We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic luxury accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Venards Lodge

Fully equipped modern kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully equipped modern kitchen
The Linwood Room, double with ensuite shower room Venards Lodge, as seen from the driveway across the entrance lawn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Fully equipped modern kitchen
The Linwood Room, double with ensuite shower room
Venards Lodge, as seen from the driveway across the entrance lawn
The ensuite bathroom to the Gorley Room
The Gorley Room has a super king bed and ensuite bathroom with shower too
The bright sunny Sitting Room
Welcome Hamper and homemade cake for our guests
Awarded the coveted '5 Star Gold' rating from  Visit England
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
North Gorley, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Fantastic luxury accommodation”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is our second stay at Venards Lodge and won’t be our last. We very rarely re-visit the same place but this has become a firm favourite. We went as a family of 8 including a baby and 4 year old. Everyone had enough space and comfort to sit, dine and socialise together whilst still enjoying their own space. The lodge had everything we needed and we fell in love with the Aga, we came home wanting to own one! Nadine was kind and helpful and left us another delicious lemon cake. There is something really magical about the new forest, the way horses ( or pigs on our October visit) just wander past your door. The children loved it. The lodge is in a perfect spot; within walking distance of a good pub, beautiful forestry and a short drive to the coast. I would highly recommend this lovely place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Thank you so much. Really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and it was lovely to welcome you back. Look forward to baking another cake for you ..... maybe a chocolate one next time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GandK94
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to spend Christmas.”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We were a family of four generations and experienced a most fabulous Christmas together at the Lodge.
From the 'welcome basket and cake' to the beautifully decorated tree and decorations throughout the rooms, to the fluffy towels, very comfortable beds, frosty mornings, warm Aga, deer in the opposite field, donkeys at the gate, the Royal Oak ten minutes walk away, plenty of parking for our three cars, chickens in the porch, bathroom toiletries, and the extremely well equipped kitchen.

Laundry room, dishwasher, fabulous bathrooms, flagstoned entrance room, so many toys, puzzles and games for all ages and Nintedo plus games.

I can't think of anything that wasn't already supplied. The kitchen had a great collection of knives and cutlery, coffee machine, cups, glasses, plates and bowls, toaster, microwave, electric oven as well as the Aga, large fridge and freezer and great storage in the larder. Logs for the wood burner were frequently supplied as well as fire lighters and matches too.
Our week was over all too quickly as most Christmas holidays always are when everyone has a good time.
This holiday home cannot be rated highly enough. It was much more than we hoped.
Nadine, the owner, really made sure nothing is wanted for. Every positive review for the lodge is agreed with by us. The photos of the property totally do the place justice.
A return one day maybe in the summer to experience the BBQ and enclosed garden.
Relaxing and quiet. Loved by all of us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2018
I am so glad that you all enjoyed a wonderful stay at Venards Lodge over Christmas. The New Forest is a truly magical place to visit and to know that our guests have loved their accommodation as much as the area is just what we strive for. Thanks for taking the time to write the review, it is always very much appreciated. Would love to welcome you back in the summer ..... just let me know when!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Really glad you had such a fabulous week at Venards Lodge and we would, of course, love to welcome you back. PS. Chickens now being fed by the current guests .... a few more happy children and happy hens!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KimmyWill...
Great Saling
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stunning property in a wonderful location, Nadine was also so helpful. The lodge is beautifully presented, comfortable and very clean, lovely walks on your door step along with a pub and a tea room within walking distance. A very special place highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for reviewing Venards Lodge, it really is very much appreciated. So glad you all enjoyed your stay with us, maybe we can tempt you back to the New Forest on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parrot381
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was magical. Great place, and wonderful surroundings. Great owners.”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location and accommodation was outstanding. Very friendly host who left us a lovely welcome hamper of home produce and a homemade lemon cake .
This was a surprise 50th present for my Wife from myself, all her children and in laws.
The walk in the New Forest was breathtaking and magical seeing the wild horses and Fallon dear.
Lovely place to relax in and take in the stroll of the donkeys, the friendly chickens at Vernads lodge and the cows that just casually stroll around the surrounding area.
The Lodge was decorated and furnished to a very high standard and plenty of room for the 7 of us. Would highly recommend and would look at going back in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Venards Lodge, it is very much appreciated. I am glad you managed to keep it a surprise too, not always easy, and obviously thrilled that you all loved your stay at the Lodge. Really do hope we can welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki G
1 review
“Luxury and beautifully accommodating”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed in this gorgeous country cottage for a very special occasion and Loved every minute!!
Nadine was so accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed - including a thoughtful welcome hamper with locally made jams and even a homemade Cake!!
I was worried that there would be the typical fight over the 'best bedroom' when we arrived, but was pleasantly surprised to discover that ALL rooms were stunning and tastefully decorated. Even the bunk bed room offered character and cosy beds.
The outside space is just as gorgeous as the interior - with 2 different areas for seating in the surrounding garden space and a BBQ at the ready.
Our only wish is that we could have stayed for a whole week rather than just the weekend and I will be recommending this lovely home to anyone visiting such a beautiful part of England.
Thanks Nadine! X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Lodge, it really is very much appreciated. I am glad you all enjoyed your special weekend here and would, obviously, be delighted to welcome any or all of you back here at any time. Enjoy the wedding. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for the whole family”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My husband and I stayed at Venards Lodge with our 2 sons and their families, 6 adults and 1 toddler. The accommodation in the Lodge was ideal for us, spacious rooms where we could all sit in comfort and small areas where we could have a little quiet time. The toddler was entranced by the many animals he could see from the windows. Thanks to the good weather, the garden also provided a great place to sit or be active. As it is well fenced, the toddler could run freely. The arrangement of bedrooms suited us well, giving the toddler easy access to parents and grandparents while the other adults slept. The Lodge is exceptionally well equipped. It was a pleasure to have more than the statuory 1 plate, cup, knife and fork per person. Mary Berry's guide to the Aga was well used! Nadine has obviously put a lot of thought into furnishing the Lodge, it lacks for nothing. I am sure we will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
So pleased you all enjoyed your stay at our lovely Lodge. One of my irritations when renting holiday property has been the lack of sufficient crockery and cutlery and I was very keen to ensure this wasn't a lasting memory of Venards Lodge; so glad you appreciate it. You were indeed extremely lucky with glorious sunshine and hope that you can bring some back with you when you visit again!! Nadine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing