We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost better than ever”
Review of Hondos

Hondos
Reserve with OpenTable
Hondos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 166 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad St.
Description: Hondos is Richmond's prime destination for great steak. Hondos features a variety of perfectly aged cuts, broiled to your request and served sizzling. The menu features three different cuts of filet mignon, a cowboy rib-eye and a 24oz porterhouse. Hondos also specializes in fresh seafood with such favorites as jumbo lump (absolutely no-filler) crabcakes, South African lobster tails and a daily "fresh catch" to name a few. Whether a romantic evening for two or a business dinner, Hondos is sure to surpass your highest expectations in food and unparalleled service. Why not join us tonight?
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Almost better than ever”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Visited the "new" (since October 2012) Hondo's for the first time last night. Much larger, valet parking, the decor is a step up, and gthe food is still top notch. One small disappointment: The Hondo-theme art has mostly been relegated to the out of the way places where you don't see it while dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    21
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, RI
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Service was awful”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Went here on a Saturday at about 8:30 pm and it was not that busy. Sat at the bar and waited about 5 minutes for a menu. Ordered a glass of wine and was poured about a quarter of a glass and told that they would have to get another bottle (no big deal). 30 minutes later, no wine and nobody on staff would even look at me to take my food order. Ended up walking out so I'm not sure how good the food is. I do know that the average steak is around $40 from the menu but with so many choices in that area I would suggest going some place else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Take out for lunch”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I should have known better! I work in the area, wanted a good sandwich for lunch and thought I'd give Hundos a try again. It's located in the shops in an office park complex. So I call in my order prime rib steak sandwich, asked them to leave off some of the toppings and was looking forward to a juicy sandwich. What I had when I got back to work was dry over cooked prime rib on a bun, no sauteed onions, no hot au jus nothing. Clearly the ball got dropped somewhere - it was either written up wrong or the cook thought it's take out and it won't come back. So $11.50 for a sandwich that I am sitting here eating but not happy with, and kicking myself for going to such an expensive/pretencious place for a takeout lunch. I won't be going back not even to have a nice sit down relaxing meal .... if you can't get 1 order right then not likely in my mind to get any other order right.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis_Inc, Director of Sales at Hondos, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
HONDOS REPLY TAKE OUT
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor. We have tried several times to reach you to no avail. Please accept our most humble apologies if your order was not prepared just as you requested. We would like for all of our guests to know that our chef values take-out orders no less than orders placed when dining in. Each dish is given every consideration, regardless of the origin of order. It is never our intent to seem pretentious; we strive for a warm and welcoming environment for all of our honored guests. If it not too much trouble, might you send me an email with your mailing address? I would like to offer our apologies in a more direct and appropriate forum. My email address is hondos.toni@yahoo.com
Sincerely,
Toni Peebles
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but Great steak and seafood, not to mention exceptional service!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The meal and service was excellent! My steak au poivre was prepared exactly the way I requested and the seared scallops I ordered on the side was fantastic. The servers make it a point to call you by name, offers suggestions and is attentive. This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion or just go and spoil yourself on a great meal. Be prepared to pay top dollar though but for me, I wasn't disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1978Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Probably the best steaks in town, bar none. I've also been dreaming about their fried oysters for quite some time and can't wait to get back there for a plate of them. If you're not in Maryland, this is certainly the place to find good oysters. Needless to say the service is exceptional, every time.....definitely 5-star quality.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlourGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hondos also viewed

 

Been to Hondos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing