We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Harbor Motel”
Review of Cool Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cool Harbor Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Ashburn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool Harbor Motel”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The motel is not fancy or elegant, but neither is the town :-) The front desk clerk was friendly. The room was very clean and well maintained, and included a small frig and microwave. The bed was comfortable and the heat/AC unit worked without problems. The continental breakfast was sparse but adequate. The price was very fair. The motel was exactly what I was looking for, a nice place for a one night stay before I hit Skyline Drive. I would definitely come back and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
15
38
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The room is one of the smallest I have ever had so far. There is a door between my room and my neighbor's. I could not watch TV in my room and I could not talk to my spouse with normal voice in the room either, because I was afraid of affecting others' rest. The free breakfast starts at 7:00 am, it is too late for most travelers. The hotel says that they provide a safe in a room, yes, there is one which is just like a small trash can with a lock. On the internet people state that this hotel is pretty clean, I don't agree with them completely. I am sorry but that was what I felt.
The price of the hotel is great, and the location of it is nice too. It is a good choice for people to visit Washington D.C. By staying in this hotel you will save some money and it is just one hour driving to Washington DC.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The room wasn't huge or fancy, but it was comfortable enough; both my husband and I rested well. It's very evident that the facility is old, but they seem to have made every effort to make it clean and comfortable. The room & bathroom were some of the cleanest of any hotel/motel I've ever stayed in. The staff was very friendly. The pool was clean and refreshing! It was very convenient to Skyline Caverns and scenic mountain drives. The breakfast was the biggest detractor as it was woefully inadequate. But, all in all, we'd gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gapeach5287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Like many others here, we used this motel as a starting point for hiking. While I found no faults with the motel, I will likely try a different place next time, just to check out the competition.

The motel is a conversion of a '50s motel, with a second floor added. You can see the original look on the vintage advertising postcards they give away at the desk. We paid about $60 for a room on the second floor, in a little hallway off the lobby. I'd be interested to see what the first floor is like. Second floor was typically flimsy new construction, plywood floors and drywall. Our room was modestly sized, but had a little 'kitchen' area with a sink, fridge, microwave and even a few dishes. There was a smaller TV mounted on the wall. The room and bed were clean. The bathroom was clean, and hot water was good.

The room was quiet at night, since the motel is well up the hill from the road. There was a lot of light coming in under the door from the hallway, and they should probably put some weatherstripping on the bottom, since the gap is about 2 inches. We eventually threw one of our jackets on the floor in front of it. There was a 'breakfast' of sorts on offer in the morning, but you are minutes away from town, and we found a friendly old cafe with cheap and hearty food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripperMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I visit SNP at least twice a year (Spring & Fall) and usually stay at the Quality Inn, which we were not at all happy with on our last stay (Sept. 2011) ~ We decided to give the Cool Harbor Motel a shot and glad we did. The staff were extremely helpful and didn't mind at all when we asked to see the room before booking, the room #222, was small but very and I mean very clean and comfortable. Our room appeared to have been recently renovated with new carpet, new furniture, new linen, curtains and bathroom. The room was tastefully decorated with a nice size fridge and microwave. The only draw backs were you could hear the road traffic even with being closed up.(Police cars w/sirens on two or three times) and the breakfast was kinda shabby. All in all, we will definately stay at the Cool Harbor again. Thanks for making our trip to SNP so enjoyable..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We used this as our jumping off point for a trip down Skyline and the Blue Ridge parkway. The motel was perfectly nice, but nothing special. The room seemed clean, but dated. Definitely worth heading to Main St to eat, rather than taking the recommendation from the lady behind the desk though. It's only a 5 minute drive, and there's much more to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyAakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Our experience was a nice one. The room was clean, the lobby is relaxing and nice. There's a decent sized refrigerator, a microwave, coffee maker and nice countertop area. There was no clock radio, but you can probably use your cell phone, or maybe ask for a wakeup call if need be. We didn't go to the continental breakfast, so we can't comment on that. The room itself had pretty nice furniture, especially for a place with modest rates. The only thing I wished was that the TV had more channels, but actually, there's a LOT to do around here (shopping, restaurants, video stores if you have a puter that plays DVDs, etc.) and you're very close to Skyline Drive and Shenendoah National Park, and many other places to go and things to do, so you really don't notice it that much...and if you're a sports fan, they have all 3 ESPN stations. Also, although the motel has nothing to do with this, as they were all VERY nice to us, be careful driving locally around here...because most of it is 25 mph and there are speed traps...ESPECIALLY, it seems, if you have "Yankee" plates.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor level facing west has nice views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rock G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#3 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
0.0 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#5 of 9 in Front Royal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cool Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cool Harbor Motel

Property: Cool Harbor Motel
Address: 141 West 15th St, Front Royal, VA 22630
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cool Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cool Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cool Harbor Hotel Front Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing