We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, country stay!”
Review of Camber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camber Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I rated the Danville Hampton by mistake. It was the Gretna Inn that me and my friends recently stayed at. I have been staying here since it was built and the courteous staff never ceases to amaze me and now my friends understand too. Customer service is more than a catch phrase here, my friends were blown away by how well they were treated.

Room Tip: If you are a late sleeper, take a room in the back of the hotel as there is new construction under w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrsoGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

We are pleased that you had such a wonderful time and thank you for spending time with us at the Hampton Inn. Your kindness on your TripAdvisor review is greatly appreciated. We are very glad to know that you was impressed with your stay and hope that you will return if need be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Good place to stay. Basic and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was that the bathroom had leftover soap from a previous guest. Breakfast had a good variety of items and the complimentary tea, coffee, or hot chocolate in the evening was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is a top priority with the Hampton brand and it makes us happy to know that this is been exceeded. We do however apologize for the housekeeping issue that occured. I can assure you that the proper departments have been addressed and the matter was taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel was very clean except for two stink bugs. The breakfast could have been a little better. The 'eggs' were lacking in flavor and the seasoned potatoes were too seasoned. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a very good two night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you so much for choosing us as your home away from home. Guest satisfaction is definitely one of our top priorities at our establishment and we are thrilled to know that your expectations were exceeded. We are very glad to know that you was impressed with your stay and hope that you will return if need be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stay at this location every year for business. The staff are polite, friendly, and helpful. The quality and variety of the free breakfast is excellent. I always look forward to staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be considered for return to our property if the need ever comes. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Management here is shortsighted and pays little attention to visitors. Both trips killed what we call "stinky bugs " in the room on walls and desk and ceiling. They jack up prices for special events . This trip, checked in afternoon and wanted shower before dinner and one towel in bath room and one bar of soap. Tub had hair in in it. Last trip the bugs all over the stair wells.
Went all the way across country and back 3 years ago in Hilton Properties. Never had a place like this. Ceiling in bathroom had cracked and was patched. I travel and have a great deal and this is probably worst Hilton property I have ever stayed in from San Juan to Seattle. Will never be back and sure management will be glad because I tell it like it is.

Room Tip: Think about this place folks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mb3524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize that you had so many inconveniences during your stay. As far as the stink bugs go, we do have an issue with them in the area and I can assure you that we do all that can be done to rid our establishment of them. They were released in our area to attempt to control the over abundance of lady bugs that we had and now they have populated and as stated, there are quite a few in the area. We do have pest control come in once a month to rid to hotel of them, as well as have housekeeping go in in between their visits to remove them from rooms they best that they can. They find their way back in through the doors, on guest's luggage, etc. and we agree, while harmless, they are very pesky.
The rates for our hotel are based on availability and special events. As our availability goes down due to high demand, sometimes our rates do rise. This is hotel standard and I can assure you, you will see this at other hotels as well. This also effects the use of gift cards, gift certificates, etc. as they have printed on them they may not be used in the case of special events, blackout dates and so on.
If you ran across any housekeeping issues during your stay, we do apologize and would like for you to know that the departments involved were made aware of this and was taken care of.
We are sorry that you feel as though you shouldn't return to our property as we welcome each guest that walks through the door. We do thank you for being a loyal Hilton Honors member and hope that you continue to do so in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a lovely property in a very nice location. Jan was very helpful and accommodating, and I very much appreciate her taking the time to assist me with directions and what I needed. Thank you so much, Jan!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank iamtravelinpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and was impressed with our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
204 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
1 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Danville
Show Prices

Been to Camber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Inn

Address: 200 McBride Ln, Gretna, VA 24557-2736 (Formerly Hampton Inn Gretna Altavista Chatham)
Region: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: £65 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Camber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing