We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK if you don't want to leave the Holiday Inn for a meal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Front Royal
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK if you don't want to leave the Holiday Inn for a meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ate here with a buddy on a motorcycle trip to the Blue Ridge Parkway. We thought rain was coming, so we decided not to leave the hotel for supper. Food quality was OK, not memorable. Service was a little slow. Probably we would eat here again under the same conditions. Otherwise we would go out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RalphDSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoulihansFrontRoyal, General Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
RalphDSherman,

Thank you for your recent review of Houlihan’s Restaurant + Bar. Here at Houlihan’s we take pride in our casual relaxed atmosphere and scratch cooking. We believe that this is what sets us apart from the rest. I would encourage you to try us again next time you’re in town. Safe riding, we look forward to seeing you again.

Edward Katona
GM Houlihan’s Restaurant + Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    87
    53
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall a very nice place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is very nice. Not as noisy as a lot of places. From order to table is a little on the slow side but The food here is consistently good so we will continue to eat here.

Helpful?
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoulihansFrontRoyal, General Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Phillip H

Thank you for your review and most recent visit to Houlihan’s of Front Royal. We pride ourselves in our scratch cooking, attentive service, and enjoyable atmosphere. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experiences with us, and we look forward to bringing you many more.

Edward Katona
GM Houlihan’s Restaurant + Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast here. Very pleasantly surprised how good the food was for a hotel chain. Got the signature omelet and a side of sausage gravy, which was excellent. Enough food for 2 for 13 dollars. Included a carafe of coffee for free. Service was also very good will definitely be back.

Highly recommend the hotel as well.

Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoulihansFrontRoyal, General Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Marc L

Thank you for taking the time to review Houlihan’s of Front Royal. It was great to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by your recent experience at breakfast. We pride ourselves in our scratch cooking here at Houlihan’s. We might be a chain, but we believe in going the extra mile and preparing your meal right here in our kitchens. Thank you for dining with us and we look forward to seeing you at your next visit.

Edward Katona
GM Houlihan’s Restaurant + Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“American Pie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Houlihan's is part of the Holiday Inn and serves tasty American food. The service is good and the decor pleasant. I would go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginialea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Virginialea

Thank you for your recent review of Houlihan’s of Front Royal. I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your recent visit to our restaurant. We at Houlihan’s take great pride in our scratch cooking and excellent customer service. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Thank you one again,
Edward Katona
Manager
Houlihan’s Restaurant + Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Kind of Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I ate at Houlihan's as a guest at the attached Holiday Inn. Breakfast had standard items, and I was appreciative for some of the healthier choices, like yogurt, fruit, and oatmeal. Dinner was far from spectacular. I ordered the pot roast, which was incredibly salty. None of the meals my coworkers ordered looked or tasted that special either. Prices were average for the portion size.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank stirfry300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Houlihan’s of Front Royal. I was disappointed to hear that you did not have an outstanding visit with us. I believe that our scratch cooking, large portions and attentive service separates us from other restaurants. I would encourage you to try us again next time you are in town.

Edward Katona
Manager Houlihans Restaurant + Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 
Front Royal, VA
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing