We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms tight , beds clean, noisy due to work on new road”
Review of Comfort Inn Grundy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Grundy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Rooms are clean but tight. Noisy due to work on future road so can hear them 24/7. I turned tv up and helped hide the noise. Best hotel in area.Rooms did smell musty but I always carry air freshner with me so once sprayed through out room and into curtains, was tolerable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissysBluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Even though This Comfort Inn is the only game in town, THEY go all the way to make you at home. IF there is another location to stay in Grundy, I would not look. This Comfort Inn has all you will need int his area. CLEAN and friendly... A bit of updating would be all they need for a solid 5 , BUT for this area YOU WILL NOT BEAT THEM~!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stay at this hotel whenever we are in the area. Their rooms are spacious and always impeccably clean.
Everyone there is really nice and the breakfast is good. Textile artists will want to check out the wall hangings in the lobby: they are beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethanyLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed here a couple of years ago for the first time and was very surprised in such a good way. I returned this year and found that everything that made my stay such a good one was still there. Clerks were still friendly. Room was impeccably clean. At night I even had a view of the lighted sign of the new Walmart. I know, most wouldn't care about that, but the people in Grundy and surrounding areas are greatful to have such a large modern facility in which to shop. And I am happy for them and the sign is a sign of new times in this small mountain town. Comfort Inn and their staff delivers again. I hope I find a reason to return to this area again and if I do find myself in this land of mountains, mornin' fog and gracious country folk, I know the Comfort Inn will be there to take perfect care of my lodging needs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spellingchamp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was one of the better motels in which we've stayed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A staff member called shortly after we checked in to make sure everything was satisfactory. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had towel bars and hooks for clothes on the door. The motel is solidly built. Even though it is right on the main road thru Grundy, you could barely hear any traffic noise. The AC/heating unit's dehumidifying feature did not seem to work all that well, but the unit did cool the room. The breakfast room is spacious and well designed. There was a choice of hot or cold food--or both, with fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and make your own waffles. There was even a choice between regular and blueberry batter. We traveled to Grundy for some bird watching and spent two nights. After a long day on the road, and then a full day of bird watching, the Comfort Inn Grundy provided just what we needed.

Room Tip: The motel is in a very narrow valley. None of the rooms have a view of anything other then the close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looking4birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband and I started our week long road trip in southwestern Virginia near his mother's hometown of Haysi, VA. Since the area is sparsely populated, places to stay are limited and hard to find. We were so grateful when we discovered that the Comfort Inn in Grundy was only a half hour from Haysi! Our stay at the Comfort Inn was very comfortable. The room was spacious and well maintained. We couldn't wait to sink into the king sized bed after eight hours on the road! The bathroom was simple, but clean with plenty of towels. The free WiFi came in quite handy. In the morning, we enjoyed the continental breakfast downstairs before a hot day of walking in Haysi and Breaks Interstate Park. Thanks to the hospitality of the staff at the Comfort Inn! We definitely will stay here again when we're back in southwestern VA.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ONtoNCtoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed 2 nites for a wedding. Many guests for this town! Hotel was booked yet employees were very good. Comfort Inn was very nice; someone always at desk willing to assist any of the wedding guests. Would highly recommend; right in Appalachia country.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Comfort Inn Grundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Grundy

Address: 22006 Riverside Dr, Grundy, VA 24614-9599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Grundy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy
Price Range: £91 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Grundy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is one mile from the Appalachian School of Law. Additional points of interest include: Southwest Virginia Community College Buchanan County Courthouse Buchanan General Hospital Mountain Mission School We are minutes from Breaks Interstate Park. The area is famous for the numerous species of birds. Be sure to ask about bird-watching excursions. Our amenities include: Free local calls Free weekday newspaper Free coffee Free parking Fitness center Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers will appreciate access to voice mail, large work spaces and fax and copy services. Our meeting rooms can accommodate up to 55 guests. All guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, Serta Sleeper mattresses, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking rooms are available. Coin-operated laundry facilities are on-site. Whether you are traveling to the Grundy area for business or pleasure, make the Comfort Inn hotel your home away from home. We will welcome you with warm smiles next time you visit our lovely mountain town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Grundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grundy Hotel Grundy
Grundy Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing