We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where's the tomato?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of South Street Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
South Street Grill
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Description: Has been open for a while and a legend among AT through hikers. It is a store-front restaurant with a 50's diner theme.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Where's the tomato?”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I have been a long time customer at South Street Grill, but I think the quality of the food and service has declined in the past few years. On a recent visit, after having our orders messed up, I received a BLT which had ice cold bacon and a slice of tomato so thin that your could read through it. South Street is still inexpensive and diner style food, but I'm not sure it is nearly the value that it once was.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strasburg, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent soft ice cream and shakes”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Have eaten there a couple of times and came away satisfied. Food was good and reasonably priced. Very interesting decor, traveling back in time to the Elvis years. Can get excellent ice cream and shakes when the caboose type vendors are closed during the colder months.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spydrweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always have had friendly service!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have been in here multiple times for breakfast and lunch. There breakfast is a good deal and you get plenty of food, coffee is good and the staff has always been friendly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelanieJC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch on the Run”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We were looking for a place to have a quick bite for lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed the South Street Grill which has a 50's decor. The homemade chicken salad was excellent, as was the club sandwich. An enjoyable place to eat with good service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Navigator45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ordering for delivery”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We ordered South Street Grill for work and had it delivered. The food was delicious and arrived in a timely manner but while we were ordering the woman who answered the phone was in a hurry and was completely rude and asked for us to hurry up with our order so she could go wait tables. Then in the middle of ordering she asked if she could call us back. If it wasn't for ordering for a few people at work we would've cancelled our whole order. Now we know not to give them our business anymore.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Racetrack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Street Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing