We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a clean room? Don't stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence
World Citizen
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Want a clean room? Don't stay here.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I travel a lot and I realize that sometimes you walk into a hotel room that is not quite up to par. When it happens I always remind myself of the number of times I have arrived early and the Front Desk has rushed a housekeeper to get me into a room. So, I am forgiving of the occasional less than perfect room. HOWEVER, this Courtyard locations pretty much crossed the line where I am willing to just chalk it up to something random happening.

I arrived about 9pm and open the door to the room. There is a wet mess on the floor and carpet where someone (the last guest) spilled a cup of coffee. On the wall it's dried a fairly dark brown color at this point. Ok, I think...maybe the housekeeper just didn't see it. How, I do not know but maybe she didn't.

I put my bags down and go into the bathroom. I look at the tub. It's not just dirty...it looks like it has not been scrubbed in months. Err...Ok. Then I look at the toilet. It's clean but the base is pretty much a funky mess. Is it clean, probably? Should it be cleaned better. Hell, yes. Maybe it needs to be re-caulked so it does not look like it's a dirty mess? Then, I wash my hands. Things start to go down hill fast... there are two short 'n curlies in the sink bowl. Ok, they will go down the sink when I wash my hands. No sweat! Then I go to grab a hand towel. On the hand towel is what looks like snot. It's not a clean but stained towel...it's dried snot or something else. Still, I am trying to give the housekeeper the benefit of the doubt at this point. I am thinking the head housekeeper should have checked this room better but maybe she missed it on her spot check?? Maybe she too is partially blind and is working hard to make ends meet. I want to let it slide and I do.

I finally make it to bed and then I pull back the covers and that's when I decided that this was my last stay at this Courtyard....EVER. This was one bridge too far. In the middle of the bed the sheets are dirty. So yea, these sheets were not changed when the last guests checked out. They had a great time "sleeping" in that bed. I did not.

There are 4 other hotels within a mile of this place. Stay there. This place is not worth the effort or the health risk.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets and cleaning supplies. Block out 30 mins to clean it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myvoiceofreason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    67
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
62
29
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Upon entering the hotel I thought this was going to be a great experience with all the updated decor , little did I know, I was in for a rude awakening. First when checking in Anna said that we would be charged 40$ for incidentals and second we made the reservation two days prior and ended up getting a handicapped accessible room with dirty carpet, stopped up bathtub, and an extra 190.00 $ hold which as we speak has not been released. In a nutshell dont book this hotel unless you really have extra money to put on hold for incidentals and you dont mind your bathtub being stopped up and you dont mind walking on dirty carpet... Oh and before you get there pack your own cleaning supplies, you will have to clean your room to get a GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP... Angry in NC

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kedagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

One of the better looking Courtyard Marriotts. Rooms were excellent, hotel layout has modern look throughout. Restaurant/Bar has adequate selection of items to order. The location is convenient to get to major highway, but far away enough so that noise (traffic) is not a factor. Plenty of restaurants and shops very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evmathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peabody, ma
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We were driving back from Florida and it was late. We saw a sign and checked to see if they had anything for the night. They did at almost half the cost of a competitor. This place was immaculate and there was a soccer tournament team there so they put us up on the 4th floor away from them. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have stayed at this Courtyard 30 nights over the past year, most recently in February 2013. The hotel is set up in the standard Courtyard layout, with the restaurant/bar in an open setting in the lobby and the standard Courtyard room. I thought the lobby and restaurant area was well maintained, and found the front desk staff and restaurant personnel to be better than average. The room cleanliness was acceptable, and the one issue I had (no iron in room) was attended to within 15 minutes.
The location of the hotel is convenient, with I-95 and I-295 extremely close, and is only 25 minutes from the airport. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to someone who needs to stay in the area and seeks the comfort of knowing what you will get from a Courtyard.

Room Tip: First floor has too much traffic. South facing rooms are partially shaded from lights by trees, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Marriott is our home away from home....We stayed at this particular Marriott Courtyard the weekend of college graduation for our daughter. It is conveniently located to several great restaurants in Glen Allen, is clean, comfortable and accommodating. The front desk staff were friendly and were able to answer several questions regarding the area for us.

We felt safe and secure as well as parking our car in the parking lot. It was well lighted and has a side door for entry with your access key. Rooms are beautifully furnished and the beds were clean and comfy. Thermostat worked, there was plenty of hot water and an ice machine right across the hall. This Marriott has a breakfast bar but we chose, instead to run thru a neighboring Starbucks. Great experience all round.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 11:00 pm after driving in from New York City only to be told that our room was not ready. It was being cleaned. At 11:00 pm at night? This hotel obviously has serious management and staffing problems and should be booked with caution. Better yet, go somewhere else. There was no manager on duty and the hotel was in chaos.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanderer22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glen Allen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Virginia Center
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Virginia Center
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Glen Allen
Comfort Suites Glen Allen
#7 of 23 in Glen Allen
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Virginia Crossings Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Glen Allen
Candlewood Suites Glen Allen
#10 of 23 in Glen Allen
81 reviews
7.2 mi away
Richmond Marriott Short Pump
Richmond Marriott Short Pump
#6 of 23 in Glen Allen
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen

Property: Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen
Address: 10077 Brook Rd, Glen Allen, VA 23059-6506
Region: United States > Virginia > Glen Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Glen Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Richmond North provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Glen Allen hotel's lobby features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news via our GoBoard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen Hotel Glen Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing