We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint...older facility but very clean!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Front Royal, Va
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The room wasn't huge or fancy, but it was comfortable enough; both my husband and I rested well. It's very evident that the facility is old, but they seem to have made every effort to make it clean and comfortable. The room & bathroom were some of the cleanest of any hotel/motel I've ever stayed in. The staff was very friendly. The pool was clean and refreshing! It was very convenient to Skyline Caverns and scenic mountain drives. The breakfast was the biggest detractor as it was woefully inadequate. But, all in all, we'd gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gapeach5287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Like many others here, we used this motel as a starting point for hiking. While I found no faults with the motel, I will likely try a different place next time, just to check out the competition.

The motel is a conversion of a '50s motel, with a second floor added. You can see the original look on the vintage advertising postcards they give away at the desk. We paid about $60 for a room on the second floor, in a little hallway off the lobby. I'd be interested to see what the first floor is like. Second floor was typically flimsy new construction, plywood floors and drywall. Our room was modestly sized, but had a little 'kitchen' area with a sink, fridge, microwave and even a few dishes. There was a smaller TV mounted on the wall. The room and bed were clean. The bathroom was clean, and hot water was good.

The room was quiet at night, since the motel is well up the hill from the road. There was a lot of light coming in under the door from the hallway, and they should probably put some weatherstripping on the bottom, since the gap is about 2 inches. We eventually threw one of our jackets on the floor in front of it. There was a 'breakfast' of sorts on offer in the morning, but you are minutes away from town, and we found a friendly old cafe with cheap and hearty food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadtripperMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I visit SNP at least twice a year (Spring & Fall) and usually stay at the Quality Inn, which we were not at all happy with on our last stay (Sept. 2011) ~ We decided to give the Cool Harbor Motel a shot and glad we did. The staff were extremely helpful and didn't mind at all when we asked to see the room before booking, the room #222, was small but very and I mean very clean and comfortable. Our room appeared to have been recently renovated with new carpet, new furniture, new linen, curtains and bathroom. The room was tastefully decorated with a nice size fridge and microwave. The only draw backs were you could hear the road traffic even with being closed up.(Police cars w/sirens on two or three times) and the breakfast was kinda shabby. All in all, we will definately stay at the Cool Harbor again. Thanks for making our trip to SNP so enjoyable..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We used this as our jumping off point for a trip down Skyline and the Blue Ridge parkway. The motel was perfectly nice, but nothing special. The room seemed clean, but dated. Definitely worth heading to Main St to eat, rather than taking the recommendation from the lady behind the desk though. It's only a 5 minute drive, and there's much more to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LucyAakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Our experience was a nice one. The room was clean, the lobby is relaxing and nice. There's a decent sized refrigerator, a microwave, coffee maker and nice countertop area. There was no clock radio, but you can probably use your cell phone, or maybe ask for a wakeup call if need be. We didn't go to the continental breakfast, so we can't comment on that. The room itself had pretty nice furniture, especially for a place with modest rates. The only thing I wished was that the TV had more channels, but actually, there's a LOT to do around here (shopping, restaurants, video stores if you have a puter that plays DVDs, etc.) and you're very close to Skyline Drive and Shenendoah National Park, and many other places to go and things to do, so you really don't notice it that much...and if you're a sports fan, they have all 3 ESPN stations. Also, although the motel has nothing to do with this, as they were all VERY nice to us, be careful driving locally around here...because most of it is 25 mph and there are speed traps...ESPECIALLY, it seems, if you have "Yankee" plates.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor level facing west has nice views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rock G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We arrived late at Dulles in the rain and this place was convenient before heading for the Blue Ridge Mountains. Reception staff were helpful and kind and the room was clean and adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemaryWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Nice place to spend the night before drivingthe Skyline Drive. Rooms are small but neat & clean. Fridge and coffee maker in room. Right around the corner from the the Royal Oak tavern which had a nice dinner at a great price. Excellent value to price ratio. Not the Ritz, but your not paying for that.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
329 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
874 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#5 of 10 in Front Royal
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 10 in Front Royal
8 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
9.1 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Front Royal, Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Front Royal, Va

Address: 141 West 15th St, Front Royal, VA 22630 (Formerly Cool Harbor Motel)
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range: £46 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Front Royal, Va 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Front Royal, Va reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cool Harbor Hotel Front Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing