We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different kind of stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shenandoah Crossing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in Yurt 754. It was a 2 bedroom Yurt. We left our child at home for a nice romantic getaway. It would have been much less romantic with a second bedroom occupied as the walls do not go all the way up to the ceiling. The yurt was nicely appointed. We didn't have issues with wireless connection but the DVD player in the living room didn't work and the reception on the televisions were pretty terrible. The kitchen was stocked with pretty much everything you might need although the outlets were oddly placed. We booked through Bass Pro shops so we endured the group/individual presentations and didn't purchase although it did take longer than 2 hrs - the pricing on the options weren't terrible but we aren't in a place where we could take them up on an offer. We didn't use any of the concierge services and I am a bit disappointed that the main resort building is still shut down after being burnt down a year ago.We wrote separate reviews for our dining experiences. The property was extremely clean - especially after hosting a wedding and a prom on the Saturday night. The music was loud enough to hear in our yurt but it was a pleasant distraction for us. Our yurt did have a few maintenance issue in the bathroom - loose tile in the middle of the floor and some settling cracking in the shower. I would stay her again. As others have mentioned - a little bit out there. Directions gave a nice scenic route but we found it to be much quicker to get off I64 exit for Zion Crossings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProfHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello ProfHannah,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Shenandoah Crossing. We are happy you were pleased with our Yurt-style accommodations and that you found our property extremely clean. We appreciate the feedback you have provided regarding our timeshare presentation and room issues. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will help to ensure a pleasant experience for all guests. We hope you will consider returning soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom cabin the first night. Very nice. Well appointed, except no TV in the 2nd bedroom. But, since my husband and I were travelling without the kids, it was OK. The 2nd and 3rd nights we stayed in the one room Yurt. It was absolutely the coolest place I've ever stayed. Really really nice. Met and exceeded my expectations.

Location of resort was a bit secluded. But, Gordonsville is a lovely little town. Everything is within a 30-45 minute drive. Went to Monticello and Montpelior while we were there. Monticello was amazain. Montpelio was nice, but if you have to choose between the two, go to Monticello.

Went to BBQ Exchange in Gordonsoville. Crowded. Delicious. A little pricey compared to other places in the area.

If you go to Monticello, stop at the Chadsworth Market at the corner of Hwy 250 and Hwy 22. Best fried chicken I've ever had in my entire life.

Room Tip: Choose the Yurt. Hands down, the coolest place ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dogloverLongwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello dogloverLongwood,

We are thrilled our Yurt style accommodations were the coolest that you have ever stayed in. We are happy you found your Yurt well-appointed. We love knowing we are exceeding the expectations of our guests. The information you have provided about the surrounding area will certainly be helpful for those planning a stay. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We visited Shenandoah Crossing in April 2014. While we thoroughly enjoyed our time visiting the area wineries and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, our stay at the resort detracted from our trip.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom yurt and were very excited upon arrival and initial impression of the room(s); however, the "non-smoking" accommodations were anything but. Either this was formerly a smoking room, or a recent guest smoked illegally during their stay. A strong, stale smoke smell persisted the entire time we stayed there.

We had a baby with us, and a few with allergies, so we immediately called the front desk to try to switch. They insisted there was "nothing they could do" except offer up a cabin that didn't fit our party, or spray a chemical to try to hide the smell (the idea of unidentified chemicals did not sound attractive with the baby present). The staff overall did not seem very sympathetic or helpful; I could not believe they were so fully booked that they couldn't transfer us to another room or offer up a better solution to rid the yurt of the smell.

We ended up living with the smell and kept the screen doors open all day/night to try to air it out (unsuccessfully). Again, we did enjoy our overall trip to the area but will strongly reconsider staying here again, or at least without insisting that our yurt truly be non-smoking.

Room Tip: Avoid yurt 703 if you have allergies to smoke or small children. This room is not truly "non-sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello KateHelm,

Thank you for staying at Shenandoah Crossing. We regret to learn you were disappointed with our accommodations. We apologize for the smoke smell you experienced in your yurt. We are committed to providing exceptional service and assure you that we did not have any other 2-bedroom units available. We would like to follow up with you to discuss your comments. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I've stated at this property now twice and have another trip planned in July this year. This is a great resort and when you go, you have to stay in a yurt! Really neat and fun! The staff is great and it’s a nice place to get away from the city with lots of outdoors activities to keep you busy, or just to lounge in your yurt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy1479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hello Wendy H,

Thank you for staying with us again at Shenandoah Crossing. We are happy the resort is one of your favorite getaways. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and activities available. We look forward to welcoming you back in July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Came here with husband, baby and some friends and we had a nice stay in a two bedroom grand cabin. I've stayed here several times in the past few years and it's always nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of DC. My favorite accommodations are the Yurts. These are newer and are just more fun. There isn't much to do in the area otherwise, but it's nice that there are some activities on site. There is horseback riding, some simple boating options, and a pool with a rec center. Overall, for a quiet stay with good options for a family, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hello Linda M,

Thank your for returning to Shenandoah Crossing and sharing your review. We are delighted you enjoy the accommodations and the on-site amenities and activities. Thank you for your recommendation as a great family resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I flew to Richmond and met two cousins at the airport. We rented a car and drove about an hour to Shenandoah Crossing. Our 3 bedroom/3 bath "cabin" was wonderful! It had gorgeous views from all windows, Cuisinart kitchen appliances, washer and dryer, plus an immaculate Weber gas grill on the back porch. We bought firewood and "starter" at the store, on premises, and were able to use the fireplace.

There's a lot of history in that area and a couple very good local restaurants. We were very comfortable and the front desk was very accommodating. It was a pleasure to go pick up staples at the grocery store and relax. We even got a lovely blanket of snow, which was probably the last one of the season.

I would love to go back and stay a full week!

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin near what you want to be near……..the pool, mini golf, stables, store, etc. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hello Lois H,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Shenandoah Crossing. We are thrilled you were impressed with our accommodations and enjoyed the beautiful views. We are happy you were comfortable and that our front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to have you back for a full week soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

First visit to Virginia. We had a 2 Bd 2 Ba Grand Cabin [#10]. Rustic but very comfy. Our cabin was in a beautiful location by the lake with an awesome view. Spent a lot of time in the cabin just soaking in the view & enjoying the fireplace. [Had to buy firewood @ their onsite general store & is a tad pricey.] Resort is isolated but that was just right for us. Also, some of the cabins do not have much of a view but if you are wanting a quiet getaway in the woods, this place is great. We are walkers & walked all over resort but beware everything is spread out so most would prefer to drive. We did not eat at their restaurant or make use of the stabled horses but looked like fun. [maybe next trip!] Grounds are beautiful. Drove by the yurts & they look nice too but would be hard to beat the cabin we had. On a cautionary note, our cabin was not really close to the parking area [some are some aren't] & involved narrow pathways with several steps. This was not a problem for my husb or me but my elderly mother was traveling with us. She was able to walk it unassisted but it might be tricky for some. This is by no means a negative because we absolutely loved this cabin just a note in case anyone in your party has mobility issues. The front desk was also extremely helpful in letting us stay an extra night. We definitely plan on returning. My amateur photos do not do justice to the beauty of nature found at this great place. [Note* Our stay was actually in Oct 2012 which explains the fall colors in the photos, lol. Yes, I am a procrastinator but I'm honest! :) ]

Room Tip: Request cabin close to parking area if have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phall007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hello phall007,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Shenandoah Crossing. We are delighted you enjoyed a quiet getaway at the resort. Thank you for sharing your photographs and providing information that will help future guests. We certainly hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonsville
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
149 reviews
12.9 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
473 reviews
17.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenandoah Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah Crossing

Address: 174 Horseshoe Cir, Gordonsville, VA 22942-7340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Price Range: £49 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shenandoah Crossing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shenandoah Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenandoah Crossing Hotel Gordonsville
Shenandoah Crossing Gordonsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing