We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Gloucester Point
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Inn(Yorktown)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Fort Eustis Inn(Newport News)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
American Tudor Inn(Newport News)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
30
26
14
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
26
14
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatswater parkpicnic basketplanned activitiesbath housechecking incamp storeice creamcamping tripbasketball courtget awaygreat parkjumping pillowpony ridescrabpetting zoodaily activities
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The staff at Jelly stone is top notch. We have been camping with them for 4years now. The camp ground is very clean well maintained. Everyone there is friendly from the staff to the people living there regularly. They made you feel like your at home. The staff goes out of there way to make your staff the best.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen G, Owner at Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Gloucester Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your opinion of our camping resort with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear that you have been camping with us for 4 years and we will be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff. We reside at the park so when you camp with us you are guests camping in our home.

Sincerely,

Eileen & Ken Gedicke
Owners
Jellystone Park Hayes VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Let me start by saying I am not giving this place a bad review, it is just not what we expected. This was our first "family" camping trip. I researched a few places. This seemed like the perfect place. A little bit of everything for everyone. They had activities for the kids, a store in case we forgot things, fishing, crabbing, and bathrooms. When we arrived we were surprised by the number of "residents" there. When we got to our tent site is when we were disappointed. The tent sites are literally right next to each other around a little circle drive. I mean RIGHT next to each other. No trees, no space. Like parking spots. We had a hard time fitting our tent on the sight. We asked if we could move sights. We looked at the other sites available. None had trees and only a very few had grills. We had brought a tarp because we knew it was supposed to rain but we could not use it because there were no trees. The fire ring that is provided is literally a wheel. Very small. The sites were muddy due to wet weather. We decided to stick it out. It was for the kids after all. We had our fire, cooked dinner, did smores, and then turned in. That is when the club music started. The campground was very loud. It was after 11:00 before the music went off. That was it for us. Now if you knew all this ahead of time and that is was you expected, this place would be fine. We were expecting a little wilderness and listening to crickets when we went to bed. We packed up the next day and decided we could camp in our back yard and have more of a "wilderness" experience. Again, we just did not know that the camp ground was like that. I have heard from several people that we should have gone to a state park. The Jellystone and KOA parks are more "lively". The park was clean. There were lots of kids and things for the kids to do(playground, basketball, jump pillow)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HollyEP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen G, Owner at Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Gloucester Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our park on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately we did not provide you with the type of wilderness camping you desired. There are some tent sites offered which back up to trees but still would not have given you that out in the wilderness feel that you seem to desire. You are correct that a State Park may give you more privacy than a camping resort like ourselves. We do apologize that you were disturbed by music after quiet hours. Night Rangers are on duty to keep the park quiet in the evenings and there should not have been any noise. We appreciate that you mentioned that our park was clean and there were lots of things for children to do and that we were just not what you were looking for in a park. We are hopeful to offer a more secluded camping experience for tenters in the future as we expand our property. Possibly when/if you camp with us again we will be able to offer you the type of experience you expect when camping.

Sincerely,

Eileen Gedicke
Jellystone Park at Gloucester Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This isn't really much of a review, I'm writing because my family use to live on the old campground years ago before it became Yogi Bear. And, I remember playing with your daughter, Ariel, I believe when we were kids. I just wanted to see how the family was doing, and I see the campsite is doing great. Boy, do I remember going to the game room when I was a kid, and the golf carts.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Faith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen G, Owner at Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Gloucester Point, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Glad to hear you have such wonderful memories as a child when staying at our park. We have owned the park for 9 years now and this will be our 4th year as a Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park. We hope to see you back at the park to create new memories!

Happy New Year!

Ken & Eileen Gedicke
Owners
Jellystone Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this Jellystone after having to cancel our Jellystone Luray Va trip. What a pleasant surprise!
Very clean spacious campground. Friendly staff. Plenty of family activities. Jumping pillow. Well equipped playground. Bathhouse was newly renovated along with a good laundry room. They are clearly making improvements! We had a great stay.
One suggestion. Illuminate your sign. It is an incredibly dark road and very hard to see. String lights. Spotlight. Something. That would be awesome!
Second suggestion to guests. Please monitor your kids. It takes one family of unsupervised children running amok to make a bad impression. The staff did a very good job of wrangling these kids but they not have had to.
We are at the Picnic Basket. Reasonable prices and decent good. Recreation hall well stocked and running movies.
We will make this a regular destination. Thank you!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank StefCentralVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen G, Owner at Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Gloucester Point, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for you kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to becoming your regular destination. We are making improvements every year. You must have camped when the lighting sensor on our sign was broken and since has been fixed. Hope it will be easier for you to find us on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Eileen & Ken Gedicke
Owners
Jellystone Park at Gloucester Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked expecting a riverfront campground. Actually, the amount of frontage on the Severn River is small, and the waterfront campsites such as ours are not on the river itself but on muddy arms.

The facilities are very good. Clean restrooms, a very large dog park with a picnic table in the shade for the humans to sit at, a nice pool. Staff was courteous and helpful, and the trash collection is a nice touch (but no recycling?!).

If in the area, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBPnfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen G, Owner at Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Gloucester Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thanks for your honest review of our campground. There is a variety of waterfront sites to choose from and possibly on your next visit we can find one that is more to your liking. See you again!

Eileen Gedicke
Owner
Jellystone Park-Gloucester Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews