We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery - Great Location”

James River State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Gladstone
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery - Great Location”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was my second visit to James River State Park, friends and I enjoyed both the small cabin and the lodge (which sleeps 16) on separate occasions. All of the cabins/lodges are strategically placed to take advantange of the scenic vistas while maximizing the privacy of each property. Interiors were similarly appointed with comfortable seating, a great fireplace and a large table that equally accomodates meals and late night board game competitions. In addition to the outdoor activities available at the park, the location is convenient for day trips to view foliage, or visit several highly regarded breweries/restaurants. Definitely planning another stay. If you're glued to your TV this probably isn't the place for you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pogo408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Get-a-Way”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband, our two dogs and I stayed in cabin number three because all of the tent/camping sites were booked. The cabins are beautiful, clean and well worth it. The pictures you see on trip advisor are accurate. The only thing not mentioned, or I missed, was that the fire rings are not directly next to each cabin, but just across the "street". some might have them next to it. We canoed 8 miles, great fishing and the water is so clean. This year there was a problem with the grass in the water, hopefully it is gone next year. Second year there, and will be back next year.

Helpful?
6 Thank HeidiAnnDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Float Around”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Best place to float for a relaxing day. Nice views and great takeouts. Great for family day or friends. James river State Park is great place to camp after day on river. Kayaks, canoes and tubs available for rentals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect even if it did rain most of the trip!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We camped here Sunday thru Weds in early June. We tent camped in the electric loop and other then one or two other campers we had the park to ourselves! The park is a lovely place! We hiked most of the trails. Did the river tube trip offered at the park, that was alot of fun!
Park personel was VERY nice and the facilitys were the nicest and cleanest we have ever seen. Definatly plan on a return trip, and it was well worth the 5 hour drive from Maryland. It did rain a good bit and we had to throw a tarp over the tent but still had a good time. We drove around abit to the other towns and to walmart for supplies. There were trains that ride right next to the river at all times but its not annoying at all, not loud. Thats the only other sound we heard besides nature! Loved it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Corinne21629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Five-star state park; four-star vacation destination”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

If you enjoy the outdoors and are looking for solid accommodations, you will love James River State Park and have a five-star vacation. We stayed in the cabins with four adults and two small children. There was plenty of space, and the cabins were well apportioned. We did not have all the comforts of home, but we had everything we needed. And a gas grill.

The park itself offers a network of hiking trails that are well marked and easy to navigate. We had two good days of hiking before the rain came. We also used the park livery for canoes and kayaks. The short trip was a nice jaunt on the water and is suitable for younger children (8-10 years).

Park staff is very helpful. Remember to bring everything you need with you - cabin stays are made nicer by your own pillow and extra towels (why I said four-star vacation destination). Dogs are allowed and I had no issues with mine. Don't miss the Tye River overlook, though I enjoyed view from the kayak along the river banks just as much.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank zenCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James River State Park also viewed

 

Been to James River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing