We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than most”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn Grundy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Grundy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
214 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We were very surprised to find this in Grundy! We planned on pushing through to Pikeville, KY - but saw the Comfort Inn sign. Glad we stopped. It almost seems out of place! Very clean - and the staff is wonderful!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Comfort Inn Grundy, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thanks for stopping in as you passed through Grundy. We are proud to be a part of the town and like to think we are the ambassador for our local community. I am pleased you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed the southern hospitality of the staff.
I hope should you pass through in the future, you will again allow us to serve your lodging needs.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    14
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
9
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I spent many nights over the course of many weeks this past winter at the Grundy Comfort Inn. Its hard being away from home in motels constantly but I felt very comfortable here unlike most places I end up staying in. I think I owe that to the staff who was very kind. Sorry I never played my banjo in the lobby as promised. Maybe next time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side have a cool view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingOfInfiniteSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Comfort Inn Grundy, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thanks for your kind words. I will pass them along to the staff. I am pleased we were able to make you feel at home while in the big city of Grundy!
We look forward to your return visit and will patiently wait for the banjo concert.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

When coming to Grundy, there isn't much to choose from when it comes to hotels and you had better book it early because this one fills up fast. Overall, it was a nice place to stay. No frills, but it was clean and seemed to be fairly updated. There are plenty of places to eat around and even a movie theater if you have the time. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Comfort Inn Grundy, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Jonathan,
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your comments.
You are correct when you say there aren't many choices for lodging, but even though we are almost the only game in town, we still pride ourselves on maintaining a super clean facility and a friendly and helpful staff.
I look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The entire staff - front desk, housekeeping, and breakfast area - is friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. No problems with anything in the room, which had a small refrigerator and microwave (although not all rooms have these amenities). Grundy is a little off the beaten path for most travelers, but if your plans bring you to the area, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffffjjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Comfort Inn Grundy, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments. We appreciate the kind words and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay at this property. The staff was very friendly, the beds very comfortable, the bathroom was very nice and clean and well stocked. The cute little mini rubber duckie on the tub was probably more inviting to families with children than us although my spouse found great pleasure in tossing it at me on occasion. Overall the room and hotel were quite clean and well maintained, although the hot and cold on the bathroom faucet were backwards and the shower curtain rod needed tightening. The only thing we found a little to our distaste was that our room was right next to the elevator which added some disconcerting noise everytime it was used. The breakfast provided was adequate, but wish they'd had a better selection of healthy cold cereals, like some raisin bran or such. Enjoyed the complimentary local newspaper.

Room Tip: Don't get a room beside the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emptynester40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Comfort Inn Grundy, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
I am pleased you found all aspects of your room to be enjoyable except for the closeness to the elevator. I will make sure maintenance changes the hot and cold water supply lines so they are correct.
Please tell your husband that isn't exactly the intent of the rubber duckie. Although I do hope you threw it back at him.
We hope you will visit us again when traveling to the Grundy area.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Guest services are helpful, very nice. Provides a warm cozy place to stay in the winter in the coal mining town of Grundy, Va. Lobby is warm and cozy and welcoming, especially coming from the cold outside. Im not sure why it says it's on Riverside Drive. It is on Waterfront rd, which you'd have to turn into from Riverside. 2 minutes drive from Grundy Walmart.

Room Tip: On the 3rd floor, the room location are actually opposite of what the sign says as you step out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Comfort Inn Grundy, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your positive comments concerning your recent visit to the Comfort Inn.
I am pleased you found the hotel and staff to be warm and welcoming. We strive to make each guest feel as though they were at home.
The State Government is in the process of doing a major change in some of the roads and as a result, our road name was changed but is being changed back to Riverside Drive. The new signs have been ordered by the State but have not been erected yet.
Thanks again and we hope we can serve your lodging needs in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I had some business with assorted McDowell County schools for a few days and was looking for a name brand hotel somewhere within an hour's driving distance and this hotel was pretty much it. They take pride in the service and cleanliness and my king room was nicely appointed with fridge and microwave, wifi and assorted extras. As a tea drinker and not a coffee person I was especially pleased to see both regular and decaf tea in the room with the little coffemaker. The cleaning staff did a great job, even bundling up the cords on my hair dryer (one comes w the room but I like to bring my home) and other small touches like a rubber ducky in the shower. I'd stay here again if I were traveling through again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundy
24.7 mi away
Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area
21.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
72 reviews
24.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Grundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Grundy

Property: Comfort Inn Grundy
Address: 22006 Riverside Drive, Grundy, VA 24614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Grundy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Grundy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is one mile from the Appalachian School of Law. Additional points of interest include: Southwest Virginia Community College Buchanan County Courthouse Buchanan General Hospital Mountain Mission School We are minutes from Breaks Interstate Park. The area is famous for the numerous species of birds. Be sure to ask about bird-watching excursions. Our amenities include: Free local calls Free weekday newspaper Free coffee Free parking Fitness center Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers will appreciate access to voice mail, large work spaces and fax and copy services. Our meeting rooms can accommodate up to 55 guests. All guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, Serta Sleeper mattresses, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking rooms are available. Coin-operated laundry facilities are on-site. Whether you are traveling to the Grundy area for business or pleasure, make the Comfort Inn hotel your home away from home. We will welcome you with warm smiles next time you visit our lovely mountain town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Grundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grundy Hotel Grundy
Grundy Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing