We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galax
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fiddler's Roost Cabins
Ranked #2 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Celebrated our 23rd annivsary at Fiddlers Roost! Quiet, comfortable, clean with beautiful views of the mountains. Wonderful breakfast delivered each morning to our cabin Bearfoot. Hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Counts4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    14
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely, cozy cabin surrounded by trees. Very peaceful. Hot tub on the porch, kitchen just the right size and cute dishes (including wine glasses-wink). The cabin, and areas around the cabin were clean and well kept. The yard came with a grill, a fire pit ...and the most adorable, sweet kitten you have ever met. She was very sweet and well behaved and kept me company as I rocked on the porch. It was rainy the days I stayed there, but it was still beautiful- so I spent a lot of time in the rocking chair enjoying the view, listening to bird calls. A delicious breakfast was delivered around 9:00 each morning by Andy (owner) accompanied by Scooter his dog. Was sorry when it came time to go. The cabin I stayed in (#2 Wolf Ridge) would be great for a couple, but there are a number of family-sized cabins as well. Highly recommend this place to relax and enjoy the owners' hospitality.

Room Tip: Views of all the cabins are available on the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank on-the-go-gal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I visited for two nights recently to celebrate our 11th wedding anniversary. The cabins were well appointed, and offered seclusion and privacy along with modern conveniences. We loved our hot tub on the front deck and it was relaxing to drink a glass of wine and look at the view (stunning view of the mountains). The bed was extremely comfortable and the furnishings were nice - even some neat antiques in the bedroom. The kitchen was a little small - but perfect for just a couple of nights and limited cooking. If you are going and planning on making a complicated meal - maybe bring your own cooking implements/utensils. Most of all we absolutely loved our breakfasts - delivered to the front door each morning! Delicious gourmet items that were presented with care. We also loved our visits from the owners' pets - especially Scooter.

I might suggest taking pool/beach towels for your dips in the hot tub too since there are just bath towels.

Definitely think we would come back here. Nice place, good value and felt like we mattered.

Room Tip: We loved our view in Cabin 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricvagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

we were looking for a nice quiet getaway from our New Jersey hectic life. when we arrived, we were greeted with a hot tub that was ready for use and a lovely cabin. we were relaxed from the moment we arrived. the owners were very helpfull with all our needs. when we left we were more relaced than we have been in a long time. we had visitors all week long, they came and amused us at different times during the day, the owners adopted cats and dogs..lol, being empty nesters it made us feel like family was around. we are planing on going back again. best place to get away and relax.. cabin was clean, cabin area was clean, fire wood was around for fire pit. a/c kept us cool when it got too sticky. everything was really clean and comfortable.we stayed at vintage view and what a view it was..... thank you for a lovely time. see you soon! Hope & George

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we have stayed at many B&Bs, and this is one of our favorites. Each cabin has a lovely view. Several of the owner's dogs and cats-- all adopted strays--came by for short visits. Hot tub on the deck seemed small but actually was just right for the two of us, and very clean. Tiny kitchen just perfect for fixing a meal or two. Cabin design was cozy, all wood with exposed beams. Décor was cabin-y cute, not cluttered; sweet quilt on the log 4 poster bed. Very private down a gravel road, and the night time quiet as you sit on your covered porch watching the last rays of sun die out in the treetops--just lovely. About 15 minutes from Galax and 5 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Breakfast both mornings very good, though not piping hot. Great hiking nearby.

Room Tip: Cabins # 6 and 3 are more private with their own driveways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

this place was completely underwhelming.

Owners are completely nonexistent, dropped off breakfast and basically ran back to their vehicle. Breakfast itself was nothing special, quiche the first day was overcooked and dry and the pancakes the next day were not very much better.

The cabin had a layer of dust covering everything. The amenities in the cabin are the cheapest on everything. The bed was so soft that we may as well have been sleeping on a straw bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluefornoreason, Owner at Fiddler's Roost Cabins, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Please note...the couple that stayed with us wanted to depart a day early due to a "family emergency" and were disappointed that there were no refunds available...they had not one complaint while they were here of "dust, straw beds or bad breakfast" ... in fact, they chose to stay until breakfast was delivered the following day...hmmmm...thinking it may not have been all that awful :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhorn, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were looking for a different place in the mountains. We found it. Thought we were lost. Then we arrived. The owner showed us our cabin. It was miraculous. We asked if there was a restaurant. She said it was 15 miles away but she could cook us our dinner and deliver it with wine from her home 2 miles away. We agreed and were thrilled. The beef and salmon were to die for. Any scraps she said we could put outside for the dog who followed her to our cabin. The dog stayed and protected us on the porch. Need I say more. GO THERE. View over the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Room Tip: Can't choose wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrTedV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
515 reviews
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
430 reviews
8.0 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
236 reviews
13.3 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
137 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiddler's Roost Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddler's Roost Cabins

Property: Fiddler's Roost Cabins
Address: 485 Fishers Peak Road, Galax, VA 24333-4800
Region: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a log cabin village located on 25 beautiful acres along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Here you'll find eight private, each with hot tubs, comfortable and authentic log cabins, (3 Lofts & 4 Bungalows and the main lodge) each with gas fireplaces, full kitchens, outdoor grills and picnic tables, fresh linens and breakfast delivered each morning. Biking, hiking, canoeing, horseback riding and winery tours are just a few things the mountains have to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing