We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Blacksburg, United States
2 reviews
“A great place in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel kind of stuck out because it's a huge 4-5 story building that has nothing around it. My room was really lovely and quiet (except the heater). The room was super clean too. The staff was accommodating and helped me print off materials for a job interview since their business center was down for maintenance. It fit everything I needed in a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Corissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for choosing us as your home away from home. Guest satisfaction is definitely one of our top priorities at our establishment and we are thrilled to know that your expectations were exceeded. We are very glad to know that you was impressed with your stay and hope that you will return if need be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    59
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
81
34
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

As a HHonors Gold member I stay in Hampton Inns very frequently for business travel. This is one of the nicer Hampton Inns I've visited. Being a newer hotel it is in great shape and well maintained.

As others have pointed out, there is a bit of a stink bug problem. I killed about a half-dozen in my first couple of hours in the room, and that took care of them. They're harmless, but a bit of a creepy nuisance.

A word of warning: The tap water REEKS of chlorine, to the point that you probably won't want to drink it. Bottled water is only available in one of the hotel's vending machines, and unfortunately, they were sold out when I needed some. There's a Food Lion grocery store about five minutes away, but that's a bit of a hassle. Bottled water needs to be an option in the vending machines on each floor. Until then, bring some with you. I opted a couple of cans of expired Diet Coke as my HHonors treat at check-in, but should have chosen the water.

Speaking of water, the shower was better than at most Hampton Inns, with good water pressure and an adequately-high shower head. The temperature was extremely difficult to control. It seems the shower has exactly two settings: freeze and scald, and it randomly shifts between the two. Still, the fact I could GET hot water and had enough water pressure to get the soap off of me puts this Hampton Inn ahead of many others I've visited.

The breakfast is decent. It's the same at every Hampton Inn so I won't hold it against the hotel. The new "egg product" Hampton recently switched to is worse than the old one-- completely tasteless, and very unappetizing looking at the "egg product" floating on top of a pool of hot water. So gross. I often stay at at the Hampton Inn in Chesapeake, VA and they routinely mix shredded cheese in with the "eggs" which makes them at least edible. The rest of the breakfast is adequate, and the seasoned potatoes are always the best part.

There's not a lot to do for those just passing through town. There is a small movie theater in town and a few shops. As others have mentioned the dining options are pretty limited. I tried the nearby Mexican restaurant listed in the hotel directory and the parking lot was full with no seats available around 6:30 PM. The reviews on the italian restaurant are varied, but nothing there sounded appetizing. I found an AWESOME Mexican restaurant called San Marco about 15 minutes south on Rt 29 in Chatham. Highly recommended.

Overall, this hotel offers comfortable accommodations in a convenient location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our inn. We appreciate your kind words about our property. We try our best to maintain a beautiful establishment and it pleases to hear that we have met/exceeded guest expectations. We are glad that you loved the showers; they are definitely one of the wonderful ammenities that our Hilton brand has to offer.

You're absolutely right, the stink bug issue in the area is a bit of a nuisance. We have pest control come in once a month and take care of them, however they somehow always find there way back. Sadly, there really isn't a lot that can be done about them.

At our hotel, we have a Suite Shop located on the first floor conveniently behind front desk for all of our guests. It is open 24 hours a day and has everything that you may need while on your travels. While bottled water may not be available in the machines on the floor, I can assure you that it is always stocked in our Suite Shop. As for the diet Cokes, possibly the date was looked at wrong? Our GM checked on this issue and all of them are dated through the end of January 2014.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return if you're ever in the area again and in need of lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great location in Gretna -- badly needed in the area. Great service and good facilities -- for the price however, i was dissapointed with the bathroom sink that drained slowly to meet the "green" requirements, but was a pain to shave in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We are pleased that you had such a wonderful time and thank you for spending time with us at the Hampton Inn. Your kindness on your TripAdvisor review is greatly appreciated. We are very glad to know that you was impressed with your stay and hope that you will return if need be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We always enjoy staying at the Hampton Inn Gretna, Va. Never had a bad experience...clean, comfortable and safe. The staff is super friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome...Love the coffee and cookies available 24/7 in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We really appreciate your review and ratings for our property. So happy you chose to stay with us and we hope to see you again when you come to our area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We love Hampton and this one is no exception. It is everything we have come to expect from the Hampton Line. We also found a few bugs...but they were stink bugs...harmless. This area is over run with them and not much you can do about it. The place is very clean and up to date. But the best place about this hotel is the super friendly and helpful staff.

There isn't much at this exit and restaurants are hard to find in this area, but if you need to be here, this is the hotel I would choose.

Room Tip: Some of the King size rooms don't have refrigerators and microwaves. So, it that is important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GranNan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are glad to hear that you are always pleased with your stay, as guest satisfaction is one of our main goals here! You are absolutely right, we do have a problem with the "stinkbugs" in our area; pesky little things! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City TN, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

A very nice newer facilty. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked the room on-line and checked in at rather late hour. The process was smooth and very fast. I travel frequently and can honestly say, This is a very good value. Although we had a short stay (one night), The overall experince was a good one. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you so much for making us your home away from home. I was delighted to read from your review that you were satisfied with our clean rooms as well as our staff being friendly and attentive. Our main priority is for all our guests to have a welcoming and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I would not stay at this hotel...bugs in the room. no where to eat other than McDonalds, DQ and Subway at this exit. Horrible exit, horrible hotel, do not stay here. I am a Hilton Honors, but I would never stop at this location again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
I am sorry that you were displeased with you stay. We are aware that we have stink bugs in our hotel as they are in the area and they have been a problem this year; they are everywhere. We have an exterminator that comes in once a month and gets rid of them, but beings that we have such a problem in this area, they do manage to keep finding their way back in. We constantly vacuum them up, but as I said, unfortunately, they do return. As far as there only being the three restaurants that you mentioned near the hotel to eat at; in the same shopping center as McDonald's and Subway, there is an excellent, authentic Itatlian restaurant that we send guest to quite frequently called Mama Rosa and Chef King which is Chinese. Here in town, we also have a fabulous authentic Mexican restaurant, (El Cazador) a very nice steakhouse, (Jt's at the Lavalette) C&E's, (soul food) Daddy Frank's, (country cooking) Crossroads (country cooking and buffet) Jack's Quick Snack, (fast food) and Jeff's Bar and Grill all located within a five minute drive of our location.

You also mentioned that the exit we are located at is horrible. We are conveniently located right off highway 29. Our location is very easy to access whether you are traveling North or South.

As stated, I do apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay; however, I did feel the need to make it known to you that our town has so much more to offer that you obviously didn't know of. Knowing this, I hope that if you're ever in the area again and in need of lodging, you will consider our hotel again so that you may experience what Gretna really is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
24.7 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#2 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#5 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
22.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham

Property: Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham
Address: 200 McBride Ln, Gretna, VA 24557-2736
Region: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing