We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good concept, poorly executed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Zionsville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good concept, poorly executed”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I would have given this hotel a 4-star rating had it not been for a number of issues. First and foremost, for our stay, only one of the two elevators were working. We were in town for a lacrosse tournament, and there was also a baseball tourney there. Lots of humanity for one elevator.
Hotel room couch had many stains. Front desk worker Gary was always disheveled, shirt wrinkled and untucked, making for a poor first impression on entering the hotel.
GPS took us to a side street entrance, which was really driving through a parking lot. There was a very small sign at the road, which was not visible at night when we arrived. Complementary continental breakfast was fine. Room size was great. Corner couch, swivel flat screen TV for viewing from couch or bed. Wet bar with refrigerator and sink, but no microwave. Desk with chair & desk lamp. Bathroom sink was in the room, not the bathroom. Large mirror and lots of counter space were pluses. Tiny space for tub / toilet area was a minus. Literally had to stand between tub and back of bathroom door to shut the door. Room AC worked fine, but it was so close to the one bed, I could not walk between the bed and window, and the Person sleeping in the bed near the window froze for the rest of the room to be comfortable.
Sadly, the hotel provides places to extinguish cigarettes and benches too close to the front entrance. There was no way to avoid walking through clouds of smoke, so that was disgusting. Actually, for the price we paid, I'm surprised I'm not giving a rating of two stars.
We did not visit the pool, work out facility, or business center.
Free wi-fi was a plus as my daughter had homework.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    110
    61
    31
    22
See reviews for
129
65
23
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My church family and I stayed overnight at this hotel while visiting King's Dominion. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly, and the pool was nice. They even let us use a conference room to hold a brief meeting on Sunday morning.

Note: If you don't like the free breakfast, the hotel is located in a round about that is within walking distance to a lot of restaurants and a shopping center.

Room Tip: Our room was on the end of the hall on the highest floor, the 7th, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for the Four Star review. I'm glad you and your church enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you visit.

Thank you,

-Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here while umpiring at Virginia Sports Complex. The hotel was easy to find. The staff was very friendly, the room was large and clean. The only slight negative is I felt like the breakfast wasn't quite as good as other places. Overall high quality for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpowla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for the Five Star review. Hopefully we will see you again next summer.

Thank you,

-Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent one night here while attending a family dinner at Hondo's, which is adjacent. It was a Saturday night, and we arrived at 3pm to find both of our rooms ready. Staff was both helpful and friendly.

The lobby and public areas were all clean, but only one of their two elevators was in operation. That led to some lengthy waits. Our room (510) was clean and prepared, but it looked as if some of the furniture was in need to refreshment. The toilet and shower area was quite small for the room size, and the air conditioner was a bit on the noisy side. Sleep quality was poor on a hard bed, and the TV had the Hyatt Place logo and info screen burned into the screen.

Room functionality was great, with both the bed and sofa bed. I was pleased that the hotel was fairly quiet, as there were a number of high school teams staying there during weekend lacrosse and baseball tournaments.

Unfortunately, those teams cleaned out the kitchen of breakfast by about 8am on Sunday morning. For part of our family that slept in just a bit, there was little left to eat, and they had to head out and purchase breakfast.

While I would probably stay here again, it would depend on price points. A little refreshing would go a long way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here from 06/29-07/01/14 on business. My husband traveled with me and it didn't cross my mind that he'd need somewhere to go on the day of checkout until 4pm. I was allowed to check out later than the normal time with no additional charges!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the Five Star review. And thank you very much for highlighting the efforts of Gwen and Martin.

Thank you,

-Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff was very accommodating and helpful.Even when the elevators weren't working they tried their best.The front desk staff were exceptional.Gwen Bailey and Martin King went above and beyond to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms here are very clean. So are the main areas. Breakfast was average, a few cooked sandwiches and the usual cereal options, yogurt options, etc.
The biggest pain about staying here was that we were on the 6th floor and the elevator was broken on the 6th floor. We didn't know this until we went to take down our luggage and started down the stairs with it all until a worker stopped us and told us we could call the desk and they'd send someone up since the elevator did work going up. We were wondering why they didn't tell us this at the desk when we checked in.,... We almost went through the hassle of lugging all of our stuff down 6 flights of stairs. Also, one of the only 2 ice machines, the one on our floor, was broken as well. Pool needed to be cleaned. Mainly all maintenance issues.
Other than that, the place was good. Average at best just because of the above issues... But service was good.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelbird4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Allen
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Innsbrook
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-West
Hampton Inn Richmond-West
#1 of 23 in Glen Allen
701 reviews
1.9 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 81 in Richmond
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Marriott Short Pump
Richmond Marriott Short Pump
#6 of 23 in Glen Allen
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond West End Short Pump
2.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook

Property: Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook
Address: 4100 Cox Rd, Glen Allen, VA 23060-3316
Region: United States > Virginia > Glen Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glen Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook Hotel Glen Allen
Glen Allen Hyatt
Hyatt Glen Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing