We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but...”

Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Playing here, our customers know they will receive one of the best possible golfing experiences available. This is due to our attentive staff and the systems we have in place to provide excellent customer service at every opportunity. From the Bag drop, to the First Tee, to the maintenance crewmember, to the General Manager, to the grill attendant, the focus of our staff is to serve the customer and help them enjoy our facilities to the fullest, so they will tell their friends and want to return time and time again. Thoroughly renowned for the service we provide, outing coordinators and event planners will constantly seek us out. We will dazzle them with our attentiveness and concern for the success of their events. Coming to our club will be a sensation that their attendees will talk about for years to come. Designed by Tom Clark, Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club opened in March 2007 to rave reviews by Regional and National Golf Publications. Golf Digest Magazine ranked us #6 “Best New Affordable Public Courses” in 2007, and the Washington Post named us a ‘Natural Treasure’. In 2010 and 2011, Blue Ridge Shadows was ranked #4 Best Courses you can Play in Virginia by Golfweek Magazine and ranked #32 ‘Women-friendly courses in America’ by Golf Digest Woman Magazine!
Waynesboro, Virginia, United States
1 review
“OK but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Drove up from Stuarts Draft, VA and the greens had very recently been aerified. Obviously that has to happen a couple of times a year but a mention of it on the website or from the staff who took my tee time would have been polite. Nothing more frustrating than driving an hour and half to play freshly aerified greens. The starter was a little long winded on instructions before we were allowed to go to the1st tee. On the 15th tee the same starter drove up and in a very accusing tone asked us where we came from. I immediately knew that he thought we just jumped in a cart and took off without paying and after deciding not to use any of the five smart aleck comments that popped into my head I told him again that we came from Stuarts Draft, VA. It then took him some time to find my signature on the cart sheet. He didnt apologize. 2 minutes later in the 15th fairway he asked us, again with a tone of accusation in his voice, why we were only on hole 15 after teeing off at noon. I advised him that we had watched the group in front of us tee off on every single hole and again felt like I needed to convince him that we were not the hold up and why bother worrying about it anyway on hole 15. If he were really concerned he would have been out on the front nine to take care of it. We played in 4 hours and 50 minutes. Wow! I'm sure its a decent course when the greens are smooth and the starter has a chance to organize his sign in sheet and his thoughts but I don't think I'll make the drive to find out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRidgeShadows, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Chris D: We are truly sorry you didn't enjoy your round with us. No one likes surprises, and we make an effort to inform guests of aerification or other course maintenance that may impact the course playability. Obviously this did not happen in your case, and we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that our customers are informed when they can expect recovery or unusual conditions. Regarding your difficulty with our starter or player assistant, it appears as though we did not meet your expectations in that regard as well. We take pride in our staff and their friendliness, and I will take your experience as a teachable moment as we re-emphasize our need to provide excellent and friendly customer service to all guests.
Please consider returning to play our course again in the near future and give us another chance to earn your business.

Regards, Mike.... GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad decision to change routing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Did a return visit there this past fall, after first playing it a while ago. I was disappointed to see that the achitect's original course routing has been changed.

The course used to finish on a challenging and interesting par 5 hole, now it finishes on a an uninteresting short layup par 4 hole. Disappointing to finish a match play on a mid-iron/wedge hole. I guess they wanted to finish on a hole with a fake waterfall behind the green. Lame...

Other than that, the course is interesting and well-conditioned.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bud t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRidgeShadows, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your comments about Blue Ridge Shadows and your thoughts on our routing change. I agree that the original design finishing on the original 18th hole (now the 14th) was a much stronger finishing hole for the better player. That being said, our reasoning behind the change was twofold. The first was that changing the routing improved the pace of play. Golfers would make the turn, play 10-13 and then have to face the uphill, into the wind, forced carry par-3 14th hole. Quite honestly, on busy days we would have two or three groups waiting to play the 14th. By making the 10th the par-3, we solved the pace of play problem, making rounds of golf faster, thus more enjoyable. The second was that the original 18th hole had a blind hazard off of the tee (since renovated) that swallowed a perfectly struck drive. Our most frequent comment from golfers playing the course for the first time was, 'Love the Course, Hate #18'. Players would hit a perfect drive over the bunker and find their ball in a hazard that they couldn't see from the tee. We have made that hole much more playable by converting nearly 40 yards of hazard into fairway. All that being said, we are happy with our decision primarily because the pace of play is so much better.
The next time you want to visit Blue Ridge Shadows let us know! We'll either let you play the original routing or move the tees up on #18, making it the ultimate drive-able risk-reward Par -4!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Totally worth the drive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We live outside DC in Maryland so this is day trip golf, but we enjoyed the fall colors and took it as an adventure. Great day! The staff could not be nicer food in the clubhouse was made to order. There is a balcony overlooking the course to eat on and everything seems new and fresh. The course is a challenge with ton of elevation changes and perfect greens. I would recommend this course to anyone from the DC metro area that wants a change of pace and scenery. Extremely convenient as it is only about 2 miles off of I 66. Again I should say the good experience was made great by a staff that could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. Great course, great staff, great day!

Helpful?
Thank Avidbadgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRidgeShadows, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. The staff at Blue Ridge Shadows wishes all golfers could come and enjoy all we have to offer. We pride ourselves in offering a wonderful golf course, always in superb condition and a friendly staff. The next time you want to visit us, consider an overnight or weekend package at our award-winning Holiday Inn & Suites hotel, located right on the 16th hole. Happy Golfing, and come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit of a drive but worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We live outside of Washington DC in Maryland, so this was a road trip golf day and totally worth it. Enjoy the drive and the fall colors and you will be greeted by the friendliest staff we may have ever met. From the Starter to the cooks everyone wanted to talk. We got there at 11:00am so the morning groups had gone out the starter was fine with us going out early or having lunch first. Made to order sandwiches on a balcony looking over the 18th and we got started. Great course perfect greens and great to sightlines. Challenging elevation changes

Helpful?
Thank Avidbadgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRidgeShadows, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you! We try very hard to provide great service. One of the great things about Blue Ridge Shadows is the view that you have of the mountains from virtually everywhere on the course. Our wrap-around clubhouse features outdoor dining overlooking the waterfall and 18th green. Try our home-made, house smoked pork bbq or beef brisket on your next trip. It is delicious! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Great Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had our daughters wedding on the 18th of Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club. Mike is the ultimate general manager and club pro. His assistant pros Angela and James were unbelievable in accommodating our every request and needs. It was a perfect day. The golf cart parade of bridesmaids and groomsmen made it perfect. The ceremony with the waterfall in the background was unbelievable. Cannot say enough good things about the staff and the facility.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron_Deb_Myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRidgeShadows, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words. For a special occasion such as a wedding ceremony, reception or rehearsal dinner, we try and exceed expectations to make the day perfect. The scenery here 'In the Shadows' is spectacular, and our staff enjoys making dreams come true. Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing