We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, freshly prepared food in a great atmosphere”

Olivia's In The Village
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a Full Service,Family Style Restaurant. We have one of the largest menus in this market and work very hard to appeal to many different dining needs. We truly feel that there is something for everyone on our menu. We have been in business since 2003 and are very fortunate to have received the tremendous support that we have over the years. The core of our business is offereing a very good product at and affordable price that is all supported by caring service.
Norfolk, VA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious, freshly prepared food in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed excellent service and a wonderful meal at a very reasonable price. Though the restaurant was busy, it wasn't noisy, and our server was attentive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank genglertNorfolk_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    77
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“always a comfy place for local dining”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went there for a Christmas dinner, the few staunch Democrats in Gloucester county whjich is predominantly Republican, and had a nice leisurely meal.

There were 14 in our party, not that this was a "party" party, just friends having a nice evening dining out. We were seated in the very comfortable rear room, one of three dining rooms at Olivia's.

Our waitress was exceptional, she always is, caring, can not do enough to make you feel wanted and the owner, he came to our table several times to see to all of our needs.

Thee is a beer and wine license, no hard liquor. The menu is just about as eclectic as any, with the redundant "starters" that seem to haunt every menu on earth, soups, salads, pasta, seafoo poultry, beef - you get the idea - and house specialties,

We - my husband and I - each ordered a starter, he the wild mushroom soup, he found it to be superb, me, a large salad with house dressing, a vinaigrette with chunks of blue cheese, and crisp lettuce and so forth, followed by seafood casserole, Olivia, a specialty, which was truly outstanding, filled with fresh seafood, I had a dessert, and that was it. Short, sweet, and the meal satiated us, and others in this group were all pleased as well.

The decor here is very small town, homey and the place is immaculate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kencruisetaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Main Street Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Fantastic seafood, pasta & breakfast! Friendly staff. The owner, Gary Ward, the unofficial mayor of Gloucester's Main Street nearly always stops by your table to say Hello & be sure you're pleased with your meal & service. Wonderful locally owned & operated family restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ADameLovingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
“Lovely family luncheon”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were visiting from out of state and wanted to take my mother, who lives in the Yorktown/Newport News area off Rt. 17, out for a ride and lunch. We found Olivia's in the Village on the internet, one of the few places in the area open on Monday. We were very pleased with the setting and general look of Olivia's, the attentive server, and the wide variety of food on the menu, although we were specifically there for seafood. Food was well-prepared and very tasty, definitely fresh seafood. We enjoyed the seafood combo, crab cake sandwich, tuna melt, fried oyster platter, and seafood Olivia. Adequate portions, nicely presented, light seasonings and sauces so that taste of seafood came through. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

A great little menu to choose from. Very good food, and the seafood chowder is to die for. Very sweet, caring waitresses. Just a real nice experience and a great place to relax.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank makeasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olivia's In The Village also viewed

 

Been to Olivia's In The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing