We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff & great breakfast bar!”
Review of Camber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camber Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & great breakfast bar!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We've recently discovered this Hampton Inn on our way from Pennsylvania to North Carolina. The staff is friendly ... are willing to go out of their way to help. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Their breakfast bar displayed a nice variety of items and if you have dietary restrictions the person that stocks it will be glad to assist you in finding something that suits your needs (they have a grab and go bag if you are in a rush). Another unique feature is their "pet walk". Nice to find hotels that welcome pets. It is true that there isn't too many eateries in the area. The first time we we stayed we went to an Italian place near their supermarket, second time we ate about an hour before arriving at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    59
    16
    12
    10
See reviews for
82
34
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas Park, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The every day price of this beautiful new hotel is fantastic! Plus, they allowed our dogs to stay at no additional cost. And, they had plenty of parking for our huge truck with boat in tow. Highly recommend staying here if you're in the area.
Only down fall - not much to eat in the area unless you drive up the road about 15 min.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kry_starz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Good value. If you have an hour or two, go see Smith Mountain Lake Dam. Nice library very close.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were here before and had a good experience, so when we came back to this area, we decided to come back to the Gretna Hampton Inn. We are even more pleased this time. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and clean... The only place I can see for improvement is that there is no Refrigerator or Microwave in the room. We will definitely stay here every time we come here on business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GranNan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Very nice for the price. Nice people and surroundings. Room was great during the power outage. Restaurant closeby was nice too. Friendly people.

Room Tip: Great place to stay during the Great Power Outage 2012. Highly recommended. Great staff and location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The ladies at the front desk were lovely. Experienced some issues that were quickly addressed. Side note: not much to do in Gretna.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Awakened after only 30 minutes of sleep by bed-bugs crawling all over me! I received multiple bites. These were big, mature bed bugs so this was not a new problem. The night shift clerk was clueless and unconcerned. Did not even inform daytime management, which I found out when I called the hotel manager to complain. Manager was apologetic to the degree that she wanted to offer me a free night stay at her hotel - like I would ever want to stay there again! DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curvy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
190 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
24.7 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#2 of 11 in Danville
281 reviews
22.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Inn

Property: Camber Inn
Address: 200 McBride Ln, Gretna, VA 24557-2736 (Formerly Hampton Inn Gretna Altavista Chatham)
Region: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing