We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time @ An Applebee's”
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #32 of 45 Restaurants in Galax
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Time @ An Applebee's”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Pretty good service and had the special steak with mushrooms. Stuck with iced tea as wine list leaves too much to be desired. Not my kind of restaurant, and there are better chains. Several other better non-chain choices located in Galax

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Southerngent67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    10
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GALAX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Have stayed away for 5 years”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

After staying away for 5 year thought I would try lunch today. Mistake. Had to wait to be seated as the server was busy texting. While being seated there was something on the table so the server take her hand and swipes it off. We moved ??? Not sure if table was clean. Service was slow, not very busy either. Food arrive and was fine (typical Appleby). If it had been a work day for us, it would not be possible to eat and return to work, timely.

Needless to say we won't return soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainfolks24333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dugspur, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Applebee's thank you to our veterans”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was a Veterans Day visit to Applebee's. There was a short wait and we opted for a seat at the bar. The bartender was our server and was busy with the full house. She did provide attentive and prompt service.
The veterans menu was limited but I found the fiesta lime chicken to be excellent. The lime sauce was zesty as advertised The chicken was topped with cheese and ample portion size. Seasoned rice and pico de gallo nice additions to the entrée.
My partner enjoyed the blackened tilapia accompanied by red potatoes and seasonal veggies. Well prepared visually and seasoned with spices but not overdone.
Beer selection mostly domestics but enjoyed a Vienna Lager from Devils Backbone.
Overall this was a good experience and worth a return visit.
Many thanks to Applebee's for taking the effort to recognize Veterans each year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Applebee's Hillsville, VA”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Food sreved hot and inviting. Atmosphere excellent. Our server Amber was great. She had great one liners and kept with our drinks. A bad storm was taking place and the power wnet off several times but the staff continued with excellent service..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsville, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not as good as most”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This Applebees is always clean and the people are very friendly, but the cooks are not that good. Steaks come out not prepared right and taste horrible. Unfortunately this is the only restaurant like this in that area so I doubt they will do much to change despite the complaints.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing