We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Dinner!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
Ranked #11 of 91 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Always have a a good dining experience at Bonefish-Gainesville. Food is always fresh, very appealing to the eye and good value for the dollar. Recent special of steak and lobster tail was outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    54
    20
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This used to be one of my favorite places, we decided to celebrate our anniversary and the service and food was not up to our past visits.
Very disappointing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Star M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dining & Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Every Bonefish Grill that we have tried has been very good. Our very favorite is in Gainesville, Virginia where both food and service are terrific. At our last visit the special menu included pompano, a favorite fish which we usually only find in Florida. The appetizers and the sides are always good and Bonefish is quite flexible in making substitutions. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not much for Vegetarians...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

As the name would suggest, there is not much here for a vegetarian. I understand how some would say, "Why would a vegetarian ever got to a place called 'Bonefish" in the first place?" We go...not because we are hungry, but because we are invited out with friends! They made us the pasta and shrimp dish without the shrimp---but we payed for the shrimp anyway. That does not seem right. The service was very lack luster. It took 15 minutes to get a second glass of water. Alcoholic beverages were much much slower to arrive. Atmosphere is warm and inviting but I will only go back if we can't convince the group to try elsewhere. There are plenty of veggies on the menu. Why not put togther a veggie plate and charge accodingly?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justmemela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great appetizers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

we LOVED the shrimp appetizer...friendly service. We ordered drinks at the bar because we had to wait for a table...but not long wait at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexGainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

Gainesville, Prince William County
Gainesville, Prince William County
 
Gainesville, Prince William County
Gainesville, Prince William County
 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing