We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path”

L Dee's Pancake House
Ranked #7 of 87 Restaurants in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Family-owned and operated for over 25 years. Serving breakfast all day. Daily Breakfast and Lunch Specials. Take out orders available. Homemade Desserts, Soups, Greek Items, pancakes, waffles, French Toast, Omelettes, Sausage Gravy, Burgers, Sandwiches, Salads. No Credit Cards or Debit Cards accepted. An ATM is available on site.
north carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We dined here for breakfast with two other couples on 7/7. Found the place on our phone app after a gas stop. Based on the mostly great reviews, we tried it and we weren't disappointed. Small town quaintness, kinda what we expected. Staff was friendly and service was prompt. Prices were a pleasant surprise after being in DC for the weekend. There was a nice selection of pancakes,omelets,etc. Food tasted great, was hot and plentiful, especially for the price. Yes they only take cash, this is not a chain! Yes it is a bit dated, but it was clean. No big deal on either account. Give it a shot, you might be surprised and you'll help the local economy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madhungarian_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peotone, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Bring cash and enjoy”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great small town diner with great service. Breakfast was served promptly and priced very reasonably. Much better than any chain restaurant. Worth the drive off the interstate. Breakfast and lunch only. No credit/debit cards.

Helpful?
Thank empjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outdated”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For a pancake house...let's spruce up and have a variety like other pancake places. Maybe a banana nut or similiar. They don't accept CC or Debit. This is set for the locals and older generation. If your passing thru...keep driving...I'm local and I wasn't impressed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAMMY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvgreece, Owner at L Dee's Pancake House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I wanted to clarify that we offer over 12 varieties of pancakes and waffles, including Banana nut.

We hope you will come back to try some of our various offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What's all the buzz”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The place is ok, but the price is too much for your experience. Bring cash to pay and to get money from the ATM as well. That fee is a tip in itself, (5.00). They do not accept credit nor debit cards. The atmosphere is busy, but the surroundings need upgraded. You would think that as long as they have been around, they would change it somewhat. You also need to be aware of the restaurant's availability, they have odd hours.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvgreece, Owner at L Dee's Pancake House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant. I just wanted to clarify that the ATM usage fee is $1.50, not $5.00.

Regarding our business hours, we serve breakfast and lunch from 6am-2pm Monday-Saturday. 7am-1pm on Sunday. We are closed on Tuesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food but cash only!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

There were a lot of us having breakfast and my veggie omelet was very good and everyone else enjoyed their food. To our surprise they do not take debit or credit cards but they do have an ATM machine inside. The bad thing is it cost each about $5.00 to use the ATM so just remember to bring cash with you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvgreece, Owner at L Dee's Pancake House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and hope you will return again. Just a clarification on the ATM fee--The fee is $1.50 for our on-site ATM, not $5.00 as stated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L Dee's Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to L Dee's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing