We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmoshphere, great wines, friendly staff”
Review of Hunters Run Winery

Hunters Run Winery
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Hamilton
Attraction details
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmoshphere, great wines, friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stopped by on the spur of the moment after visiting a few other wineries. While the others were bigger and what you would expect at a winery they were sterile and regimented. At Hunters Run we were greeted immediately, invited to the bar to complete our tasting, staff were entertaining, wines were good, with my favourite being the Cabernet Franc and the Riesling which is a wine I normally wouldn't even try. The entertainment was wonderful and we ended up staying and buying a couple of bottles.
Definately worth visiting and I will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Marie215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Under-whelmed”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Having been to close to 100 wineries in Virginia alone.... and dozens more in California, Washington, Connecticut, etc..... there were two things that I've never seen before until this winery....
1. Everyone in our group got carded (yes, asked for ID).... the youngest in our group was 30+ and her mother 60s also got asked for ID. Most of us were in our late 30s/early 40s. Not easily confused with someone who's under 21.
2. After that we were each asked to pay the $10 tasting fee up-front. Huh? Say what....?

Pretty much this is where we all tuned out, and one-by-one decided we'd be doing our tasting and then departing.

The décor was very kitch, and more like a general store than a winery.
The wines were unremarkable -- and no one opted to purchase a bottle to go.
Our visited last a total of 20 minutes for a group of 8.... and it seemed that they were used to this.
We all just didn't get a good warm vibe from this place.

Would re-patronize: No. This was our second visit, and both were unremarkable
Would recommend to others: Nah. There are a lot of better options in NoVa.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“charming place!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

warm, friendly, inviting, cozy, casual AND good wine...all around pleasant experience! we lOvEd this place!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tevagrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurmont, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hunters Run Winery was one of our stops while on a weekend wine tasting in Loudoun County recently. The tasting room area is very nice and the inside seating area off the tasting room is very inviting with a couch and chairs, as well as being separately air conditioned [this was great because it was extremely hot outside the day we stopped by]. The staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable and the wines where very good as well. We all enjoyed glasses of sangria during our visit. Be sure to include Hunters Run on your list if doing tastings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Nice Change of Scenery”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

It is getting harder and harder to go someplace for a glass of wine without ending up at the bar of a restaurant near the mall or a bar that reeks of cigarette smoke. Thank goodness for Hunter's Run Wine Barn. My wife LOVES the place. The wine is good enough for us to walk out with a bottle or two, and the people that work there are nice. The environment is comfortable to just sit around like you would at home, chatting and drinking your wine. There are no servers hovering over you, and no screaming kids at the next table. There are no d-bags hitting on the women sitting at the next table. They have food, basically appetizers. Bread and cheese, etc. But then again, you didn't come out here for a meal.
We usualyy have two glasses each, plus a bread and cheese platter, and then take home two bottles. The bill is usually around a hundred.
If your ideal bar has seventy two televisions and wild wings wednesday, keep driving. For everyone else, I hope to see you there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunters Run Winery also viewed

 
Waterford, Loudoun County
 

Been to Hunters Run Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing