We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss....almost two stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Richmond Virginia Center
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Glen Allen
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Hit and miss....almost two stars”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Sorry Marriott, I hate to be mean but this place does not deliver. I stayed here for two nights and was thoroughly disappointed.

The beds are a travesty; it was like sleeping on a luxury dorm bed. I am glad you offer kings bit bigger is not better in this case. I was uncomfortable both nights and feel the beds are a big minus.


My second complaint was the cleanliness of the bathroom (see attached pic). There were long strands of women's hair (I am male with short hair traveling by myself) and I was grossed out (see pics). In addition, there was a brown substance on the wall near the toilet that I prayed was coffee splatter (you can imagine the alternative). Yikes!

Lastly, the ice machines in the entire hotel were broken or out of order. The folks were friendly and the tv was large but I am going back to Hyatt, which is more consistent.

I am being charitable with three stars!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    88
    56
    19
    23
See reviews for
124
32
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heavener, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Overnight business trip. Quick and efficient check in and check out. Extremely pleasant front desk staff. Loved the cookies and coffee/tea bar that was available. Very comfortable king bed with extra blanket not the closet that I loved since I prefer sleeping in a cold room with blankets. I appreciate the Paul Mitchell products that were in the room. Nice kitchenette area with clean microwave and refrigerator along with sealed paper plates and plastic utensils. In room coffee maker was great for the middle of the night. I loved the ceiling fan in the kitchenette area as well. A good sized desk with lamp for work and a comfortable love seat and television. The bathroom shower had strategically placed grab bars for safety. My room faced the highway and it was a little noisy but I turned on the bathroom fan which negated most of it. Only stayed one night and did not take advantage of the pool, but I plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in a King Suite using Marriot points. The bed was so hard it was like sleeping on a concrete slab. Didn't get much sleep from tossing and turning. Got up in the morning with a horrible back ache. The room was small, everything was clean. We didn't use the pool. The main problem was the horribly uncomfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoanokeShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Look, I’m a Marriott fan being a platinum member for life. So yes I’m biased. We stayed at this location years ago and it looks like it has been recently redone. It’s a perfect stop from our home in northern NJ to Hilton Head Island, SC.. almost exactly half way.

I was a bit concerned when we checked in with a very nice lady at the front desk, called NAVY, (pronounced NAVI) when I saw a boat load of HS girl’s volleyball players in the lobby. I thought oh no… a very loud night. We went to our room exhausted from the long drive and I must say except for some running in the hallway, which I think was from a group of boys also at the hotel, that everything went well and we slept soundly. As I mentioned, it looks like a recent remodel and the room was very nice and upscale. Location is a plus almost being at the intersections of interstates 95/64 and 295 but it was quite. Navy gave us a room facing away from Brock Road, a busy 6 lane highway in front of the hotel. Breakfast was a bit difficult when the entire volleyball team of maybe 30 girls showed up, most wearing super short shorts or PJ’s descended on the food like vultures. Overall, they were well behaved and it seemed that the chaperones were the noisiest of the group.

Would I stay here again? Yes.. Absolutely. Great hotel. Location and nice staff. Thanks Marriott, thanks navy!

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing Brock Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfnot1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for a business trip - hotel is located just off the interstate, but far enough to provide a quiet atmosphere. The room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. I arrived too late in the evening to take advantage of other hotel services, so I can't comment on them. Check in/out was efficient and easy. Booked this hotel though Marriott's website and was surprised the price was as good as it was. I will definitely stay here again if my travels take me to this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My family and I stayed at SpringHill Suites in Aug 2013. We were very pleased with our room and the cleanliness of the hotel. Although I didn't use the swimming pool, I will certainly bring my swim suit on my next visit to take advantage of this amenity. The exercise room was well kept and the equipment was more than adequate. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was more than we expected and the variety was wonderful. We were definitely well fed!! Shopping was within walking distance, as well as a variety of restaurants. I look forward to staying at SpringHill Suites in the near future and will recommend his hotel to my friends. I was thankful that they had elevator as we travelled with my elderly mother.

Room Tip: If travelling with an elderly person, request a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMP0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here while visiting family in the area. We had stayed here before and will continue to do so when in the area. The Front Desk personnel was great, room was fine, and the exercise room is very well maintained. Love the TV's on the equipment. Breakfast was super; my wife loves the waffles and I liked the large selection of cereals.
My only comment is that the Hot Tub could be a little less hot. It took a while to get used to and our grandson could not get in at all. Minor, but you may want to look into it.

Room Tip: Our room was not facing the highway, which I assume is the more quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glen Allen hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Crossings Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Glen Allen
Comfort Suites Glen Allen
#7 of 23 in Glen Allen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Virginia Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Glen Allen Inn
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Glen Allen
Candlewood Suites Glen Allen
#12 of 23 in Glen Allen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Richmond Virginia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Richmond Virginia Center

Property: SpringHill Suites Richmond Virginia Center
Address: 9701 Brook Rd, Glen Allen, VA 23059-4580
Region: United States > Virginia > Glen Allen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Glen Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Richmond Virginia Center 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lobby has been re-imagined that will allow you to discover a different kind of style and space. Located in suburban Glen Allen and just minutes to the West End business district, this incredible hotel puts you at the doorstep of everything Richmond has to offer. You'll find fresh, airy public spaces that will provide new areas for down time or time to meet up. Find what you need to stay on track utilizing the lobby computer and printer while the free Wi-Fi helps you stay connected. Start your day with our free hot breakfast and come home to our revived guest suites that give you more flexibility for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Richmond Virginia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Richmond Virginia Hotel Glen Allen
Springhill Suites Glen Allen
Glen Allen Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing