We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Gretna, VA, United States
1 review
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel was right off the highway, had a friendly staff, and check-in/out was quick and easy. My room (501) was very quiet and had a comfortable bed. The complimentary breakfast had a nice variety of foods and ample seating. The only improvement I'd suggest is their having more than one waffle maker. If I'm ever in the area again, I'll definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We greatly appreciate you compliments and are very happy to know that you will be returning to stay with us if you have future lodging needs in the area! Guest satisfaction is definitely a top priority here at our establishment and it makes us very happy to know that this has been met. Our Cloud 9 bedding is one of our most favored ammenities that the Hampton brand has to offer and we're glad that you enjoyed it. Our deluxe breakfast is also another favorite and understandably so with 80+ items each morning; what's not to love?! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    59
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
81
34
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were looking for a brand name hotel at or near Smith Mountain Lake. Unfortunately there are no brand name hotels other than this one which is way too far from where we needed to be. So we commuted back and forth 50 miles. The hotel is clean and sufficient, has a nice, homey lobby/breakfast area, but the food was lacking somewhat. I would not recommend it if you are looking for close proximity to the lake. Otherwise it is fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 864eddac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Although you had quite the drive to go to the lake, we are very happy to have had you stay with us and are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel. We apologize that you were unsatisfied with the breakfast here and I will be sure to let management know as guest feedback and suggestions are very important to us. Ifyou have future lodging needs in the Gretna area, we hope to be considered a choice hotel and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial Heights, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The wireless is very slow also the USB charger is low power (not recommend for IPad). The bed was good but bed cover is very heavy. The cooler have no drink as display in lobby poster. Also the coffee was warm in lobby.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for good wifi room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize that you encountered a few inconveniences that made your stay unsatisfactory, but I can assure you that all reviews are passed on to management for consideration. I'm not quite sure what you meant by no drink being in the cooler as displayed in the lobby poster. The display that you may be speaking of that is located at the front desk is our HHonors Diamond and Gold members snack options. Hilton offers a wonderful points program and once you reach Gold status, you can either choice between additional points or a snack and drink at check in. These items are not sold in our Suite Shop, however, we do have many snacks and drink/soda options available there! As far as the coffee being warm in the lobby; the appropriate departments will be made aware of this issue, as hot coffee 24/7 is definitely one of favored ammenites that we have to offer! We hope that this experience did not give you a negative opinion of our hotel and hope to have you stay with us again so that we can show what Hampton really is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here the last week in July 2014 for one night. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel was generally clean and the property seemed well maintained. The pool was nice for the grandkids. The breakfast was not bad as free breakfasts go - the eggs were gone by the time we got there at about 9:15, but there was a good selection of fruit, yogurt, etc. The Italian restaurant across the street was o.k. and very convenient. Wifi worked perfectly. We were concerned that the hotel allows smoking on the first floor, but we didn't notice any cigarette smells. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of the many wonderful amenities that we have to offer! We truly hope you come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Gretna Hampton Inn is a very enjoyable place to stay on a short trip to the Smith Mountain Lake area. Conveniently located just off highway 29, the hotel's location across the street from an excellent Italian restaurant, Mama Rosas, is an unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are pleased that you had such a great trip and thank you for spending time with us here at the Hampton Inn. Your kindness on your TripAdvisor review is greatly appreciated and we are glad to know that you enjoyed so many of the wonderful amenities that our brand has to offer! We are very happy to know that you was impressed with your stay and hope that you will return if need be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel us a bit dated/older and worn. Rooms are large and quiet. Air worked ok, but didn't feel it cooled it off enough. Bathroom had a walk in shower that was huge. Plumbing seemed slow - all the sink, shower and toilet. Breakfast area was a bit messy and seating is odd with large apolstered chairs making it difficult to pull to other tables.

Location is right off of 29, so easy access

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 2012dae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a TripAdvisor review! We apologize that you were displeased of the quality of our hotel. We are almost 6 years old and are up to Hilton standards but we definitely will take your concerns into consideratation and bring it to the attention of the effected departments and if needed, the issues will be resolved. We hope that this has not given you a negative opinion of our hotel and hope to have you return if you need lodging in the Gretna/Altavista/Chatham area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

For a Hampton Inn these accommodations were quite nice which was a surprise. It's the only hotel in the area so we were glad it turned out to be nice. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debralphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are happy to know that you were satisfied your stay and your service, We strive to make sure each guest experience is the best that it can be and it's good to know that we did just that! We hope that you continue to use the Hampton brand in your travels and look forward to your return if you're ever in the Gretna area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
14.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Altavista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
24.6 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#1 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#5 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
22.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham

Property: Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham
Address: 200 McBride Lane, Gretna, VA 24557
Region: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing