We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural Relief”
Review of Camber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camber Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Greer, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rural Relief”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now. It is located in a very rural setting, but has an Italian Restaurant right across the street. The staff here is knowledgeable about the area and will help you find any local businesses and services you may need. I was working during the night and housekeeping worked around my schedule to make sure my room was both clean and comfortable. My room had a shower, but no tub which was not a problem for me, but I’m sure they have rooms with tubs available (you may want to check). The rooms don’t have the mini refrigerators and microwaves I have found in other Hampton Hotels, but I was told they have a limited number of portable fridges that are available upon request. The pool is outdoors which would be a challenge during the fall and winter and no hot tub or whirlpool is available. The fitness center is actually very good given the size of this hotel. I was really surprised how busy this business was given its location between Danville and Lynchburg. I would recommend this property to anyone traveling through this area.

Room Tip: Request a room on the front of the hotel. The back faces a highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We truly value your opinions of our hotel and appreciate the compliments on our hotel staff. We strive to make each guest experience special and are happy to know that yours was! We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    59
    16
    12
    10
See reviews for
82
34
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had to book this hotel as I dragged my feet booking to take my son to Liberty. It is not a close drive (45 minutes), but it is a straight shot and very affordable for a great nights stay. Front desk staff was very friendly and room was always well cleaned and smelled fresh.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make each guest that comes through our doors stay the best that it possibly can be and it makes us very happy to know that this has been achieved! We hope to have you stay with us again if ever in the Gretna area with lodging needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

for a small rural area i think this is a great hotel, there were some issues but nothings perfect...i dont think this is a top notch hampton, but the people are friendly, and thats what makes up for any lack...it is clean so i guess it could be worse.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate the kind compliments towards our staff and I can assure you that all reviews are shared with them. We do our best to make everyone feel welcome and "at home" during their stay and hope to have you return if ever in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms have always been clean. I enjoy the mini store they have if I, or the wife ever want a late night snack. The fitness room is great and so is the pool. It is real close to where my wife's family lives as well so this is an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are very happy to know that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to having you do so again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel was right off the highway, had a friendly staff, and check-in/out was quick and easy. My room (501) was very quiet and had a comfortable bed. The complimentary breakfast had a nice variety of foods and ample seating. The only improvement I'd suggest is their having more than one waffle maker. If I'm ever in the area again, I'll definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We greatly appreciate you compliments and are very happy to know that you will be returning to stay with us if you have future lodging needs in the area! Guest satisfaction is definitely a top priority here at our establishment and it makes us very happy to know that this has been met. Our Cloud 9 bedding is one of our most favored ammenities that the Hampton brand has to offer and we're glad that you enjoyed it. Our deluxe breakfast is also another favorite and understandably so with 80+ items each morning; what's not to love?! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were looking for a brand name hotel at or near Smith Mountain Lake. Unfortunately there are no brand name hotels other than this one which is way too far from where we needed to be. So we commuted back and forth 50 miles. The hotel is clean and sufficient, has a nice, homey lobby/breakfast area, but the food was lacking somewhat. I would not recommend it if you are looking for close proximity to the lake. Otherwise it is fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 864eddac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Although you had quite the drive to go to the lake, we are very happy to have had you stay with us and are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel. We apologize that you were unsatisfied with the breakfast here and I will be sure to let management know as guest feedback and suggestions are very important to us. Ifyou have future lodging needs in the Gretna area, we hope to be considered a choice hotel and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial Heights, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The wireless is very slow also the USB charger is low power (not recommend for IPad). The bed was good but bed cover is very heavy. The cooler have no drink as display in lobby poster. Also the coffee was warm in lobby.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for good wifi room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize that you encountered a few inconveniences that made your stay unsatisfactory, but I can assure you that all reviews are passed on to management for consideration. I'm not quite sure what you meant by no drink being in the cooler as displayed in the lobby poster. The display that you may be speaking of that is located at the front desk is our HHonors Diamond and Gold members snack options. Hilton offers a wonderful points program and once you reach Gold status, you can either choice between additional points or a snack and drink at check in. These items are not sold in our Suite Shop, however, we do have many snacks and drink/soda options available there! As far as the coffee being warm in the lobby; the appropriate departments will be made aware of this issue, as hot coffee 24/7 is definitely one of favored ammenites that we have to offer! We hope that this experience did not give you a negative opinion of our hotel and hope to have you stay with us again so that we can show what Hampton really is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
187 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
24.7 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#2 of 11 in Danville
277 reviews
22.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Inn

Property: Camber Inn
Address: 200 McBride Ln, Gretna, VA 24557-2736 (Formerly Hampton Inn Gretna Altavista Chatham)
Region: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing