We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay at The Doctor's Inn.”
Review of The Doctor's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Doctor's Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We planned a last minute trip to the Galax area to visit family over the holidays, and decided to combine the visit with a mini vacation by staying overnight and seeing some of the area. We chose The Doctor's Inn based on other reviews here. It was an excellent choice.

On arrival, we were greeted by Margo, who showed us around and described the property's amenities. We had reserved the Stamey room, located on the main floor, and everything in the room was perfect. The house was festive for Christmas, with a combination of antique and tastefully eclectic decorations in the common areas. The weather was too cool to enjoy the front porch, but this house does have one of the best and biggest porches I have ever seen.

There were fresh cookies, and coffee/tea available in the common area. The breakfast was outstanding. We were served fresh coffee, quiche, crisp bacon, a scone, and a delicious fruit smoothie.

This is first of all, a beautiful house. It is well-maintained. It is clean. It contains some very nice furnishings. And second, it is well managed. They obviously work very hard to assure a good experience by their guests.

In summary, we were quite pleased with our stay at The Doctor's Inn.

Room Tip: The Stamey room is on the main floor should you have any difficulty navigating the beautiful stairwa...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phonebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for The Doctor's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stopped off at The Doctor's Inn on a road trip from Asheville to Waynesboro along the Blue Ridge Parkway. We had a warm welcome from Margot and were shown to our room. We had booked the Stamey Room on the ground floor and I knew there was a separate though private bathroom. On reflection, I wish I had booked an en-suite. The bedroom was attractively done and was very quiet and well equipped. There was some external noise as the air conditioning/heating unit is situated outside the window. It wasn't a problem for us as it cut in and switched off at various intervals but I am not sure if it would be constantly on during the heat of the summer or cold of the winter.
We enjoyed sitting on the porch with a glass of wine, it really is an attractive feature of the property. Only two rooms were occupied the night we were there so in effect we had it to ourselves. Margot kindly offered us some pretzels to accompany our wine.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the facilities were very clean and there were lots of little extras in the bathroom.
Galax was relatively attractive and interesting but it was a challenge finding somewhere that served a glass of wine. We eventually settled on what seemed like the only option, Macado's, and we returned there for dinner as we didn't want to drive. It was in effect a burger joint but it had some atmosphere and the bar staff were very pleasant.
Breakfast at the Doctor's Inn offered no choice but Margot made a delicious smoothy and had cooked a quiche, bacon and potatoes. I enjoyed it, my wife didn't and the addition of some cereals would have been appreciated.
All in all, this was a very pleasant stop off along the Blue Ridge Parkway and offered a personal touch and insight into small town America in the State of Virginia.

Room Tip: A room with an en suite is preferable but the Stamey Room was very nice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our stay at the Doctors' Inn turned out to be an unexpected highlight of our 2 week road trip round Virginia and North Carolina. It was perfect in every way. Every detail had been carefully considered right down to the luggage ramp from the parking area to the side of the inn. Every need had been catered for. The rooms and bathrooms were individually decorated in sumptuous materials and items that had been clearly personal to the doctors from whom it takes its name. The breakfasts were excellent and served in a beautiful dining room with a splendid chandelier hanging over the table. Margo the manager provided a perfect service from excellent cooking skills to a full round up of where we could find local music. We'd chosen to stay in the city of Galax by chance as representative of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We loved it here and were disappointed at having to leave after 3 days. Do visit Barr's Fiddle Shop for a remarkable history of bluegrass music, the excellent book shop, the expanding arts centre and the stunning New River Trail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We loved everything about this B&B that is in a small town that was just a necessary stop on the way for our trip to northern Maine from GA! The porch was a great place to relax and read, but the breakfast was also a favorite and we were able to meet other interesting couples that morning. The first floor room really appealed to us and it was absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We loved the first floor Stamey Room!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

What a wonderful experience in such a small town. Everything was perfect! We could not have ask for anything more except for a few more days at this exceptional inn.
From the time Margo met us at the front door upon arriving before our scheduled time, to pointing us in the right direction for dinner and hugging us goodbye upon departure, we felt as if we were in our own home with family. She made us feel so welcome.
Sitting on the front porch having coffee while the aroma of a fantastic breakfast trickled out the door, it was a perfect send off. Thank you Doctors's Inn. You should be proud.
Tucker & Sharon Aguirre, Fernandina Beach, FL

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred C. "Tucker... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Dr's Inn Bed and breakfast is not only beautiful, but it has a very interesting history, as well. Margot, the manager, welcomed us with all the southern hospitality you could ask for. The front veranda makes a great place to sit, and even has a porch swing. The rooms are beautiful, furnished with unique and lovely items from the Dr's travels. The bed and linens were wonderful. And breakfast was just plain delicious. Coffee and other treats were available all day. The hardest part was to tear ourselves away when it was time to leave.

Room Tip: Both the Bolen and the Stamey rooms are nicely located kind of off in their own corner, one above t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randisue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were lucky to get a reservation during the Fiddler's Convention and were really impressed with Doctors bed and breakfast. Rooms were large, charming and well appointed. The food was delicious and Margo (the innkeeper) was delightful and everything a great innkeeper should be.
Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: all the rooms were excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
530 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
440 reviews
22.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
67 reviews
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's Inn

Address: 406 W Stuart Dr, Galax, VA 24333-2736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price Range: £112 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Doctor's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, The Doctor's Inn is the first Bed & Breakfast in downtown Galax, Virginia. Walk to downtown shopping and eateries. The New River Bike trail is only a half mile away as well as Felts Park, home of the Old Time Fiddler's Convention (less than a mile). One visit at the Inn and you appreciate the "Elegant Simplicity Prescribed by the Doctor." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Doctor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing