We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant experience during unpleasant times” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Gloucester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stephenson, United States
1 review
“Pleasant experience during unpleasant times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Wonderful accomodations and extremely helpful staff made my family's stay very pleasant while we attended a family member's memorial. Everything was clean, breakfast was good, location perfect. Thanks Hampton Inn Gloucester!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review. It is always unfortunate that sometimes our guests stay with us under sad circumstances. I am especially glad that your stay was enjoyable under adverse circumstances. Please come again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    77
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
160
62
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have not stayed at Hampton's recently and was pleasantly surprised at how nice this property was. The halls are a bit wider than many and it made getting to the room with lots of luggage much easier. The room was clean and well set up with extra outlets and nice storage. I loved the extra shelves in the bathroom and the lapdesk in addition to the desk. The chair at the desk was broken in that it would not raise so I could not use the desk at all. The heat unit was VERY LOUD and kept me awake every time it turned on, though.

My big issue was with the defective American Flag!!! GET IT FIXED! It's inappropriate that our Nation's flag should be so poorly made that the star field had to have a strip of blue sewn in below the stars to make the stripes match up. HAVE YOU NO SENSE OF PRIDE!!! This is unacceptable

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aputerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you in advance for your recent review of the Hampton Inn in Gloucester. Your review was of particular importance because it noted a flag issue that we were not aware of, and that has required some research. The flag that we fly is 12' X 18' in size and is new. When we read your review we contacted and had a long discussion and an exchange of photos with our flag company which is the approved supplier of flags to all Hilton properties. We also brought this to their attention for the first time. The issue is the size of the flag...it is not an added piece of material but rater the extension of the blue field due to the overwhelmingly large proportions of the flag. Because all their flags have the same field in this size, it definitely will become a matter for us to consider when replacement is necessary. A smaller flag eliminates the issue. We definitely are pleased that you brought this issue to our attention and be assured that our flag is important to us and we will have to reconsider its size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I am a person who travels 49 weeks a year. I have stayed at numerous Hampton Inns in the past, but the Hampton Inn in Gloucester, VA did not live up to the level of service that I have come to appreciate at a Hampton Inn. This hotel can do so much better!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We love the Hampton Inn, but wish it were Pet Friendly! We would rather pay a little more and stay here than the Comfort Inn!
We have always been pleased with this hotel. Please consider this option. Like the Marriott, they offer a Allergy free room at an up charge.

Green Features: Love the thought they are environmentally friendly. Every little bit helps!
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank White2rnado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are always looking for ways to improve so we are glad that you made a recommendation that pet friendly would be appreciated by you. Know that we will consider this as a welcome option. We will certainly consider this for the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was only there for a short time but it was clean and comfortable. When I arrived there and went to my room, I was very impressed that the front desk called and asked if everything was ok in my room. Not too many hotels take that extra step to make sure you are satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that your stay was pleasant and we hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Va, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

It's not a five-star resort, but it doesn't claim to be. There aren't many choices in this area, but Hampton Inn delivers on good, solid performance for a mid-range affordable hotel. Clean and efficient, a nice sized bathroom and plenty of outlets easily accessible for charging up all tech.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn in Gloucester. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you for Oyster Festival or any other time during this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at this property for 3 nights to attend the oyster festival in Urbanna. This hotel also served as a good base for a small family gathering. Due to the nicely updated and friendly public area.The bed were very comfortable and the room very clean. Breakfast was also very nice, one of the breakfast attendees had worked at a local restaurant for over 20 years, she was older and extremely friendly. I wish I could remember her name because she deserves a big KUDOS. Pool was great, just a little cool at first.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good
See more room tips
Green Features: Only replaces towels left on floor, this is not a problem and conserves water
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clpOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy hearing that are guests are pleased with their stays. You are correct, Ann, our continental hostess, is truly a gem! We look forward to a return visit from you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
15.4 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
10.6 mi away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#18 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gloucester

Property: Hampton Inn Gloucester
Address: 6638 Forest Hill Ave, Gloucester, VA 23061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Gloucester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gloucester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing