We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS !!!!!!”
Review of Camber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camber Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Townville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BED BUGS !!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Awakened after only 30 minutes of sleep by bed-bugs crawling all over me! I received multiple bites. These were big, mature bed bugs so this was not a new problem. The night shift clerk was clueless and unconcerned. Did not even inform daytime management, which I found out when I called the hotel manager to complain. Manager was apologetic to the degree that she wanted to offer me a free night stay at her hotel - like I would ever want to stay there again! DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curvy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    59
    16
    12
    10
See reviews for
82
34
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here for a family wedding. Was a "destination" wedding for both sides and the large breakfast area (with a great breakfast) and the pool provided plenty of space for everyone to visit. Rooms are very clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and was centrally located for both the reheasal dinner and the wedding. They were also quick to let us know what rooms had items left in them so we could pass that on. They will mail found items at no cost! Overall, most pleased and would definately stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: we stayed on the side closer to Hwy 29 and never heard a traffic sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbb1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were at this Hampton Inn this past weekend for a family wedding; I think the entire hotel was wedding guests. There is, as far as I can tell, no other hotel in the area, but you would never know that there is no competition. These people went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, accommodating our every need. The desk staff, the breakfast providers, the housekeeping staff were all very friendly, gracious, interested in our comfort. The room was great too - and a very reasonable price. It really was a perfect wedding weekend and this Hampton Inn was part of the reason.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I went to AltaVista on business and found I could stay in Lynchburg, or here. I am so glad I came a little south! I will stay at a Hampton if one is available. This Hampton is fairly new, but is so well maintained you would think it opened last week. The staff is super-friendly, the rooms are super-clean and the beds comfortable. When I came down for breakfast, there was no doubt that the staff takes great pride in making sure that every item is fresh and all selections are fully stocked. On the one morning that I was in a hurry and got a "Breakfast to go", I was surprised to find a full-sized bottle of water instead of the usual 8 oz variety. Being there for 3 days, I needed a fridge in the room and finding my room didn't have one, the staff happily moved me to a room with a fridge. I always have good stays with Hampton, but the Gretna Hampton is at the top of the Hampton tree on my list. Travel is a business necessity for me, but this place took the stress out of it!

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have a fridge, so make sure you mention you need one up-front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here over Memorial Day wkend 2 visit Jefferson's country home, Poplar Forest, in Lynchburg, Va. & c a few other modest historical sites. The Lynchburg Hampton Inn was an older 2story "motel" where all rooms are entered from the outside, so chose this Hampton instead, as it was 25 min away from Lynchburg. Hotel is relatively new, built in 2008, w/outdoor pool, standard fitness ctr, & a nice dining area 4 the free breakfast. Staff are very friendly & helpful, a person was watchful all thru breakfast making sure no food item ran low or any guest left wanting. Gretna is a small town, so expanded dining choices are best found in Lynchburg, 20 min up Rt 29. But the town does offer local spots to eat, if that's ur preference.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loomis1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel is very clean, friendly, and accomodating. We stayed here while we were looking for property in the area. The area is beautiful and full of things to do. This hotel is in the center of it all. Danville, Smith Mountain Lake, and Martinsville Speedway are all a short drive away. My only complaint is that the rooms are defintely not for families, we had to book another room because it was a little crowded for the four of us. Nice breakfast! Would stay there again if I didn't have the kids with me!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelli1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
645 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I stopped at this hotel as it was convenient for our trip from Charlotte to DC. We had looked at hotels in Lynchburg and were so glad we saw the TripAdvisor reviews indicating this hotel was new and a better choice. We certainly agree.

Our room was quite large, A/C was very very quiet, and there was limited traffic noise when we stayed. The room was very clean and well appointed.

One negative: the thermostat for the very quiet A/C had lights on it that illuminated the room at night. Unfortunately because of the location being central to the room, this made sleep at times difficult. It also was designed so that it could not be covered either with a paper or with a washcloth/towel.

The breakfast was very good and they kept all the food refreshed. The hot components were very tasty.

The staff did everything they could to make our short stay more pleasant. They seem to be from the local area and proud of their hotel.

We would stop here if we're ever in the area again especially when they are only 12500 Hilton Honors points per night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
190 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
24.7 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 11 in Danville
280 reviews
22.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Inn

Property: Camber Inn
Address: 200 McBride Ln, Gretna, VA 24557-2736 (Formerly Hampton Inn Gretna Altavista Chatham)
Region: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing