t you just love to have some great comfort food like your mom (never) made, a drink or two and then tuck into a perfectly nice room after a long drive. Well, this is your place!
You also can get a voucher for $20 for breakfast with your room and have a real restaurant breakfast.
The Holiday Inn is well, the Holiday Inn. But it looks brand spanking new and more upscale than I expected. A solid 4 star in my books.
Tips: GPS-es go crazy here in the Shenandoah mountain area—make sure you have an old school map! If time permits, take a drive or hike through the mountains, it’s just gorgeous.
Another alternate hotel suggestion for this area is to drive another 21 miles or so to the George Washington Hotel in downtown Winchester for authentic southern historic vibe in the beautiful downtown area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank My-name-is-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your comments about the Holiday Inn and about Houlihans. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with us, especially regarding your GPS troubles. Let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Between the two of us we had: dinner: meatloaf and a salad with chicken and fruit in it, 2 beers and a skinny margarita, breakfast: a low carb 3 egg bacon & cheese omelet and a Houlihan omelet. It was all very good.

Thank TakeAPicture-PaintIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. We hope to earn your business as a loyal customer. Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn next door and decided to try breakfast at Houlihan's. I had a bad experience with the Houlihan's (dinner was anything but blah) in our neck of the woods so I was pretty wary on having breakfast there. Thought I would give this chain restaurant another chance since my second choice was the Mickie D's down the street.

We were greeted with a friendly hello and seated quickly. Had the most friendliest and most awesome waiter assigned to our table. I forgot his name but he had cool tats on his forearms and always checked on us.

Breakfast was good, in fact I overate where I skipped lunch. Yes, they serve alot of food. I had some egg whites, breakfast potatoes, toast and bacon extra crispy. Coffee was real good, waiter offered a to go cup while we waited for the check.

Check it out here, it's really good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Akiko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for supporting the Holiday Inn and Houlihan's with your patronage. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Accessible from the Holiday Inn lobby. Greeted and seated quickly. Server prompt and friendly. The martini flight is good to share. Dinner was tasty and well presented. Good portions. Not a fancy place, casual and comfortable.

Thank NikonGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to share a few words about your experiences. Thank you, as well, for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The service was very good and the food was prepared nicely and very tasty The prices are good The menu has good selections. Would like to see different type of appetizers,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thanks for sharing your birthday with us. Hopefully you choose to dine with us again and not just on your next birthday. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing