We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, courteous, comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Grundy

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Comfort Inn Grundy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, courteous, comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I had some business with assorted McDowell County schools for a few days and was looking for a name brand hotel somewhere within an hour's driving distance and this hotel was pretty much it. They take pride in the service and cleanliness and my king room was nicely appointed with fridge and microwave, wifi and assorted extras. As a tea drinker and not a coffee person I was especially pleased to see both regular and decaf tea in the room with the little coffemaker. The cleaning staff did a great job, even bundling up the cords on my hair dryer (one comes w the room but I like to bring my home) and other small touches like a rubber ducky in the shower. I'd stay here again if I were traveling through again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    14
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
9
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Carbon, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I made a reservation for a non smoking room 2 days in advance, but when I arrived, the clerk told me that the room had been closed. Whatever that means. There was no apology, and no phone call to let me know. She offered me a smoking room on the top floor and I had no choice but to accept, because no other hotels in the area had vacancies. When I got into my room the cigarette smell was overwhelming of course, but when I picked up the phone to request the wifi code that should have been included with my key, two roaches ran out from underneath the phone. I picked up my bags, got my money back, and slept in the car in the walmart parking lot. I was very dissapointed and was completely ignored y Comfort Inn's customer service.

I don't understand the platinum rating and all of the positive reviews. My experience was so bad that I couldn't even make it through a single night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

We were passing through the area and trying to decide to stay in Claypool Hill or Grundy. We called this Comfort Inn and they were very nice and held two rooms for us for about an hour without a credit card! The rooms were very clean and the staff were all super nice. True, as other reviewers have noted, the hotel is a bit dated (wallpaper, etc.), but the important things like cleanliness and safety are all there. Folks don't go to Grundy for a luxury vacation lol! The girl at the front desk was very accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed. The free wifi worked fine and I have no reservations about recommending this hotel to those passing through.

Also, the location was convenient to a trip to Breaks State Park.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kc-bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Comfort Inn should use this hotel as a trainning center. Folks were nice, rooms were clean and comfortable. Yes some things were a couple years dated, but I rather watch a tube TV in a clean room, than a flat screen in a not sure if clean room. If you don't like this hotel then you better keep your butt at home. Bellacino's resturant next door was very good and resonally price. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBSANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Rooms are clean but tight. Noisy due to work on future road so can hear them 24/7. I turned tv up and helped hide the noise. Best hotel in area.Rooms did smell musty but I always carry air freshner with me so once sprayed through out room and into curtains, was tolerable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissysBluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Even though This Comfort Inn is the only game in town, THEY go all the way to make you at home. IF there is another location to stay in Grundy, I would not look. This Comfort Inn has all you will need int his area. CLEAN and friendly... A bit of updating would be all they need for a solid 5 , BUT for this area YOU WILL NOT BEAT THEM~!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stay at this hotel whenever we are in the area. Their rooms are spacious and always impeccably clean.
Everyone there is really nice and the breakfast is good. Textile artists will want to check out the wall hangings in the lobby: they are beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethanyLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundy
21.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
24.7 mi away
Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area
24.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Grundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Grundy

Property: Comfort Inn Grundy
Address: 22006 Riverside Drive, Grundy, VA 24614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Grundy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Grundy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is one mile from the Appalachian School of Law. Additional points of interest include: Southwest Virginia Community College Buchanan County Courthouse Buchanan General Hospital Mountain Mission School We are minutes from Breaks Interstate Park. The area is famous for the numerous species of birds. Be sure to ask about bird-watching excursions. Our amenities include: Free local calls Free weekday newspaper Free coffee Free parking Fitness center Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers will appreciate access to voice mail, large work spaces and fax and copy services. Our meeting rooms can accommodate up to 55 guests. All guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, Serta Sleeper mattresses, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking rooms are available. Coin-operated laundry facilities are on-site. Whether you are traveling to the Grundy area for business or pleasure, make the Comfort Inn hotel your home away from home. We will welcome you with warm smiles next time you visit our lovely mountain town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Grundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grundy Hotel Grundy
Grundy Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing