We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Wedding”
Review of Inn at Warner Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Warner Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“An Unforgettable Wedding”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Theresa and Troy are consummate professionals but more importantly they are just plain nice folks who care deeply that they're hospitality is understood as genuine, sincere and compels you to return.
The accommodations are beautiful and comforting. The food was superlative, surpassed only by the overall ambiance and locale.
We were given the opportunity to experience this bucolic setting as the location of our son and daughter in laws wedding weekend.
From our arrival and the meet and greet party to the rehearsal dinner and evening bon-fire and on to the wedding ceremony and reception; all was absolutely perfect.
As if Steven Spielberg or Frank Capra were lingering on the outskirts of the entire proceedings, I’ve yet to think of any detail, from food to service to mood that could have been improved in any way.
If you are blessed with the same opportunity, I strongly recommend that you do all possible to avail yourself and make haste to share this wonderful spot with friends and family.

Room Tip: Any room is recommended. All are comfortable, clean and a slice out of our early American heritage o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
94
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you're looking for elegance and comfort--modern amenities in a sumptuously decorated historic mansion--this is your place. Warner Hall boasts an impressive history, because it was once the plantation home of George Washington's great-great grandfather. It's been loving restored, with rooms that are large, comfortable and elegant.

We came here as part of a small family reunion, as it turns out we're one of the ancestors of the original family. It was the ideal gathering place.

The amenities are almost too numerous to list, but at every turn, the place exceeded expectation, thanks to the owners, Terry and Theresa.

Rooms overlook rolling Virginia farmlands, the river or both, if you're fortunate enough to have one of the corner rooms. There are bikes available for exploration, as well as canoes or kayaks. You can visit the Warner graveyard or just relax in a rocker on one of the wide porches.

Breakfasts are served daily, and they can't be missed! One morning we were there, they had French toast stuffed with a strawberry cream cheese. The second morning was the choice between blueberry pancakes or poached eggs on a bed of sauteed spinach with fresh asparagus. The Inn also serves dinners on weekends, but since we were there, I can't report on that.

Sodas and bottled waters were always available, as were coffees and teas. There were homemade oatmeal raisin cookies by the front desk, and bowls of chocolate.

I had to approach the staff about a need I had, and they were beyond accommodating. In fact everyone goes out of the way to do whatever they can to make sure you're happy with everything.

I already know which room I want to choose on my next visit. I can't wait!

Room Tip: Check to see where your room faces, if you have a preference. Be sure to let the hosts know if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a truly wonderful time for our first visit to Warner Hall. We have stayed at 7 other Select Registries, and this definitely ranks among the top. We used this as a relaxing Baby-Moon, and it satisfied our needs perfectly. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquilaTheEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a beautiful plantation style home in a lovely tranquil location...nicely decorated...friendly, helpful staff. Dinner was good, as was breakfast. However, when you are woke up at 7am on a Sunday morning by jackhammers (they were putting in a 'patio' to better serve their wedding parties...which is fine, but at 7am on a Sunday when you have guests staying?) The bed in our room (which was spacious) was not comfortable at all and the room temp is supposed to be able to be controlled in the room -- however, it resets itself to the programmed temp every hour...which meant we were getting up every hour throughout the night to turn the heat off, so no rest...thankfully, we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This inn is quite elegant. It offers a step into the past with all the conveniences of the present. I combine my 2 night stay with the Gloucester Daffodil Festival in early April each year. The period rooms are lovely & the meals are delicious. There is a small bar in the inn that can prepare a mint julep to sip on the front or 2nd story porch while overlooking the vista. Just pretend you're Scarlett O'Hara or Rhett Butler. In that setting, it's not much of a stretch!
An extra bonus is the boathouse on the property. It's modern, decorated in a seashore motif with comfortable seating, a kitchen, bathroom, deck, fishing poles & water craft to use.
The Inn at Warner Hall has thought of everything!

Room Tip: The Mary Powell room is my favorite -- large, airy with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport news va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We wanted to find the perfect venue for our daughter’s wedding. Fortunately we found Warner Hall in Gloucester, Virginia. We live in Newport News and had never heard of Warner Hall but was so impressed after finding their website and planning a visit.
What a jewel. Historic, pristine, every historic detail in place.
The Inn has 11 bedrooms, it is a bed and breakfast. The rooms are named for family members of the Warner/Washington families. George Washington’s great, great grandfather, a Warner, built the original house.
It is located on the Severn River three miles off of Rt. 17 in Gloucester. When you drive down Feather Bed Lane, take the right on to Warner Hall Road, and then turn into the actual property, you are in another world, another time.
We had much discussion with Theresa, the inn keeper, about the wedding plans. They had every detail in place. The menu is extensive and is overseen by their own award winning Chef Eric Garcia.
As much planning went into Kim and Brian’s wedding, much of the actual wedding was arranged by the staff at Warner Hall. Many of our family members stayed at Warner Hall. The beds are so comfortable and all the rooms are decorated exquisitely.
When one books the wedding, the contract stipulates that all the guests occupy the eleven rooms. Well we could have not been happier. We had the run of the Hall from Friday noon until Sunday noon. No other people would be on site. We were treated like family and no request went unanswered. Breakfast is included each morning and is a gourmet delight. The gourmet menu is fresh and delicious.
The day of the wedding went really well, with the staff walking us through every detail. Luckily the weather was in the 60’s after a cold and snowy winter. The wedding was held outside under the trees.
What a beautiful sight to see our daughter walked down the aisle by her father and my son sitting next to me watching Kim and Brian get married.
The reception was perfect. We had it under the new tent and patio just set up the week before. It was breathtaking to look out at the glorious grounds as we danced the evening away.
Our friends and wedding guests have not stopped telling us how wonderful the wedding was. From the historic venue of Warner Hall to the furnishings to the food they were in awe.
If you ever want to have the perfect event, consider Warner Hall or if you just want a get-away in the perfect location to rest and relax and be pampered, stay at Warner Hall. The ambience, the food, the views are amazing.
Theresa and Troy Stavens are the innkeepers and they will make your stay a special time in your lives…they made our daughter’s special day something we will never forget.
www.warnerhall.com

Room Tip: All of the Warner Hall rooms and wonderful and the beds are so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindabNewportNewsVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport news, va
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We wanted to find the perfect venue for our daughter’s wedding. Fortunately we found Warner Hall in Gloucester, Virginia. We live in Newport News and had never heard of Warner Hall but was so impressed after finding their website and planning a visit.
What a jewel. Historic, pristine, every historic detail in place.
The Inn has 11 bedrooms, it is a bed and breakfast. The rooms are named for family members of the Warner/Washington families. George Washington’s great, great grandfather, a Warner, built the original house.
It is located on the Severn River three miles off of Rt. 17 in Gloucester. When you drive down Feather Bed Lane, take the right on to Warner Hall Road, and then turn into the actual property, you are in another world, another time.
We had much discussion with Theresa, the inn keeper, about the wedding plans. They had every detail in place. The menu is extensive and is overseen by their own award winning Chef Eric Garcia.
As much planning went into Kim and Brian’s wedding, much of the actual wedding was arranged by the staff at Warner Hall. Many of our family members stayed at Warner Hall. The beds are so comfortable and all the rooms are decorated exquisitely.
When one books the wedding, the contract stipulates that all the guests occupy the eleven rooms. Well we could have not been happier. We had the run of the Hall from Friday noon until Sunday noon. No other people would be on site. We were treated like family and no request went unanswered. Breakfast is included each morning and is a gourmet delight. The gourmet menu is fresh and delicious.
The day of the wedding went really well, with the staff walking us through every detail. Luckily the weather was in the 60’s after a cold and snowy winter. The wedding was held outside under the trees.
What a beautiful sight to see our daughter walked down the aisle by her father and my son sitting next to me watching Kim and Brian get married.
The reception was perfect. We had it under the new tent and patio just set up the week before. It was breathtaking to look out at the glorious grounds as we danced the evening away.
Our friends and wedding guests have not stopped telling us how wonderful the wedding was. From the historic venue of Warner Hall to the furnishings to the food they were in awe.
If you ever want to have the perfect event, consider Warner Hall or if you just want a get-away in the perfect location to rest and relax and be pampered, stay at Warner Hall. The ambience, the food, the views are amazing.
Theresa and Troy Stavens are the innkeepers and they will make your stay a special time in your lives…they made our daughter’s special day something we will never forget.
www.warnerhall.com

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and the beds are so comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindabail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
353 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
100 reviews
13.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
13.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
572 reviews
13.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Warner Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Warner Hall

Property: Inn at Warner Hall
Address: 4750 Warner Hall Road, Gloucester, VA 23061-4507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Inn At Warner Hall Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing