We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Hampton Inn Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Gloucester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kill Devil Hills, United States
1 review
“Our Hampton Inn Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Alvin was exceptionally helpful at the front desk...a great asset to your team! Our room was very clean and the Housekeeping staff was very helpful when additional items were needed. The complimentary breakfast was a nice addition and 24/7 coffee in the lobby was greatly appreciated! We'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Krista T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    77
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
160
62
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We just stayed at this property this past weekend and we have to say it was the most terrible night sleep at any hotel we have ever had. Everything was nice and quiet until a drunk wedding party came barging up to the third floor, yelling, screaming, swearing- yelling "who wants to get F'n wasted!" and asking each other who had the "oxys" and how many pills do we have left. This is when my sister who was staying across the hall from these low life disrespectful dirtbags called me crying, because my 2 year old niece woke up crying. That's when I called down to the front desk. They said they would take care of it, well the noise kept on....slamming doors, loud music. The hotel is not responsible for ignorant creeps, but it is their responsibility for the well being of children staying at their hotel. Kids who may have been staying on that floor should not have been subjected to that. Guests of that nature should be asked to keep quiet or leave. The property itself was very clean, staff friendly and apologetic to the situation, giving my sister her room for free, the breakfast they offered looked well presented with many things to choose from, but when you couldn't sleep all night, it doesn't really matter. We will be contacting the general manager or someone from their corporate office to see what their policies are for these situations to prevent further guests from the worms we had to listen to.

Room Tip: ask if there may be ignorant drunk pill heads staying in rooms next to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outer Banks, NC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Pretty pricey, but it was the Memorial Day weekend. The property is new and well appointed. Everything in the room worked well, including all the plumbing. We had to make two complaints to the management because of the loud and continuous noise from the room above ours, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. After the second complaint, the kids stopped playing soccer in the room above ours. But the complimentary "breakfast" was something else. Fifty-four years ago when I was in the Army in Korea we were often served powdered eggs. I didn't tolerate them then and I sure don't like paying premium prices for them now. They were little dry balls that had no flavor and even adding ketchup didn't help. Fortunately there were a number of fast-food restaurants nearby with real eggs, and the price didn't break the bank. I guess it was this particular Hampton Inn that serves these things because we've enjoyed the fare at many other Hampton Inns previously.

Room Tip: Make sure a family with pre-teens isn't directly above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXhawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn in Gloucester. By our guests being kind enough to let us know how we can improve, it helps us to gather the information needed to make changes. I am sorry that breakfast did not meet your expectations, although this is the Hampton approved menu, perhaps a refresher needs to be given on cooking technique. Hampton is in the process of upgrading breakfast offerings as well and I hope that you will be pleased. Do return for a visit and by all means mention either a top floor room or no children above you. I KNOW how disturbing that can be!!!!! Again, thank you for staying with us and I do hope to meet you personally in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Breakfast ok, I recommend going out if you really enjoy breakfast. Business Center technology is old and out of date. Checking in was extremely slow, and they are not eager to bend to allow for early check-in or late check-out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you in advance for your thought provoking review. It is only when our guests let us know about their stay, that we gather the information to make all stays better. I am especially disappointed that your check-in was slow because this is not usual and I personally apologize for that inconvenience. At any time that a late check-out or early check-in is needed in a future stay please ask for the general manager if it is not immediately accommodated as that is the policy. Again, many thanks for bringing these things to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I stayed here for two nights, and this hotel was very clean, and the staff was very helpful. Although most of the area is very rural, there was a plaza less than a mile away with a few chain restaurants, a DELICIOUS Italian restaurant, Wal-Mart, and a few other things, so there was nothing else needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We really love to have guests who appreciate our rural setting, but as you pointed out there is still alot to do in our village. Glad that you had an opportunity to eat in our local restaurants.....they are great! Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We always enjoy our visits at this hotel and have used various services over the years. This is at least an annual visit that we look forward to for an overall accommodating and convenient hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank CynthiaKYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are always especially pleased when our frequent guests continue to be pleased. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Upon check in the hotel staff were friendly. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, they provide alot to choose from and include hot breakfast (eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, etc...) Breakfast is available from 6am - 10am so there is plenty of time to get downstairs to eat, you don't feel rushed. The pool was nice, the kids loved it! Overall, an excellent stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dailin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Hampton Inn in Gloucester! I am delighted that you found your accommodations to be comfortable. You have joined one of our largest guest bases....folks who like to stay away from the crowds but close enough to enjoy!!! Looking forward to having you join us in the future on a return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
15.4 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
10.6 mi away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#18 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gloucester

Property: Hampton Inn Gloucester
Address: 6638 Forest Hill Ave, Gloucester, VA 23061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Gloucester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gloucester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing