We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice get-away in the country”
Review of Hampton Inn Galax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Galax
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice get-away in the country”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Quality of this charming hotel is typical of Hampton Inn properties. This hotel was surrounded by private homes and and a farm (at least I saw two cows out of my window in the fields). There was a strip mall nearby and several good restaurants--I recommend Bogeys!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 738hectori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    74
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
139
162
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
South-Central Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We got a room on the fourth floor looking out at the mountains, simply gorgeous, a must for all to experience.
Nice security, once the sun completely set the outdoor lighting came on and it was as if it was daylight once again. Luckily, the curtains were room darkening.
The bed was very comfortable, we got caught up on some well deserving sleep. Overall everything is very convenient, calming, and quiet at this hotel, exactly everything you want for a normal hotel stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Marie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allardt, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel was very clean and it was a pleasure to stay here. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice sized and the beds were comfortable. This hotel comes with a hot breakfast and the food was good. We also liked the complimentary coffee, cookies, apples and bananas. The pool was nice and the hot tub was wonderful after a full day of riding bikes on the bike trails.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Freedom,PA
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Although we were grateful to get a last minute reservation, I'm not sure the hotel was worth the price. On the upside, the hotel was clean, the room fresh and the bed was comfortable with crisp linens. The bathroom was well designed and had the usual amenities. Unfortunately, the climate control was either too hot or too cold and when the unit cycled, it was extremely noisy and woke me up at least a half a dozen times during the night. It didn't make for a pleasant night sleep. My husband had problems with the wifi and upon inspection, the fitness center looked like it only had two treadmills and an elliptical. That was disappointing. Breakfast was okay and staff was friendly. Would plan ahead for next visit to area and shop for a better accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMarieF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We decided to stay here at the last minute. We did noot call ahead and make a reservation,but they were prepared for guests. They gave us a room, it was clean, smelled nice and very comfortable.The parking lot was well lit. the pool and hot tub were clean and had lots of towels ready for guests.Restaurants were close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms, good Wi-Fi, extremely friendly staff. Usual breakfast. This is the second year my brother and I have stayed here for the Old Time Fiddlers Convention, and it is a good base of operations. Very close to the southern terminus of the New River Trail, great for biking, and close to a big Walmart.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ORFdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
317 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Hampton Inns are wonderfully consistent in their design, services etc. This one is typical. Clean, affordable with good service. The staff was helpful in recommending restaurants and providing directions. The people in the breakfast service area did not fill up the fruit bowls, the waffle batter, the coffee urns etc. thirty minutes prior to closing. That is not right. If you announce that you are serving until ten then people should not have to "beg" for what you offer. I have no doubt that management told the staff to conserve food during the last half hour.

Room Tip: Try for a room halfway to the elevator and away from the parking lot side. Much more private and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.9 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Galax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Galax

Property: Hampton Inn Galax
Address: 205 Cranberry Rd, Galax, VA 24333-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Galax 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Galax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Galax Hotel Galax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing